We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, I would definitely stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Herndon Reston

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Herndon Reston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Herndon
West New York, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable, I would definitely stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We were very comfortable at this hotel. It was relatively new, clean and luxurious. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was enjoyable and the breakfast room was spacious. We had enough room in our two bedroom suite to stay comfortably. My children had their own bathroom which was a big bonus and the kitchen was well stocked.

On a subsequent trip we stayed at another Residence Inn which was not so great and we really appreciated this one. Location wise it is not the best if you want to visit DC.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
12
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

A buddy and I recently rode in the Tour de Cure, which began in Reston, VA. We stayed the night before in this hotel and were able to get a good night's rest before the ride and clean up afterwards before driving home. The staff were very accommodating to our various requests related to our ride and we will definitely look to stay here again during future events in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumy, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

better than home. meals, service, discounts, studio room. everything is very good.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

When I saw the rate was $69 a night, I jumped. Good location near Dulles Airport, about 25 minutes to the Vienna Metro stop to catch the train to DC. Lots of local eateries and shopping, but if I had to stay in this property for more than a few weeks I'd shoot myself!

The property is a dump. Grounds are messy, still covered with leaves. Interior hallway never vaccumed. Studio suites were fine... clean, but spartan. Front desk staff was OK, but hardly warm or enthusiastic.

Internet service was terrible. Constant drop-outs and re-logging. Why no ethernet in the rooms?

Breakfast staff was delightful. Food varied and good, very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rihva, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Herndon Reston, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Residence Inn Herndon and for your feedback. During the first part of the year we were under renovations so that could explain the messy grounds. However, since then our landscaping has been upgraded and we have invested $2.6 Million dollars into renvoating the suites and our Gatehouse (the lobby). I encourage you to give us another try when in the area as we have a beautiful, new hotel. Thank you once again for the feedback and chosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I'm not sure how by we got a fantastic rate of $79.99 a night here for 4 night over Thanksgiving this year. The rooms were nice. Not MORE than nice, but nice. The room we were in had a generous-for-a hotel sized kitchen with full appliances, a living room with 40"ish flat panel TV and a queen bed that slept very nicely. Parking is inherently close to every room do to the layout of the property. There are no elevators of 2+ level rooms. Housekeeping was thorough and quick and timely. Room temperature was easily controlled. Shower head height and water pressure were very good with plenty of hot water. The breakfast in the lobby was quite good for complimentary with all the usual stuff, and waffles. It was VERY busy when we were there every morning and an additional waffle maker may be advisable. But ultimately, a very good FREE breakfast.

The only real issue we consistently had was the wireless internet service. It was extremely spotty and often unusable. The tech support was helpful and managed to improve the service to a constant availability, albeit extremely slow. For only 4 rooms fro building and each building having it's own router... I'm not sure what the deal is here, but it should be addressed. And for some reason the ethernet port was not working on our room so hardlining was not possible either.

All and all a very nice place to stay for the price we paid. We'd probably pay up to $110-120 per night elsewhere for such a place. We'll be back,.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks while in business in Reston.

The hotel is in a great location, with lots of food options nearby and even a supermarket (all within walking distance) where you can get groceries and cook some basic meals in the standard Residence Inn kitchenette provided. There is also access to a trail, ideal if you want to take a run. You can get to IAD in less than 10 minutes. Parking is free. This is all very good.

The rooms are large, with the studio being larger than the one-bedroom you find in other hotels from the same chain. The carpets and bathroom make them look old and below the Residence Inn standard, though. Please note that I'm not saying that they're dirty, just that they look old. This made me thought that the price was probably a little higher than the value (I guess that location balances it out).

The staff was very good in the few instances I interacted with them.

There's also a pool, but it was closed for the season. They have an old tennis court good for having a laugh.

The business center is just a PC that is always used by someone. Don't bother.

I had trouble finding where to sit during breakfast.

I'd recommend the hotel for any traveler.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinginflorida
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

My husband stays here often; it is very close to his office and a very comfortable room. I stayed with him for 13 nights this trip, and since the rooms are so big I didn’t feel confined like I would in a hotel room. The buildings are spread out and there are only 8 rooms in a building; however, I could hear the person upstairs every time they walked around. Unfortunately, this guy had erratic hours so sometimes it was 11:30 at night, sometimes it was 4:30 am. Our lamps and pictures actually shook when he walked around. The rooms are a little dated, our furniture was a little warm and the bed was just okay. We took our dog; the pet policy is very good if you are staying for an extended period (a one-time fee of $75). Housekeeping is wonderful; the rooms are so clean which compensates for the age of the hotel (clean and older is much better than dirty and new!) The breakfast is great – they always have good oatmeal and eggs for those wanting a higher protein meal. They have different things every morning, and try to stay on the healthy side. Monday – Thursday night they provide dinner which has been surprisingly good! Plus, they always have cookies and apples available. There is a great trail, Sugar Run, which connects to the W&OD trail which if you go 1 mile to the left takes you to Reston Town Center and 1 mile to the right Old Town Herndon. (The whole trail is over 45 miles long, with many side trails too!) There are also several restaurants and stores in walking distance, making this a great hotel at a great location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Herndon Reston

Address: 315 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Herndon Reston 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.