We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family stayed over 1 night just for a quick visit to DC on the way back from a beach vacation. The room was average sized, but very clean, and the air conditioning was great! The rest of the hotel is quite warm though. There is FREE Wi-Fi internet access and a nice breakfast buffet in the morning. Coffee is available all day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    61
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
39
32
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bogota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Me and my family spent only one night (stop over) in the hotel, but it was good in average. Arrived after 2:00 AM, and we were well received. Were not recognized as Platinum member, though. Room was clean, enough towels for all of us (4). Not a huge room but not small either. Breakfast is the typical Holiday Inn Express, just good to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Traveling with a family member to the DC area. First visit and unsure where to stay. This location is not convenient to the DC area if your plan is to visit any of the Washington sites. I did spend a day at the Reston Town Center. Nice area...many shops, theater, and other activities. The park is a pleasant place to sit and enjoy lunch or take a break from the activities.The hotel shuttle can return you to the airport and from there catch a shuttle to the Air & Space Museum.The museum is very interesting! The Safeway and very small shopping center located nearby is a plus if you have forgotten any items.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for the high scores on Cleanliness, Service, Sleep Quality and Value! While we can't do anything about the distance to downtown DC, we work very hard to make sure all of our guests receive the very best accommodations at a reasonable price. If you find yourself out this way again I hope you'll consider us as your home base for exploring many of the great wineries and Civil War sites VA has to offer. DC may have the monuments, but Virginia has much more to offer.

I appreciate your letting us know about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Standard, nothing special, good Holiday Inn Express except for two things that were outstanding. The hotel will reimburse the taxi ride from the airport if one arrives after the hotel shuttle stops running (11pm)! The included continental breakfast is really good; probably the best I've ever had at a 3star hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was really pleased with my experience at this hotel. The fact it was near to shopping (grocery and retail), and very close to main highways were the best parts. The staff was really professional, friendly, and accomodating. I've rarely been disappointed with Holiday Inn Express, so this location was (thankfully) no different. However, there were a few nights during my stay where it seemed like loud construction noises were occurring during early morning hours. (I could've done without that.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Currently staying at the Holiday Inn Express, so thought I would write the review whilst here. First and foremost, the service and staff here are brilliant. So friendly and helpful, where nothing seems to much trouble. The rooms are typical of this standard of hotel, but they are well maintained and kept clean and fresh. The high speed internet, is exactly what it is, HIGH SPEED and free! I have been to some hotels that charge a mortgage for their Internet service and is slow in comparison. The breakfast is great, with some good choices for both hot and cold needs, and those on a health kick, or like me, I am on holiday dam it! The area where the hotel is situated is fab. There is much more to do around here, than some of the other airport hotels. Access to the Tourist stuff, like for us, is great. The Hotel staff are more than helpful at getting you to where you need to be. Oh, and back to you health conscientious people, ignore the cookies as you walk through reception! They are too delicious for you :-)

So to sum up, STAY here, its great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Richard,

Thanks so much for the rave review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit with us.
We recently upgraded our internet access to boost the speed for our guests. We think you should have internet access that's at least as good as you have at home, all at no added cost to you.
Don't be so quick to warn people away from those delicious cookies, though! Remember, we have complimentary bicycles for guests to use on the miles of paved trails to work off those added calories.
We look forward to your next visit.

Patrick Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel was clean, quiet, and food was good. The location has a lot of food choices in walking distance. The breakfast was good and fresh. Staff was friendly and helpful. I like their business center set up near the front desk. Good for printing boarding passes and items on the go.

Green Features: The SOAP program was something new I have never heard of. Cool idea.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Address: 485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#8 Business Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport, your ideal choice for a Herndon Reston hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport provides lodging in Herndon in the heart of the Reston Dulles business corridor just minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.