We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Herndon Reston

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Herndon Reston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Herndon
West Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is very nice. The room was very spacious (although the kitchen was fairly small) and it was very clean. It would be perfect for an extended stay. The free breakfast was mediocre at best. It consisted of a usual continental breakfast with four hot foods (eggs, sausage, Canadian bacon, potatoes, etc.), but it was far from spectacular. The only problem I had with this hotel was the distance to the Metro (17 miles), but the staff helped with directions. Luckily, there is another Metro line under construction that will have a few stations very close to this hotel. This hotel, however, does have excellent customer service. I had booked a one week trip, but an emergency occurred at home and I had to check out immediately. They were more than accommodating and were kind enough not to charge me the fee for checking out early.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have large glass doors that lead to the outside. So if you're someone w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
12
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is fine if you do not have anyone in a room above you. The walls are thin and you can hear EVERYTHING! that goes on upstairs. I chose this hotel for an extended stay and everyone who has stayed above me has been very noisy, moving furniture, dropping heavy stuff on the floor making the building shake. Noise going on until 2 am. So far I have had to make 2 calls to the front desk. The food at night is not good, it's awful. The breakfast is ok, real eggs, meat. Housecleaning is very nice. That is the best of this hotel, the staff.

Room Tip: Walls are too thin, just hope you don't get noisy neighbors for an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel primarily because it was described as offering full kitchen rooms and was also handicapped accessible. What we found instead was an accessible room that was VERY small, and didn't have a full kitchen. When we inquired why there wasn't a full oven in the kitchen, we were told that accessible rooms only offered a 2 burner stove top and NO oven. No other explanation was given other than it had been approved by the ADA. One of the reasons we had selected this location was to enable my wife to bake Christmas cookies with our granddaughters. Imagine our disappointment. In all fairness, however, the staff more than tired to accommodate our needs by moving us into a larger unit that had a full kitchen and oven but was not equipped with grab bars in the bathroom. Walking distance to stores and restaurants made this a good location. Staff was pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Building 21, is the closest to the check-in desk , breakfast, dinner, and cookies! We were located o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC area
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Quick overnight stay for business. Room-suite 613, first floor.
The Residence inn is like an apartment complex and would be a ideal for extended stay. Clean , comfortable and quiet. Large efficiency room had stove range, full size refrigerator , microwave, and even a dishwasher. Cabinets were stocked with plates, glasses, pot and pans, and utensils.
Sofa and chair with large TV, bed reasonably comfortable. Very quiet. Many more amenities that I needed for just one night's stay ; very pleasant staff also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business travel. It was a very nice place in a good location. The hotel does not have a work out room on site but they offer a free membership to Gold's Gym. The gym is not far from the hotel. The staff was nice and friends. They left me notes and small gifts in my room. The room was clean and even had a stove with oven for baking. The hotel is not far from the interstate. This hotel is about 20 minutes from Reagan Airport. The hotel is right across the street from KMart, Big Lots, Popeyes, McDonald and other places in the the shopping center. Its is also near a grocery store. I would recommend this hotel for extended stay. MOST IMPORTANT: This hotel does not have an elevator if that is important to you. Each building is two stories.

Room Tip: If you can not carry your bags up a flight of stairs ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Welcoming staff. Prompt check-in. Clean room. Close to several casual and fast-food restaurants. Walking distance to Safeway store and staff will even grocery shop while you're out and charge groceries to your room. Will stay here again if in the Reston area for business.

Room Tip: I would request a 2nd level room. Lower level rooms have sliding glass doors to outside and may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My family and have been to this Residence every couple of months. We have family in Reston that we visit on a regular basis.
The rooms are very nice, and well maintained, no animal smells. I have an English Bulldog and we take her every time we go. The staff aside from the front desk staff are great, and we have been there so often, some of the staff knows us and are always very nice to us. The room we usually get is the two bedroom suite and its a great size for us and very comfortable. The breakfast is ok, the kids love that they get to make their own waffles. The front desk staff is just Blah, never rude, we usually arrive very late because we leave NY around 7pm and by the time we reach there its late, we have always informed them that we will be late, and still its almost like they are annoyed that we are bothering them @ that hour. We tried going early Saturday and got there about noon, still staff is just Blah.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Herndon Reston

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Herndon Reston Hotel
Residence Inn Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Residence Inn Herndon
Herndon Residence Inn
Address: 315 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Herndon
#17 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Herndon Reston 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.