We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still your average HI Express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still your average HI Express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a very average hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was clean. Breakfast is your standard breakfast that you get with any HI Express. Will I stay here again when back in town on business??? That all depends on what the rates at other hotels in the area are at the time. I have found that this is the best value in area the 2 times I have been in Herndon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave comments regarding your recent visit. I'm glad you found us to be the best value, not once, but twice. Our staff works hard to provide the friendly and helpful service you mentioned, and we hope to welcome you back whenever you are in the area. Safe travels!

Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    65
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
42
32
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here to be able to take an early morning cruise to mt Vernon. About 40 min drive to the boat. Clean rooms. Very small bathroom
Good breakfast and quick.
Loved the fact that they offer bicycles - made me wish I had another night to try that out

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night as I had a connecting flight and this hotel was one of the more inexpensive options for staying close to the airport.
i found the room to be clean but a bit on the small side. the room had a funny smell and the breakfast items were average.
the main advantage of staying here was the complimentary shuttle.
The shopping mall opposite the hotel was not bad, offering a little of everything.
in short, not bad value for the price i paid but I would probably try another hotel next time I have a layover at dulles airport.

Room Tip: rooms to the front of the hotel have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for noting the cleanliness of the rooms, our convenient location, and value. The shuttle van service (provided free of charge 5am-11pm) is certainly an added value, making us the ideal location for guests stopping at Dulles Airport.

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us as much as we would like. Our complimentary breakfast includes hot eggs, sausage or bacon, fresh pancakes, hot cinnamon buns, a selection of cereals, yogurts, fruit, breads and pastries.

I hope you will give us another try the next time your travel plans bring you to this area.

Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the beginning, I was glad that only one of us would be spending the night. The room given to us was what you'd expect to find in Hong Kong or New York, as it was little bigger than a shoebox. Given the price of real estate in those two places, I can understand rooms to be small. But in Northern Virginia? "Fortunately", the A/C unit emitted a foul smell and I asked for and was given another room. The room was bigger, however, it was at the expense of a much smaller bathroom. Aside from the size of the room, there's nothing that was bad about the place. That being said, there's nothing that stands out that would make me recommend this property either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to the Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon. Hotels typically price rooms based on the size and/or amenities provided. I'm glad the front desk was able to move you to a larger room, even if the bathroom was smaller than you are accustomed to. Please let me know when you are in this area again so I can make sure you receive a larger room. My direct email address is Patrick.Foley@bfsaul.com. Your complete satisfaction and continued patronage is very important to me.

Patrick M. Foley, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We were first booked into a single room, but all they had was handicapped, on the first floor, very near the elevator. Next morning we asked to change, and very quickly we were in a double, end of the hall, far from "the maddening crowd." But the exhaust fan in the shower was noisy, and they sent a repair person, and the fan chose not to show off. Finally, if you call an elevator on the 3rd floor, it rings until you get on and select your new floor.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for letting me know about your experience. Without knowing more about your original reservation I can't tell what room type was reserved. Sometimes third-party reservation sites assign a "run of house" room with a request for a bed type when individual allotments are gone. I'm glad the front desk was able to change the room for you the following day, though. I also know how frustrating it is to have something mechanical (like an exhaust fan) refuse to make the same noises once a repairman arrives. I'd love to hear more details if you'd like to send an email to Patrick.Foley@bfsaul.com. I'd like to be sure other guests don't have the same problems.

Patrick M. Foley, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Chose the Holiday Inn Express - Reston for the location, value, and proximity to 495 in and out of DC. One way toll is $2.75, but it saves 15 minutes in travel time.
Hotel was a great value for the money. Very Clean and front desk staff very helpful. Exceeded our expectations. Maybe not a 5 star hotel, but then we didn't pay for a 5 star. We stayed from Wednesday through Sunday and not one complaint. Breakfast buffet was the normal cereal, pastries, muffins; however, they also have a pancake machine and hot eggs, sausage, and bacon. If you leave hungry, it's your fault.
It was so nice to spend the day in the city and escape to the slower pace and Reston Town Center. This place is a gem. Your choice of restaurants, shopping, and relaxing under shade trees and a nice breeze.
Lots of places to stay in N Va and DC, but you tennis to go back to where you've had a good experience, so this one is on our list and I would recommend to anyone, unless they want to pay $200 a night.
We are from NC, so no ties to Holiday Inn, excerpt having heard nice things about their hotel at home (Mt Airy).. This one gets 2 thumbs up on this visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family stayed over 1 night just for a quick visit to DC on the way back from a beach vacation. The room was average sized, but very clean, and the air conditioning was great! The rest of the hotel is quite warm though. There is FREE Wi-Fi internet access and a nice breakfast buffet in the morning. Coffee is available all day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Address: 485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport, your ideal choice for a Herndon Reston hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport provides lodging in Herndon in the heart of the Reston Dulles business corridor just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.