We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“D.C. Sightseeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“D.C. Sightseeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Holiday Inn Express, Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport is a great spot to stay when in DC, clean & reasonable price rooms, plenty of on site parking and easy walking to supermarket for last minute items. A very friendly staff and above average breakfast selection is a great addition. Close to DC Metro for easy access to downtown with plenty of parking available..

Room Tip: we stayed on 4th floor which is the top and it was very quiet, no road noise and nice quick elevator...
See more room tips
Green Features: It is clearly visible that GM Kenneth Abrom and his staff are very environmentally involved...
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    69
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
43
43
32
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at lots of hotels but this one by far one of the best we have stayed at. The manager and the people behind the desk went above and beyond to accommodate us. The breakfast they offered had a huge variety of delicious food from which to choose. Area was spotless. Orange juice that actually tasted like oj :). The room was spacious and was up to date. Nice desk area and a comfortable chair with footstool. Beds were made up invitingly and were comfortable. Had both soft and hard pillows. What you see in the picture is what you get. I don't know the name of the person who manages this hotel, but I will say he or she is doing a fantastic job. They were so nice! Thank you for such an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is located in a very quiet surroundings. If you fly in or out of Dulles it's very convenient. The stuff is friendly and attentive. Ethan from the reception was extra-nice. There was no safe in the room but you can take one at the reception. The parking was free.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Ustern,
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Hotel. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and Mr. Ethan delivered the guest service experience you come to expect when staying at Holiday Inn Express. Thanks again for staying with us.
We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Ken Abrom, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed at this Holiday Inn this past weekend while in the Chantilly area for a trade show. The hotel is superbly maintained inside and out. The staff persons-Evie and Ethan, were top notch. They were friendly, helpful, polite and just great to talk to.

The hotel room featured the usual amenities of a coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, iron and ironing board, flat screen tv, hair dryer, and a king size bed with lots of pillows.

The Hot Breakfast Bar was excellent with many choices for every taste. And the staff kept it well stocked.

One excellent feature that this hotel had was loaner mountain bicycles. They had two Raleigh's and a Giant for hotel patrons. This was great since about two blocks away from the hotel was a Walk/Ride Trail that was very well maintained by the city of Herndon and was heavily used by local area residents. I took the bike and got in about a 5 to 6 mile ride on Saturday evening. The trail had as its main attraction the center of town with all of the shops and restaurants right there to enjoy. Plus they have a beautifully restored Train Depot and Caboose.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The excellent staff and Metro shuttle made up for only a marginal hotel which is the reason for the 3 out of 5. The rooms are rather small and dark, a lumpy carpet, with a cramped bathroom (dated). The sink is outside the bath next to a louvered door closet which was always out of its track. My room was clean but sub-spectacular. I did like the bedside outlets that let me charge my phone and tablet. The breakfast was sub-par, not that I expect much, but some Hampton Inn breakfasts put this one to shame (no fresh fruit, etc,). There is no pool at this location (1 mile offsite) but they offer a small exercise room and trail bicycles to enjoy the Washington and Old Dominion Trail. I know the area fairly well as our business main office is down the street. The immediate surrounding area is a bit sketchy (you are in Herndon, not Reston). The nearby restaurants are busiest at lunch.
The staff was knowledgeable and attentive. I used their shuttle to and from the New Whiele-Reston East Metro Station which is the sole reason to select this hotel. I came into town on Amtrak and the train-Metro-shuttle worked great. As a comparison, I usually stay a short distance away in Ashburn and find the hotel amenities and prices much more acceptable.
In short, the (entire) hotel could use an update, it is a bit overpriced, is taxed heavily, but the inviting staff and Metro shuttle made my stay a success.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear YfandKds,

I would like to first start off by saying thank you for your business while traveling to the Reston/Herndon area. It's great to know that the hotel staff was knowledgeable about the local area and very attentive to your needs during your stay. I'm glad that the shuttle service provided by the hotel to and from the New Wiehle-Reston East Metro Station was helpful getting you back and forward to the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express was built in 1987 with the sink being outside of the bathroom and can't be change due to the infrastructure of the building. I apologize for the inconvenience of the sink located outside the bathroom. The carpet issue will be addressed with the engineering department. The breakfast that is served daily is the IHG breakfast program standard for Holiday Inn Express. Your score of 3 out of 5 is greatly appreciated, and we hope to see you back at the Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon in the near future.

Best Regards,

Ken Abrom, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed two nights. Staff very helpful and courteous. Rooms clean and quiet. Very good hot breakfast offered each morning. Only minor complaints is that the bathrooms were congested and that there was only 1 elevator for this 4 story facility. All in all a very pleasant an adequate stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We used this hotel as our base for a trip to visit relatives in the USA and to see the sights. It is a lovely well-appointed hotel with every facility you would expect, clean rooms, friendly staff, free Wi-Fi and breakfast, good prices, and excellent location next to lots of retail outlets.
We chose it mainly due to it's proximity to Washington Dulles Airport which is only 15 minutes away.

Room Tip: There is no traffic noise at all so all rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
Green Features: As you would expect from a reputable Hotel Brand these are top notch.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Address: 485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#8 Business Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport. Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.