We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargain , worth the drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
PENNSYLVANIA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great bargain , worth the drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We are visiting with family. Hotel in very modern. Rooms are very large. With fridge and microwave. Kids loved the pool which has an attendant and is open till 10. Breakfast is wonderful but crowded. Lots of parking. Innumerable restaurants of every type nearby. Beds are comfy. Bath is tight with cheap shower head. We are very pleased.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    75
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
22
10
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is close to the D.C. area and to the highways, but close enough into suburban Herndon/Reston that you don't *have* to venture into the capital if you're not up for it.
We stayed on a very crowded weekend, which made the Saturday morning breakfast buffet kind of like a cattle call. The breakfast area has kind of a weird configuration and could probably use more seating, and maybe a few more people to help with replenishing food, coffee etc.
Everything was clean, and staff were friendly. For the proximity to D.C. you can't beat the price. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd request a room on the top floor if possible; ceiling noise is a problem if you have noisy pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I went to DC for Cherry Blossom Festival weekend with friends and stayed here. We reserved 2 rooms, both king studio suites, via booking.com. They were sold out that day.

Check in was simple, just gave our full names and the gentleman at the front desk located our reservation. He excuses himself to take a call which was regarding the hotel shuttle, which sounded very efficient and a nice service (we did not use).

The room was beautiful! Nice open floorplan. We loved the soft soothing classical music playing in the background as we entered the room. The color scheme was also very relaxing, pale blues and greens. We were in room 401. The living area had a long 4 seater couch that pulls out to be a queen sized bed (linens located above the open 'closet area' that you can hang clothes). There was a kitchenette area with a sink, microwave, small fridge, and coffee amenities. Very nice and neat. There was a desk with lamp and plenty of outlets for our devices.

The king sized bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. Our friend said that the pullout sofabed was better than expected and she wouldn't mind sleeping on it again.

We had one problem with our door the first time we went out; the deadbolt seemed to lock whenever we turned the handle so we couldn't pull the door shut. It finally closed after the 8th try so we didn't report it. It gave is no other problems the rest of our stay.

The free breakfast the next morning was very crowded and busy with many families. The spread was comprehensive: scrambled and hard-boiled eggs, sausage Patties, make-your-own waffles, apples, bananas, cereals, milk, oatmeal and fixings and coffee/tea/juice. The scrambled eggs and sausage was replenished quickly buy once the fruit and hard boiled eggs were gone, they were gone. We still got in a substantial breakfast after we located a spot to sit.

It took us a but less than half hour to/from DC, but be prepared for the many tolls that are on the route. It does add up! For that reason, I would consider looking to book somewhere else next trip, but for the price and quality of the accommodations, I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Everfair,

Thank you for the feedback! We are happy to hear that your stay was delightful. We are having a metro built in the area, one mile from our property, that will take you into DC. We would certainly invite you to come back in the future and give us another try. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

It was the best of hotels, it was the worst of hotels. My stay started fine with nice quiet and spacious accommodations and plenty of room in the parking lot. My pre-checkin requests were acknowledged, so I got a first floor kinda close to the exit. Rooms were in the double-size style with a full length couch and wet bar area and work desk - cozy for a few days stay. There was a full complimentary breakfast next morning, USA today right where i'd expect them. I called the desk to ask for a ride not half a mile from the hotel to a conference site since it was raining and was told the shuttle was fully scheduled if I wasnt already on it. Was called back minutes later after I had made other plans and the story changed (??). Anyway, second night turned into a disaster as they had filled up. Now parking lot was inadequate for all the guests. The guest above us must have weighed a huge amount as each step they took sounded like the floor was going to break and have them tumble into our room. This creaking went on all night and kept us awake. I yawned during most of the next days conference. There's no separate closet and the bath/shower is on the tight side, but ok. sink is outside the bath. There's no door on the closet, a rack in the corner of the bedroom. Fairly newly built this property and amenities are in good shape. There are some significant design flaws which with a little more attention might have been handled better. Oh, and those horrible speakman showerheads! Makes my hair look I didnt even shower for the day - feels like you're standing under a fire hose and can't be adjusted at all. Please change these, Marriott. When are you gonna get that message??

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear HikingTom,

Thank you for the thorough review. We are so sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory due to noise from the guests upstairs, the room design, shuttle, and shower. We take our guests feedback seriously and will certainly direct your concerns to upper levels of property management for review and consideration. We will also re-evaluate the shuttle situation to ensure consistency. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the guest room wet bar and work desk as well as the complimentary breakfast and USA Today newspaper. Again, we thank you for the feedback and hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel was clean. It was conveniently located near shopping centers, restaurants, etc. I have stayed in the DC area several times, so I was thrilled to get a room with a refrigerator and microwave. The room was spacious. The bed was comfortable. I never figured out how to make a left leaving the hotel. I had to go to the light and do a u-turn every morning on my way to work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Jody,

Thank you for the feedback! We are happy to hear that the location was convenient and provided amenities that you enjoyed (i.e. microwave and refrigerator). Also, thank you for the feedback about the entrance/exit...signage is a great idea to help guests navigate through the parking lot and an idea worth implementing. Again, thank you and we hope to serve you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel had all the things I look for in a reasonable overnight accomodations rate hotel. It is not a luxury hotel, but it is clean, the staff is friendly, the beds are comfortable and free breakfast daily. Pretty good hotel for the rate we were charges. I have no issues recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear KenS9,

Thank you for providing feedback from your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear the staff were pleasant, the rooms were clean, and you enjoyed the breakfast. We certainly work hard in these areas and still plan to make continued improvement. We appreciate the future recommendations and we certainly hope to serve you again as well. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Although we have relatives in the area, we opted to stay here during a recent visit for a memorial service. Using our AAA discount, we got a very good deal on a suite with a queen bed and pull-out sofa. As we were checking in, one of the clerks seemed to be preparing to end her shift. Yet when the other clerk was busy helping some preteens with their snack purchases, she stayed to help us check in. She even advised us to hit the breakfast bar early the next morning since she anticipated it would busier with a large children's group later. My wife experienced the swarms of young kids when she ate, but they were gone by the time the rest of us ate breakfast. Very nice to see Sriracha and Nutella as part of the breakfast offerings. When we told the front desk we had no iron in the room and also requested another blanket for the pull-out sofa, a staff person brought them up to the room just a few minutes later. The room is very clean. One minor quibble is that when the sofa bed is pulled out, it's hard to navigate between the bed and the TV stand. I would easily recommend this hotel to others, and we may even stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear TarHeel,

Thank you for the feedback! We are happy that your check-in experience was pleasant although there was a change in shifts. Thank you for being so understanding. It is helpful to gain your feedback about the spacing in the suite when the sofa bed is pulled out. As we discuss future renovations, we will certainly consider that factor. Finally, we are happy to hear the rooms were clean and to your satisfaction. We certainly hope to serve you again in the near future. Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Address: 138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Herndon
#16 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston provides easy access to the Reston Town Center, downtown Herndon and is located only 22 miles from the monuments and historical landmarks of Washington D.C. Guest suites are innovatively laid out, stylishly furnished and smartly designed to give travelers the flexibility needed to work efficiently and relax comfortably. Guests enjoy new hot and healthy breakfast options and comfortable suites appointed with mini kitchenettes, separate work spaces and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.