We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Herndon Reston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Herndon Reston to your Saves list
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

One of my favorite places to stay when visiting the Herndon/Reston area. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. The breakfast buffet is delicious with a good variety to suit every dietary need. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable and the DVD player was a nice touch. Will be my hotel of choice once the Reston summer concert series begin. Keep up the amazing work!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    34
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
18
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
277 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Nothing peculiar, much that's familiar.

Adequate.

If you're going to stay at a Residence Inn visit one near your home or work to see what they are like.

If there is no location advantage my tastes would go for a Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: When you book the room ask for a close-in building. I was 500 yards from the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Herndon Reston, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and am sorry to hear that your brand preference is Hampton Inn. I do realize and appreciate the fact that everyone has different likes and preferences and our property is purpose built for extended stay travel, where as the Hampton Inn is purpose built for short term stays.

We do greatly appreciate your business though and thank you for taking the time to share them.

Best wishes,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a renovated and well-run RI. We stayed in two room types, a queen studio and two-bedroom loft --and while the loft was bigger and more fun -- both were large, immaculate, and well-designed. Staff is friendly and efficient, especially Robert (front desk) and the breakfast attendants. Speaking of breakfast, the offerings were some of the best that RIs offer: the scrambled eggs were especially delicious.

During our two night stay, the mattresses were being replaced and our bed was firm and very comfortable.

Though there's no fitness center at this location, there is a sports/tennis court and outdoor pool and the staff offers complimentary gym passes. Nearby is a mixed-use restaurant/shops/cinema complex, Reston Town Center, and the hotel is relatively close to Dulles airport, Great Falls National Park, and Tyson's Corner Galleria.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We are having renovations done in our home and we have been staying here on the weekends so we are not in the middle of the muck. This coming weekend will be our 7th time staying, and we have not been let down once. The rooms are located in what can only be described as a condo style with about 8 rooms per building. We have stayed in seeral of them and the staff are very accomidating if you have any special requests/ They will do their best to help you get them. I have to say that Mauricio helped us get the room we needd when we came in on an early check in, James has helped us as well when we extended our stay for a day and Chris, th emanager has alwasy welcomed us with a smile. Mauricio even remembered us from our other stays. That's always appreciated! Now onto the rooms. They are clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked with plates and glasses. Complimentary coffe and popcorn are good, the bed is very comfy and makes it hard to leave to go to work on Mondays. LOL I recomend this for a get a way and for any time you need a home away from home

Room Tip: if yo want no stairs opt for bldg 19, 12, or 10, 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilghman, Maryland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have stayed at other RI by Marriott and this one is typical of the brand. The rooms are located in condo style buildings surrounding a central courtyard with pool and common areas. Each building is secure with room key entry and there is plentiful parking. The we stayed in was studio style with queen bed. No complaints here. Clean and very quiet. This hotel is within walking distance of shopping, food, entertainment. We went to two restaurants close by and a local live theater all were a safe walk away. There is also a bike, hike path next to the place and along a creek. We came to visit a show at the Expo Center, which was a short drive. The staff and service was great and of course they have the waffle maker, which is a favorite. That was the only downfall, was they only have one and everyone wants to use it, so you may have to wait. Oh and the coffee is awful, but there is a Starbucks right next door.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rihva, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Herndon Reston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while visiting the Expo Center and for your very informative review. You truly help to paint the picture for future guests what a stay with us is like. I ask to see if we can get a second waffle maker.

Thank you so much and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was an absolutely great place to stay in Herndon. The location was perfect, the room was amazing and the rate was unbeatable. Very near to a wide range of restaurants. Would likely stay there again.

Room Tip: I was in building 4 and it was a bit of a walk from the parking lot in the ice and snow. Bldgs 2 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rihva, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Herndon Reston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we really do appreciate. So glad you enjoyed your stay and would come back. Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx, usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My longest ever hotel stay, almost 4 months during Summer and Fall 2013. On a stay that long, you get to know all the good and the bad of a hotel. At the Residence Inn Herndon Reston, it's mostly good.

It's a typical suburban Residence Inn, for those who are familiar with the brand, and the property executes most things well. The rooms are spread across about 20 separate 2 story buildings; each has a single hallway with just 4 rooms on each of the 2 floors; having so few neighbors keeps rooms pretty quiet; I was rarely disturbed by other guests.

Some or all of the 2 BR units are 2nd floor rooms with a 3rd floor upstairs. The studio and 1BR units are single floor. As is common in the Residence Inn brand, the rooms are big. All have full kitchens, including a full size fridge, 4 burner stove with a full size oven, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, and 12 cup coffee pot using basket-style filters. My studio also had a couch (convertible to a sofabed) and easy chair. The queen bed was decent, not bad, though not as luxurious as many slightly more upscale brands offer these days. Bathrooms are split, with the sink in the main room separate from the toilet and tub. There's a ton of storage space, with a 3 door chest, 2 closets, plus lots of extra drawers by the nightstands and the sink.

Everything was clean, and housekeeping did a remarkably consistent job with the daily service, properly cleaning and provisioning. Kudos to them.

The hotel laundry room has 7 washers and 8 dryers. Doing laundry weekly, I never had to wait for a machine.

During my stay, the hotel upgraded their internet. I found the connection reliable and fast. Both wired and wireless are offered, both free.

The hotel had an outdoor pool, but hours were limited, not opening weekdays until noon, and shutting completely right after Labor Day. There's also a small sport area, offering half-court basketball and a miniature tennis court. The hotel does not have a fitness center, but does offer guests free access to a Gold's Gym about 3 miles away. For those looking for workout, a better option might be to bring your bicycle, roller blades, or running shoes; there are two great trails very close to the hotel. Mountain bikers and walkers will enjoy the 3 mile long Sugarland Run trail, right across the street from the hotel, which offers a hilly, secluded, winding trip through the woods (paved, but rough in spots). Road bikers and skaters should try the 44 mile long Washington & Old Dominion Trail. It's a converted rail path, running from near to DC to rural Virginia. Herndon is the halfway point on that trail, which passes about 2 blocks from the hotel.

The hotel offers free breakfast daily (until 9 M-F; 9:30 weekends). Selections include scrambled eggs, potatoes, some sort of meat (usually turkey Canadian bacon or sausage patties), oatmeal, cold cereal, yogurt, bagels, muffins, bread, bananas, cut melon, and a self service waffle machine. The food area often gets overcrowded, with too little space for so many choices, so be patient. The dining area is ample in the summer, given the outside poolside patio tables, but when it's cold or wet, the indoor tables may be full. There's also "dinner" offered Monday thru Thursday. The quality varies greatly. Some nights offered burgers, or roast chicken, or surprisingly ok pizza. More often, I found the food pretty awful, or desserts-only, and I preferred to cook for myself or eat out, even without an expense account.

For dining out, within a half mile of the hotel are many ethnic restaurants (especially Indian), a few bars, and several fast food joints. Carpool, a block away, has 30+ obscure craft beers on tap, and good food. Uptown Pizza , Charcoal Kebab, and O'Sullivans were my other nearby favorites. Reston Town Center is a mile and a half away, and offers a better selection of more upscale dining. To stock your fridge, there's a Safeway a block from the hotel.

In all, the location is good for those working in the Herndon/Reston area. I chose to get a rental car (hotel parking is free and ample), but there's enough walkable that you can get by without one if you have to. I wouldn't recommend this hotel as a base for a visit to the city of DC. DC is a half hour drive if you're lucky, but area traffic can easily make that a much longer drive. For now, the nearest Metro rail stations (Orange Line) are 20 minutes away, though the soon-to-open Silver Line will come a bit closer.

Dulles airport is very close, just a 10 minute drive. Taxi fare runs about $15 plus tip. The hotel recently started offering a free hotel shuttle, but the hours are limited to mornings and evenings, and it seems to work better to return to the airport than to get an airport pickup.

All the staff were polite, efficient and helpful.

In summary, it's not the most luxurious hotel, but sometimes extra space and a full kitchen beat luxury. It's not the cheapest extended stay, but sometimes cleanliness and daily housekeeping beat cheap. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, if my work brings me back to the Herndon area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rihva, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Herndon Reston, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Mark,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write your review. It was extensive and so informative. We have actually gotten guests staying with us because of your review!! They mentioned it on the phone, as they thought you truly gave them an insight of the hotel and area. Thank you once again and hope you will stay with us again. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.7 mi away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#9 of 20 in Herndon
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Hyatt Regency Reston
#1 of 4 in Reston
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Herndon Reston

Address: 315 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Herndon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#14 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Herndon Reston 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.