We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Thrilled With Our Visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not Thrilled With Our Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston while in the DC area to visit The American Girl Store. The size and accommodations of the room appealed to us, as we were traveling with 3 children. Upon arriving, we boarded the elevator and were overwhelmed with an awful odor. The overall first impression of the room was not a good one. It was not clean and was out of date. There were several spots/stains on the walls and carpet and the bathroom was gross. It was hard to keep the room at a comfortable temperature as well. Our room was stocked with 4 bath towels and one tiny bottle of shampoo and one of conditioner for 5 people. We were looking forward to using the indoor pool but we had to ask the kids to get out because the water was so filthy. In addition, we did not enjoy the complimentary breakfast either. The dining area and the buffet areas were a mess. The one god thing about our visit was the coffee that was always available. I woud not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is helpful to review your feedback with the team as we work to make improvements throughout the property. We have consistently held very high scores in room cleanliness, so it is with careful attention that we focus on your areas of concerns. We have also recently launched a new, healthy breakfast buffet, so again it is with great detail that we review your concerns. As aforementioned, we want to make continued improvements and we strive to remain as appealing as we were when you first chose to stay with us. We are certainly happy to know that the coffee was to your liking as well. We would love to accommodate you at a SpringHill Suites in the future. Please contact us if we can address any of your concerns any further. Thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    68
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
17
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while touring the art museums of the Smithsonian. This hotel is close to Washington Dulles airport and cost 1/3 what you would pay closer to DC. We took the express bus from the airport ( hotel has a shuttle) into DC each day , $6 dollars each way $3 for senior) and used public transportation ( DC metro) to get around. Because of the savings we had more money for great meals.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My family stopped here twice. We have three teenage children and were able to sleep in one room with two double beds and a sleeper sofa. The room was under $100 and included a full breakfast, albeit breakfast acccomodations were a little tight and we had to wait to grab a table. Unbeatable value! Clean rooms. Nice decor and amenities. During our second stay, our room was near the lobby and very noisy. Close to DC.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night at a very good rate when our flight was delayed out of Dulles. The rooms are the big plus - roomy, clean, very comfortable beds, spacious seating area and all seemed recently remodeled. The negatives are that the front desk staff was not very friendly at check-in (did you know you cannot get Marriott points unless you book from Marriott directly - she was sure to sternly remind me of that but is this true???). I tried to call down to the front desk several times and my calls went unanswered. The lobby is not remodeled and slightly outdated. Plus it smells badly of chlorine because of the pool. We could hear the people upstairs walking around. Overall, a decent place for a one night stay but I would not return otherwise. We left bright and early to catch a flight and the morning front desk staff was much nicer. I grabbed a hard boiled egg from the breakfast (which looked pretty good otherwise) on my way out and had to spit it out in the cad because it tasted of chemicals.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my DC trip. No complains at all and was as per my expectations. Very well priced that includes breakfast buffet with good selection of food. Room is spacious with a microwave and small referigator. I had booked two rooms and they gave me both rooms next to each other and front desk was helpful and courteous. This hotel is now with marriott but do not expect like original Marriott quality/level.

The one thing that I would like to share was the guests in fact not hotel. There was chaos during breakfast hours for food. I saw people taking packs/stacks of food to their room and then coming back to have breakfast in kitchen area. That caused shortage of some food for other people. I thought that lots of people stayed their because they provide good complimentary breakfast. Kitchen staff quickly re-filled the food items.

Room Tip: Please go and have breakfast to avoid blind race for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My sister and I traveled to VA for a horse show and stayed here. The front desk people were very helpful and even gave us directions to the equine center. They also have shuttle service which my sister used several times. The staff were wonderful and the rooms were clean and nicely decorated. My only complaint would be that the towels were thin and scratchy, but there were plenty of them. They have an indoor pool which we were not able to use and they also have a hot breakfast everyday (scrambled eggs and sausage) as well as cereals, pastries, waffles and yogurt. They do not have a restaurant, though. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room because my sister is disabled and it was surprisingly quiet as well as con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatton, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a really nice motel. Nice, big rooms. Love the photos hanging in the rooms. If you have a car, it's easy enough to drive into Washington or to Vienna to catch the train if need be. Breakfast is okay, nothing special but not horrible either. For $69 a night it's still close enough to DC to not be paying ridiculous prices to be there. I would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Address: 138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Herndon
#17 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston provides easy access to the Reston Town Center, downtown Herndon and is located only 22 miles from the monuments and historical landmarks of Washington D.C. Guest suites are innovatively laid out, stylishly furnished and smartly designed to give travelers the flexibility needed to work efficiently and relax comfortably. Guests enjoy new hot and healthy breakfast options and comfortable suites appointed with mini kitchenettes, separate work spaces and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.