We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had fun stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Had fun stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel staff was courteous, helpful. Location is fantastic. Couple of good local bars around the hotel locality. Price was very reasonable. Rooms were clean. Good warm breakfast served early in the morning. Best you can get from an express hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    69
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
43
43
32
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were stuck at Dulles during a snow storm and this hotel staff went above and beyond what we expected. They allowed a late check-out and they took us in their shuttle across the street to get some warmer clothes at Kmart. The area around the hotel has lots of selection for eating within walking distance, but with the sub-zero windchill and 8 inches of snow the hotel manager took us in the shuttle to get dinner at the Outback down the street.
Certainly not the newest hotel near Dulles, but the staff made up for what they may lack in polish.
TWO THUMBS WAY UP! I know where I'll be staying if I'm ever overnighting at Dulles again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,dc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located and half the price of some of the hotels in the area. Staff was friendly, room was clean and quiet, breakfast included eggs and sausage as well as cold items. I stayed for one night on a business trip and was happy with both the hotel and the service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is obviously a remodeled older hotel. The family and I stayed after a wedding in the local area. The hotel lobby and room were very clean and well-kept. The breakfast area was a bit close (some might say intimate). The staff seemed to have a bit of difficulty keeping up with the demand, but overall breakfast was very good. No pool at the hotel, which was a bit disappointing, but not a big deal. After check-out, we discovered one of the boys blankets missing. We called back and they found it. We swung by and picked it up the next day, since we were still in the area. Like the title says - Great Service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for an extended stay (10 nights, including through Thanksgiving) to help my daughter before and after she had her first child. First of all, the front desk staff is very helpful, showing me a room and signing me up for IHG points after I'd looked and decided to stay here. Although the property is older, with smaller rooms and small bathroom, it is very clean, with a comfortable bed ( essential for me), everything working properly, and very good in-room heat ( it got down in the teens during my stay). Free breakfast was a plus and there were eggs everyday, along with cereal and bagels, pastry, and yogurt. More fruit would have been good. The room rate I received was very good and the stay was an excellent value!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Arrived and was met with extremely friendly staff. All was arranged ahead of time by the hotel. Great amenities throughout our stay and extremely affordable. Breakfast was complimentary and very tasty with all the healthy options we appreciate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I do not like loud noises; I like peaceful places. To my dismay when I walked into the lobby area of the Express the Christmas music was blaring so loudly that it was more a wall of distortion than discernible notes. Although I arrived at almost 16:00 my room was not quite ready and I was asked to wait. I pleaded with the front desk lady to turn down the music while I waited. She said she could not. So I sat in my car for 30 minutes until my room was ready.

The room, unfortunately, was right across from the elevators and the door was neither light nor sound proof. During my 3 days in the hotel all conversations from the elevators reached clearly to my room, plus bright light stream all around the door.

Wifi worked well. The bed was comfortable. Towels were old and thin. The room was worse for the wear.

I wish the breakfast would use dishes rather than environment killing plastic plates and utensils.

Overall this was a shabby place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us. If you would let me know the date of your arrival I will try to find out why your room was not ready when you arrived at 4pm.

I apologize that you found the room to be noisey. I wish we had known that you were not getting a restful night's sleep, so we could have moved you to a room further away from the elevator. Rooms are assigned based upon the room type and rate reserved, but we are always happy to move someone to a quieter room if they are light sleepers.

TripAdvisor recently recognized the Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon as a 2013 Certificate of Excellence winner based on our facilities and guest service. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Address: 485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#8 Business Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport. Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.