We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights as part of a vacation trip. The staff are friendly, always nice to have when you are travelling around in what can be soulless corporate hotels. The place was spotlessly clean in our room and the public areas. The free breakfast was fine, with a good selection and always kept well stocked and fresh. The hotel in near a huge range of restaurants for evening dining out so you will not be stuck for choice. Will certainly stay here again when I am back in the area on my next trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    69
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
43
43
32
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bowie,MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was attending training in Reston, so I needed a hotel to stay in. The Holiday Inn Express was a great, low cost hotel. The elevator is slow, but that was the only downside of the hotel. The staff at the front desk were friendly, the room was comfortable, and the breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Front desk attendant was very nice and helpful. Hotel was very nice except when we went to go to the breakfast in the morning. The elevator repairman rode down in the elevator with us. The elevator made strange grinding sounds. He claimed it was okay. When we rode the elevator back up to our room, it thumped and made a grinding sound so loud that we were scared. So we ended up walking down 4 flights of stairs with our luggage. We reported it the front desk. She said the repairman said it was safe but that he had left to get parts for the elevator. That was really reassuring!! Glad we walked down the 4 flights. Otherwise, the hotel was great!!

Room Tip: Top floor which is the 4th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had just come off of several weeks of staying at boutique hotels in San Diego and other large cities and was amazed at how I had been nickeled and dimed with fees for everything from internet access to coffee to local phone calls. I stayed at this hotel because the big boys I normally stay in at Dulles were filled. I'll never go back to them after this experience. Everything, from check in to check out was first class. The room was basic but it worked. Everything was where it was supposed to be and the free internet was very fast, the toiletries, water pressure and towels were great. Complimentary little bottles of water were most appreciated. If I had stayed longer I could have used a complimentary bike to ride along the W&OD trail, which was right behind the hotel. It was raining and we wanted to dine at a oyster bar about five blocks from the hotel and they simply brought the shuttle around and drove us there. The little gym was great, the FREE breakfast which included hot eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, yogurts, breads, pancakes, etc was just amazing. Everything was super clean and neat and everyone had smiles. All in all, a most unexpected experience and one that has changed the way I look at Holiday Inn Express properties.

Room Tip: Just ask at check in for best available and let them decide, they will be most helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The first room I got put in was super tiny and smelled of smoke, but was supposed to be non-smoking. That wasn't the worst. The pillows looked like they were wrinkled from someone sleeping on them so I pulled down the sheets just to check....I swear there were pubic hairs in the bed! Someone didn't feel like changing the sheets I guess! The next room was right across from the elevators so it was difficult to sleep. The hotel claims to be environmentally friendly, you know, hang your towels if you want to reuse. But the cleaner paid no attention. Took bad they didn't clean my first room! As for the front desk staff-super nice and very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressHerndon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello,

I’m so sorry you had such a bad experience while you were with us. Our housekeeping staff is usually quite diligent in making sure our rooms are in perfect condition for new guests. Unfortunately, the first room you were assigned was supposed to be occupied for another two nights by the previous guest, who had a last minute change of plans. He had requested the room receive just a refresh instead of a full cleaning. Apparently his early checkout created confusion when the room status was updated.

We are now reviewing the procedure for handling early checkout rooms, and working to make sure no other guest has the same experience. I appreciate your taking the time to let us know about this so we can keep improving the service we offer our guests.

I’m happy to hear you were pleased by the staff at the front desk, but sorry that we did not deliver this same level of service throughout the hotel. I hope you will contact me directly next time you will be in the area so I can personally take care of the arrangements. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Foley
General Manager Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days. Great value for money. Clean rooms and friendly staff.
Breakfast is decent. Location is quite good. The shopping area directly opposite the hotel offers you enough eating options to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A very good Holiday Inn Express. Friendly, efficient staff. Clean rooms. Adjacent to a Safeway supermarket and across the street from restaurants and an organic food store ("Mom's'). Don't be misled by the very old Google Maps street view you might see --- the adjoining area has changed a lot since the street view I saw. Very close to the "W&OD" walking/running/biking trail --- go out the back to the street behind the hotel, turn right, and look on the left for an unmarked and rather narrow paved trail that will take you to the W&OD trail. Only complaint I had was being placed into a room across from the single elevator. That was OK except that the top of the main door to the room had a rather big gap that seemed to allow hallway and elevator noise into the room.

Room Tip: Check for a gap at the top of the main door to your room. You may want to change rooms to avoid exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport

Address: 485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#8 Business Hotel in Herndon
#10 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon Dulles Airport. Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.