We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13341 Woodland Park Road, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay and Fly
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

My family stayed at this Embassy Suites for a week when our home renovations had our heating system down during a cold spell. Despite using HHonors points, we received friendly service during check-in. They also gave us a room away from the elevators as requested. The unique feature of this Embassy Suites was George and Martha, the two swans that reside in the pond in the center courtyard.

Compared to a couple of other Embassy Suites, I found that the breakfast at this Embassy Suites to be better. The cut fruits were fresh and the fresh cooked breakfast items from the hot grill were delicious. The staff were friendly and efficient in cleaning up the tables during breakfast. The evening reception was also fun with free drinks and snacks. We found the 2-room suite to be clean and housekeeping good. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.

One issue we had was with our room keys. In our one week stay, we had to reactivate our two room keys at least three times each. However, the receptionist was apologetic and quickly re-coded them.

Overall, our stay was very pleasant and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    80
    34
    20
    24
See reviews for
95
44
30
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Have stayed at this Embassy Suites several times and it nevers fails to please me on a single trip or with my family. The two swans (George and Martha) are a great addition to the indoor water treatment and I look forward to visiting with them. The two room suites are great to sleep and work in with plenty of space. The nightly manager reception has limited food but tasty and the bartender drinks are very good. Morning breakfast lacks nothing that I need or desire.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The Embassy Suites was conveniently located in the vicinity of a conference site in the Industrial Park all around. Not that there's much industry, just stores, Government Contractors and homes.
The lobby was quite impressive. A pond with two live swans is the centerpiece, decorated with live bamboo trees. The rooms are set up in courtyard fashion, the center of the hotel acting as courtyard and the rooms arranged in a square around it. Check in was quick and easy, despite the fact I had no registration, and I was given the same rate as the group to which I was assigned.
As indicated, each room is a suite with a separate living, bath and bed area, a kitchenette in between, and a large flat screen TV in each room. The rooms, despite showing their age just a little, were nicely and functionally decorated, with a couch, chairs, a chest of drawers, tables (coffee and breakfast) in the living room; and a bed, chest of drawers and closet in the bedroom. Nothing truly extravagant, but everything looked nice and clean. The bath, sandwiched between the living areas wasn't particularly large, but everything necessary was there, including an extra magnifying mirror and hair dryer. The bath/shower worked very well and was also very pleasant. The one place the suite showed a little age, was here. The sink, a heavy granite construction, was unfortunately sinking slowly and the attempt to seal the edges simply showed the widening gap more clearly.
The bed was comfortable and, bless them, there were plenty of fluffy pillows that actually supported my head. Kudos, just for that. As is the trend, the windows are there, but you can't open them - there aren't even any handles. And the only available daylight is from the one bedroom window. This makes the living area, which has a window toward the courtyard, a bit dingy. And there weren't any overhead lights, just the usual desktop lamps and a floor lamp in the living area.
The key to this place though, is the service. Breakfast is included and is very well laid out. Bread, bagels, cereals, eggs cooked to order, including omelets, coffee, tea, etc. Commendable. And even nicer is the managers happy hour every evening. You show your room card and from 5:30 to 7:30 pm, you get to drink for free and can snack from the little buffet, with a different serving each day. You can't beat that with a stick. A few of my colleagues never left the place, surviving on just the booze and the snacks.
The hotel also offers free pick-up and drop-off at the airport, some small amenities in case you forgot something, and other such little service niceties that make the place and the stay a solid experience.
I might not have stayed here while traveling on my own since the prices are definitely upscale, still it is worth the money, if you have it.

Room Tip: Since you can't open the windows and there really isn't any "view" worth noting, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

They say McDonald's has their 85 degree bun down to a science. So does this place - any Embassy Suites, in fact. Elite service. Great night's sleep. Clean. Comfortable. Free bar apps and well drinks at certain hours. There is just not a better place to stay.

Get this, I had a head cold the one night I stayed; the manager offered on his own dime to go to the pharmacy to get me medicine (I could not let him do not, but what a gesture). Class all the way around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Embassy Suites in Herndon for four nights while we were visiting family and touring DC. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The cooked to order breakfasts were wonderful. Starbucks coffee was served with breakfast. The daily managers' reception was very pleasant. We both enjoyed the comfortable beds with the white duvet covered comforters. There were two 42-in. TVs in the suite which was a nice surprise since my daughter and I watch different programs. The sofa was not that comfortable though; it sagged terribly in the middle and should be replaced. All in all, it added to our vacation and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

A very nice property and excellent staff. The staff goes out of their way to be sure guests are comfortable. The breakfast is cooked to order with plenty of variety. The nightly happy hour is just the ticket after a day of business meetings. The rooms are very comfortable--more than I needed, really.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Government rate for September 2011 is $211 for our agency contract with the Hilton so this Embassy Suites in Herndon VA met that requirement. The suites are two good size rooms separated by a door with the bath and shower directly in between the living room and bedroom. The wet bar and fridge / refrigerator tells me this hotel was not an original Embassy Suites, because there was no full kitchen or large refrigerator and utensils. and dining table. This embassy suites is a suites room. The service and staff and mgmt are working very hard to provide good to excellent customer service. The shuttles service to the front desk are very polite and professional and the chef /short order cook was exceptionally accomdating to customer custom orders for omelettes. Notice the bus boy or bus girl that takes away your plates are even attentive and diligent enough to refill your orange juice glass if you are empty. The staff and management are making great efforts to provide exceptional customer service and the amenities like the pool, jacuzzi, gym and security entrance and exits make this hotel a repeat hotel for me.

My only complaint for not giving this hotel a 5 star was because this hotel just could not help me with accessing the hhonors wifi internet. I tried using what they called a wireless bridge but it turned out to be a netgear G router . So, I did try to use the ethernet cable directly to the ethernet jack port on the wall in the room and connected it directly to my laptop. But unfortunately I found not signal coming from the cable connection. The day manager confirmed there are wifi routers on each floor, but you the customer should have a wifi receiver in working order. The hotel is very good, but one would rate this hotel poor in not providing the basic wifi bridge that all Marriotts, other Hilton Hotel, and other lower tier hotels have. The business office area had the internet for me to respond to my emails in length, so I was not totally out of luck.

Room Tip: High floor room provides a good view of the center atrium like the 4th floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Dulles Airport

Address: 13341 Woodland Park Road, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Herndon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#4 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Dulles Airport 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Herndon
Herndon Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.