We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff and Wonderful Facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #19 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff and Wonderful Facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed there with my family one night. We actually got in kind of late and tried to order in some pizza. The first pizza place we called was rude and not very helpful. We contacted the front desk for assistance and they were able to come up with a list of pizza joints in the area that delivered to the area. It's not much, but they took the time, which so many places don't seem to do. They have a nice pool, all be it a little chilly, and a hot tub. It's one of the only hotels I've ever been to with a lifeguard!

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Postalg33k,

Thanks for taking the time to review Herndon SpringHill Suites! We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience with one of the local vendors, however we are happy to hear that our staff was accommodating and able to help you find another choice.

We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the pool and whirlpool. We try to keep our temperatures comfortable. Our lifeguards do have the ability to change the temperature at your request. We are happy you were pleased with their presence. We always has a lifeguard on duty during pool hours.

We certainly look forward to serving you again in the near future! Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    67
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
52
16
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is exactly what you would expect from a Springhill Suites. I 've stayed here several times and have always enjoyed good service and a nice clean, quiet room. The rooms are large, with mostly two double sized beds and a couch which can sleep an additional person. You have the standard fridge, microwave and sink. I particularly like the separate desk where I can work undisturbed.

Parking is free, airport shuttle is free, the Wi-Fi is free and breakfast (cooked) is also free. It's a great deal. There are plenty of restaurants in the nearby Reston/Herndon area and also a couple of nearby convenience stores (7-11) for supplies. You are about a 30 minute drive (outside of rush hour - which lasts 3 hours!) from downtown DC, or you can easily drive-n-park at a close metro stop.

My only complaints - they have the smallest and thinnest towels in existence, and there is only one waste-basket in the room. A small price to pay for a convenient, with some frills, hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for the review! We are always happy to hear from our guests and we certainly value your thoughts. Your concern about the size of the towels and number of waste baskets is definitely a point well taken and we will certainly work toward making improvements in those areas.

We are happy to hear that you found the suites spacious and comfortable with a special work space allowing privacy. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed the complimentary Wi-Fi, parking, shuttle, and breakfast.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future! Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogden, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I stayed here three nights...we were visiting DC and found that it was hard to come by a room that slept five (common problem for families with three kids) and every hotel in DC was smaller rooms, higher prices and few freebies.......this hotel was A steal at $79.99 a night....free parking, free wifi and free breakfast. It's about 20 min from a metro station at Vienna which is how we got downtown but they are building a new metro line that will be very close by. The room was big, clean, good breakfast....bed was super comfortable...also very nice that it came with a kitchenette......for the value it was way better than could be expected.....very happy and would stay there again if I could get the same price....there were no restaurants in walking distance but within a short drive you can find about anything....safe neighborhood and close to a nice running trail. I'm only giving a four for service and clean
Iness because the hall carpet was a little dirty and I only give five for spotless...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stay in Herndon VA at least 10 days per month. I stay here because I stay at Marriotts and this place has everything I need. The rooms are a good size and have refrigerator and microwave. I'll never understand why Marriott Courtyard rooms have a fridge but no microwave, which is why I go to SpringHill Suites instead. Anyway, this place is a standard SpringHill Suites which means that you have everything you need. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but it is a hot breakfast so you won't have to search for someplace in the morning. The only negative I have for this property is the workout room. One bicycle and two treadmills...and nothing else. It's a closet with a few machines in it. But, if you are a Marriott Elite, they will give you a pass to the gym up the street and it's very close. I will continue to stay at this property.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have noisy HVAC. If you hear it when you first get to your room, get another room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We saved by booking this place a bit further from the D.C. sites but it was worth it. And our room accommodated a family of 5 which is sometimes hard to find. We stayed just one night but found our hotel room very clean, updated and comfortable. -couldn't believe how nice for the price! Front desk staff were nice (not overly but nice nonetheless) and very helpful, giving me menus for local restaurants when I asked. Breakfast was typical and the breakfast room very crowded and busy! For D.C. visits you can drive in or drive to a metro station and park-n-ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston while in the DC area to visit The American Girl Store. The size and accommodations of the room appealed to us, as we were traveling with 3 children. Upon arriving, we boarded the elevator and were overwhelmed with an awful odor. The overall first impression of the room was not a good one. It was not clean and was out of date. There were several spots/stains on the walls and carpet and the bathroom was gross. It was hard to keep the room at a comfortable temperature as well. Our room was stocked with 4 bath towels and one tiny bottle of shampoo and one of conditioner for 5 people. We were looking forward to using the indoor pool but we had to ask the kids to get out because the water was so filthy. In addition, we did not enjoy the complimentary breakfast either. The dining area and the buffet areas were a mess. The one god thing about our visit was the coffee that was always available. I woud not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is helpful to review your feedback with the team as we work to make improvements throughout the property. We have consistently held very high scores in room cleanliness, so it is with careful attention that we focus on your areas of concerns. We have also recently launched a new, healthy breakfast buffet, so again it is with great detail that we review your concerns. As aforementioned, we want to make continued improvements and we strive to remain as appealing as we were when you first chose to stay with us. We are certainly happy to know that the coffee was to your liking as well. We would love to accommodate you at a SpringHill Suites in the future. Please contact us if we can address any of your concerns any further. Thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while touring the art museums of the Smithsonian. This hotel is close to Washington Dulles airport and cost 1/3 what you would pay closer to DC. We took the express bus from the airport ( hotel has a shuttle) into DC each day , $6 dollars each way $3 for senior) and used public transportation ( DC metro) to get around. Because of the savings we had more money for great meals.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Springhill Suites Herndon Reston Hotel
Springhill Suites Herndon
Herndon Springhill Suites
Address: 138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Herndon
#18 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston provides easy access to the Reston Town Center, downtown Herndon and is located only 22 miles from the monuments and historical landmarks of Washington D.C. Guest suites are innovatively laid out, stylishly furnished and smartly designed to give travelers the flexibility needed to work efficiently and relax comfortably. Guests enjoy new hot and healthy breakfast options and comfortable suites appointed with mini kitchenettes, separate work spaces and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.