We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical holiday inn express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
1 review
“A typical holiday inn express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A pretty standard holiday inn express hotel. Room was small but very clean. Location is close to airport and air & space museum which is definitely a go for the kids. Frequent shuttle to the airport. Breakfast is very good. Overall was a very good stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    68
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
43
43
32
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and friendly. Staff were good and made us both welcome. The bed was very comfortable and even though our room was near to the lift it was quiet. The free breakfast was typical HI Express but always freshly served and constantly being topped up with new food items. Overall a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel has it all together. I have stayed here probably 5 times in the past year for work...and will be back in a month or so. Rooms are nice, clean, and beds are comfortable. Staff is very friendly, and they put out freshly-baked cookies every night. Breakfast is very good. (Eggs, bagels, pancakes, muffins, bacon, and more). Thanks for another great stay HI Express Reston/Herndon/Dulles!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed for several nights at this hotel recently. While the room itself was large enough, the bathroom was quite small. Everything was clean and well-maintained, and the hotel has gone through some updates. There was a continental breakfast included in the rate. However, if you're looking for healthy choices, this is probably not the hotel for you. All of the cereal choices were sugared, and the only fresh fruit was bananas. There were several hot choices, but I have to say they didn't look very appetizing. The positive note is that they had about 6 different varieties of yogurt and good orange juice. The hotel is close to a number of restaurants, so there are other options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I'm happy to hear you found the hotel to be clean and well maintained. I'm sorry we didn't have enough healthy options available for breakfast while you were here. We generally rotate the varieties of cereal based on guests in the hotel, but I agree we should have had at least one or two non-sugared choices as well. I'll make sure we don't do that again!

Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here two nights on business and luckily didn't spend much time in the room. If price is your only concern, then this hotel is clean and adequate. Next time I'd spend a bit more to stay at a nicer place. The room was tiny and laid out strangely--the sink wasn't even in the bathroom. The building is dated and I had trouble with outlets, lamps, the TV and even the ironing board. When I turned the heat on one night, the unit made a truly awful smell and the smoke detector went off! The breakfast was decent but there wasn't enough seating when I was there.

On the plus side, the hotel staff was helpful, parking is free and plentiful, there is a grocery store right next door and lots of nice restaurants a short drive away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your visit. I'm sorry about the problem with the heating unit. The sudden change from hot weather to cool temperatures didn't give our maintenance staff enough time to prep each unit. The smell was a result of the heating cools not being used for several months.

I'm glad you found our staff to be helpful. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We chose this hotel for it's location close to Dullas airport. I was greeted as a Priority Club member and given water and sweets which was very nice.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but have everything you need for the stay. Very clean and a nice comfy bed - had a good nights sleep.
Not in the nicest area and no food close by - but if you need a good stop over hotel I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed twice at this property on business trips when I've had an early morning flight. Above average for Holiday Inn Express, the hotel is clean, and the staff are terrific, helping me find a place for a pizza on a Sunday night at 10pm.

The rooms are smaller than average, at least the basic/standard room I booked, but everything fit well and it was cozy. The beds were reasonably comfortable, but were double beds and not Queen sized - a consideration if you're traveling with a family, for me they were fine.

The best part was getting to the airport. It's a short trek up to US 50 from the hotel, and other than having to wait at a number of traffic lights, there was little traffic on a Monday morning.

For those travelers without their own private transportation, the hotel has a free shuttle. The shuttle will also take you to the Udvar-Hazy (Smithsonian) Air and Space museum that's located in the Dulles Annex.

I'll certainly stay at this property again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Address: 485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#10 Business Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport. Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.