We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER GREAT STAY!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Harrisonburg, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GREAT STAY!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have just stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for another great time! The property has a people friendly attitude that is exhibited by everyone. Will we always use this hotel when we fly at of Dulles!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear kosciusko1,

We would like to start by thanking you again for providing us with another review of your experience staying with us! We are extremely happy to hear that you had another excellent experience.

We know that our guests are the most important part of our hotel and we do everything we can to make you feel welcome. We try to think of each guests as family and do everything we can to take care of any needs.

We hope to see you again real soon the next time you are flying out of Dulles Airport.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    64
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
41
32
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

It was a nice hotel stay. They have a excellent shuttle service which picked me from the Airport and it also dropped me to the airport next day. They have nice rooms, friendly staff and great breakfast. The only downside when someone slamming doors next to me and woke me up. That's was not hotel fault. Definitely will stay again over there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Dear abh23,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We try to provide our guests with the best experience possible every time they stay with us and we a re glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service, hot breakfast buffet and that our staff made you feel welcome. We do apologize for any inconvenience created by other doors slamming while you were trying to sleep, we are looking into possible solutions to prevent that from happening.

We hope to see you again the next time you are traveling through the area!

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston-Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Courteous staff; quiet facility; adjacent to grocery, shopping...all around a wonderful stay! Definitely will go back anad would recommend families and couples or singles to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear sandy-bartek,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take all of our guests' feedback very seriously so that we can always strive to provide the best experience possible.

It is very good to hear that you enjoyed you time with us and that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to shopping and dinning. We are also glad to hear that our team was able to take care of any needs that you had.

We are looking forward to the next time we have the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

I have travelled for business for over 11 years, and this is the first hotel I took the time to comment on. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Management goes the extra mile to ensure your stay is comfortable. Offering free bikes rental to view the city (during warmer months) is a nice touch. Hotel also offers Priority Club rewards in addition to the national awards. Rooms have new look and feel. Safeway is a very short walk away, and a large variety of restaraunts across the street. (I recommend the Charcoal kabob, authenic Afghan food. )

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear snellgc,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel!

We are very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us. As someone who has been traveling on business for 11 years you have probably seen a side range of hotels from the best to the not so great. We are extremely happy to hear that you consider us to be at the top.

We try to go the extra mile with all of our guests every time they stay with us. We try and create a feeling of coming home when you stay with us by providing the best amenities and treating our guests as if they are family. It is also good to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great location and check out some of the shops and restaurants that are in walking distance.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Being unfamiliar with Washington DC, I mistakenly booked this hotel that was at least 20 miles from the Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear at the Mall. We needed to pay a total of $1.75 each direction for the two tolls booths between DC Airport and this hotel--so if you stay here bring enough quarters. Other than the distance, this hotel played a big part of a wonderful weekend. It reminded me of trips I used to take to my grandma's house. They greeted us with a bowl of fresh crisp apples and a plate full of yummy cookies and left us with a small but tasty chocolate candy in our room. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. Their nicely decorated dining room accommodated the large number of other guests who had also booked this hotel for the event. The breakfast buffet provided us with enough food to hold us until we were finally able to eat dinner. Their buffet included an assortment of breakfast pastries, fresh fruit, a wide range of yogurts, tasty omelets, sausages, pancakes, bagels, cold and hot cereals on top of that they provided three types of fruit juices, flavorful coffee and even have peanut butter! We were too busy to use their complementary bicycles or well lighted gym with all types of equipment. We took the Metro at a park and ride location between the hotel and DC where we bought all day passes to avoid needing to pay for parking and could travel all around DC once the crowds thinned out. The room was equally cozy with a large flat screen TV, hair dryer, refrigerator and coffee maker. They have free wireless as well as provide computers to check email and print airline confirmation tickets. All these wonderful benefits made me wonder why this hotel was ranked as a 2.5. It was better than places I have stayed that were ranked much higher.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear MarriedWidow,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of out hotel. we take all of our guest reviews very seriously to ensure our guests are having a great experience.

We are extremely happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us during your trip to the Washington DC area. We do our best to make staying at our hotel feel like you are coming home and it is very good to hear that we were able to accomplish this for your stay. It is also good that you were able to take advantage of the many great amenities that we offer to our guests while they stay with us such as the hot breakfast buffet.

We do offer a complimentary shuttle service to the hotel and to the local area restaurants and shops so that our guests flying in have an option to avoid the tools. We are unfortunately not close enough to the metro system to provide transportation to any stations but you are able to catch a bus from the airport to the Rosslyn metro station on the orange line.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

I stayed at this hotel Monday - Friday. I have stayed in the area many times, but never realized this Hotel existed. It is an older place, but all rooms have been recently updated. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but all very nice and very clean. Service was outstanding, all of the staff I met were very helpfull and friendly. Decent breakfast and very good internet connection.
Many eateries and 2 supermarkets very close by, but no disturbance from there. All in all I rate this Hotel in the top 2 out of the 10 - 15 hotels I have used in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Dear bitcowboy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel!

We are very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant experience staying with us! We want all of our guests to feel like they are coming home when they walk through the front doors. We try to practice aggressive friendliness so that we are actively uncovering and taking care of our guests needs as soon as they arise.

We are happy to hear that you liked the rooms, we do our best to update the rooms as often as possible to create the best value for our guests. We are also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast and high-speed Internet connection.

We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed one night at $68 - booked on hotel website. I agree with all the other reviewers, service is excellent. They provide good shuttle service to the airport or rental car company. Outside the hotel, kmart is across the street, safeway is next door, and lots of resteraunts nearby (noticed sushi & east indian). The rooms are compact but sufficient for one night stay. May want to consider bigger rooms when staying longer. The rooms have 32 inch HDTV, bar fridge, and comfy bed. Breakfast is included with a few hot items such as pancakes and eggs (no waffles). Not a large breakfast but good enough to get the day going. As for sound protection, I had an first floor end room, which I figured it should be fairly quiet, I can hear the slamming of hotel room doors. It seemed pretty loud and I am a sound sleeper. Dullas airport is big, get their early as security lines can be slow. I would suggest at least 90min.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Hello ELCHEAPEE,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you had such a positive experience staying with us. We try to make each and every guest feel like they are home when they stay with us by not only treating everyone like family but also providing all of the little things that our guests need. We are happy to hear that you like the location of the hotel and that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service to get around a little easier.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities in the room. We try to keep everything updated and renovate on a regular schedule. We are sorry about any inconvenience caused from other doors slamming and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We are looking into ways to resolve this by possibly adding something to the doors that will slow them down right before they close to prevent slamming. We are also happy that you were able to take advantage of our hot breakfast buffet and start your day right.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Address: 485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#6 Business Hotel in Herndon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport, your ideal choice for a Herndon Reston hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport provides lodging in Herndon in the heart of the Reston Dulles business corridor just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.