We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Harrisonburg, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Herndon at least four times and each time the results have been the same. The hotel is excellent with all the essentials needed for a wonderful day/evening. The thing that is so exceptional is the customer service!!!! Everyone we have dealt with at this hotel has gone out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible! The night clerk, (I believe his name is Tahir) has met us each time with a warm smile and a pleasant greeting after a long flight and the usual problems with travel! I would highly recommend the HI and we will certainly return many times in the future. J. Patrick & Glenda Rooney, Harrisonburg, VA

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
Hello kosciusko1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate our guest's feedback and take it very seriously.

We are very glad to hear that you have had such a good experience when you stay with us! We strive to provide our guests with service excellence by providing everything you expect with a little bit more to really create a wow.

We look forward to serving you in the future during any trips that you make to the D.C. Metro area!

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    62
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
40
32
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

I first stayed at the HI Express Reston for its price and location but I have found lots more. From the friendly greeting, to the wonderful customer service, this hotel has become my hotel of choice in the Dulles airport area. The location is unassuming, near strip malls, but it is very convenient to the airport and the safeway and nearby restaurants are good for an inexpensive but good dinner. I stay at the hotel at least every other month and usually book a "park and fly" rate. Sometimes I arrive late and leave for an early flight and the management has offered to open the kitchen early for a quick breakfast. I like the snacks and points bonus for Priority Club members. I also appreciate the prompt and reliable pick up and drop off service at the airport. There is free internet, coffee around the clock with some snacks nearby and a computer for guest use.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, February 10, 2010
Hello SilverSpringer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback about our hotel and post a review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoy your time while you stay with us!

Our staff at the hotel strives to provide service excellence by always following through and providing that little extra like opening the kitchen early for our guests.

We hope to be able to serve you during all your trips through the Dulles Airport with our "Park and Fly" program or any other reason that brings you to our area!

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Average, typical but older HIE. No surprises staying here. Located in a reasonable urban and shopping zone adjacent to a large Safeway supermarket and reasonably close to a couple of good restaurants, the hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet. Free wifi, good parking and a small business centre are available. We found the reception staff to be very welcoming, efficient and helpful.

Rooms, beds and breakfast were fine and typical of Holiday Inn Express pretty much anywhere. Recommended as a convenient and quiet place to park, stay and have breakfast without any fuss or surprises.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
Dear dooragan,
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Herndon/Reston! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience.
We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Warm Regards,
The Holiday Inn Express Herndon/Reston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

I've stayed at this location on several business trips to the Reston/Herndon area and strongly recommend it to other business travelers. The rates are ok, but the service is what makes this hotel stand out in the area. They will pick you up and drop you off within a 3 mile radius (including IAD Dulles airport), which makes it very convenient (i.e. no car rental hassles). There is also a wide selection of ethnic restaurants in the area which provides choice and diversity for Outback steakhouse haters like me.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
Dear Jo-An77,
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Herndon/Reston!

We are thrilled you have been enjoying your stays at our hotel and have been able to experience our customer service that we are so proud of! Our team members strive to be the very best and its great to hear from one of our guests that they are able to experience it first hand!

We hope you will continue to stay with us when visiting the Herndon/Reston area!

Thank you,
The Holiday Inn Express Herndon/Reston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
right here
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

WE picked this hotel at random from our priority club listings. From the first step in the door until we left, it was like we were the only guests. The front desk ladies were friendly and gave us information on places to eat,and even provided us with transportation to and from the restaurant we chose. The drivers were xourteous, pleasntly conversant, and good drivers, as well. the room was exceptionally clean and well appointed. the breakfast was good,and the coffee excellent. everyone that we encountered, who worked there, asked about our comfort and if there was anything we needed. Most definitely willbe back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
Dear herkybird,
Thank you for taking time to post a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
The Holiday Inn Express Herndon/Reston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock, ar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I spent a week at this hotel while attending a training class for work. The staff was very helpful. The shuttle service offered was a lifesaver for me. The thing I enjoyed most was that the ladies there took the time to help me with local recommendations regarding resturants and sites to see when out of class. Then arranged the shuttle to take me. They took the time to treat me as if I was a guest in their home and not just a customer.

While out one day, I stopped and picked up ice cream for everybody on the night shift. They were suprised by this, I told them that how they had made me feel there, suprised and pleased.

Another highlight to this hotel is that it was QUIET. From what I saw, NO POOL MEANS NO KIDS RUNNING WILD.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
Dear ddavis501,
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Herndon/Reston! We appreciate the time it took to give us your feedback!

We are so happy you had such a great visit with us! We are very proud of our staff and are thrilled you were able to experience the customer service they are known for! They truly do make you feel right at home!

And, wow, what a nice gesture from you bringing them ice cream! I am sure they were very delighted and that it meant a lot to them.

We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the Herndon/Reston area. We appreciate your loyalty!

Thank you,
The Holiday Inn Express Herndon/Reston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing mi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

I wish I had read an earlier review regarding tour groups in this particular Holiday Inn Express - it IS difficult to enter the breakfast room and even more difficult to get a breakfast with so many in the room. On the plus side, the staff is well-organized and helpful -- in fact, I would describe them as "outstanding". Management seems to favor the tour group customer, so be prepared!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Managment at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
Dear inasec,
Thank you for posting a review of the Holiday Inn Herndon/Reston. We appreciate the time you took to give us a review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay but regret you had some difficulty in the mornings when trying to get breakfast. We realize that it can feel overwhelming to a guest not with the tour groups and we are looking into options to make our space more accommodating.

We are happy you experienced our superior customer service that our staff delivers. They are definitely our #1 asset.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Northern Virginia!

Warm Regards,
The Holiday Inn Express Herndon/Reston Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Address: 485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#5 Business Hotel in Herndon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport, your ideal choice for a Herndon Reston hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport provides lodging in Herndon in the heart of the Reston Dulles business corridor just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.