We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some updates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Needs some updates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was average as far as SpringHill Suites go. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. It is not a new Springhill Suites and it shows. The night I stayed it was windy and the window in my room was broken and continued to bang all night long. The shuttle service is a very nice feature.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    69
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
17
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fiskeville, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed in a king room with king pull-out couch. The bed was OK. Not the best I've ever slept in, and didn't necessarily have a good night's rest. The breakfast buffet served in the morning was decent. All the basics including a waffle maker, eggs, oatmeal, breads/muffins/bagels, coffee and beverages.

The only complaints about the room was that when I arrived, there was a HUGE, nasty bug in the shower. It looked kind of like a cricket, but it wasn't. Similar to a comment another reviewer made, the hot water from the sink took forever to come on. Also, when going through the hotel's in-room booklet, the comment card provided had been filled out by a guest that had stayed in that room over 2 weeks ago. That says to me they aren't actually paying attention to those cards. I left it out after the first night hoping room service would take it, but they folded it back up and put it back into the guide!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very clean rooms with a wet bar-type setup with sink, microwave and mini-fridge. Huge sofa sleeper in our king size bed room. No separation between the sleeping area and office area as in a few of the other suite hotels, but we weren't there on business so that didn't matter. Complimentary breakfast is pretty standard with breads, oatmeal, waffle maker, etc. The scrambled eggs were cold, but they get an A for the attempt. Certainly enough food to get you going in the morning. My only complaint is the hot water in the bathroom sink took forever to show up. Luckily the hot water worked fine in the shower. Great value for the price. Several restaurants nearby, but this is not a walkable neighborhood. Plan to drive everywhere. Pool isn't really big enough to swim laps, but they have a respectable exercise room with sturdy treadmills.

Room Tip: We were given the option of which floor, so we asked for anything not on the first floor. We were gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed just one night for business in Tyson's Corner, and this hotel was convenient, clean, and well priced. The room was large and comfortable, and the breakfast was very good. If you have a car, it's an excellent alternative to staying closer in to Tyson's, and much more reasonable. We will use this hotel on future business trips to Northern Virginia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a mostly no-frills facility. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the service is good, and the staff treated me with respect and attention. The free shuttle to nearby locations is convenient and timely.

No, there's no restaurant here. Sadly, the towels aren't all that soft and comfy. I've stayed here a couple of times, and would certainly stay again. It is what it is, and I've stayed in far worse.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston for 5 days around our Thanksgiving holiday with our family in Reston. We love the place! We had a large, clean, well-equipped room and a fantastic, delicious hot breakfast each morning. The room has a microwave, a refrigerator, a coffeemaker, and a small kitchen sink. There is a sofa bed too (but we didn't use it). We were on the fourth floor, and it was very quiet, though the hotel appeared to be full. Convenient to walk along the W& OD trail into Reston and Herndon, and great access to restaurants and shops, This hotel is a real price-performer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel pictures are nice on the Internet but experiencing in person is totally different. I did a prepayment in October but got charged again once I checked in. Also they charged me an extra $40 for the weekend. Alex fixed it that Saturday morning after speaking with my bank but I was still charged after I left. I called & spoke with Jeff but he was not pleasant at all. & to think he was the manager. He hung up on me & when I called back a lady answered & said I wanted someone higher than Jeff & she said she couldn't help but put me on hold. Seemed like forever but once she came back she transferred me to the GM. I'm still waiting to hear back from him. My room had several spider webs. While getting dressed early Saturday morning my daughter seen a big spider & was terrified!! I killed it but housekeeping shouldn't just be to make beds & empty trash cans. Our sink for the bathroom didn't have any hot water. So to clean the germs of our hands after using to bathroom we had to use the kitchenette sink. The breakfast was terrible. The juice machine didn't have any juice. Well I'm sorry it did but they needed to refill it because it was only giving watered down juice. The eggs were horrible. They looked FAKE & microwaveable. The sausage wasn't fresh. The experience was the worst I've ever experienced with any hotel. My daughter dance team picked here to stay for there dance convention. But I already spoke to the owner of the team to make sure we will never give our money to this hotel again. Customer service is everything to me because I'm in management & Jeff really upset me by hanging up.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are certainly thankful and we value feedback from each of our guests regarding their experience during their visits. We always take concerns seriously and strive to make improvements.

It is pleasing to know many guests highlight our online pictures as being indicative of our newly renovated property. We are also delighted to know that our location is preferred. The close proximity to the Reston Town Center, Dulles International Airport, and other businesses tend to position us as a favorite by many guests.

We encourage our guests to provide credit cards to establish credit at check-in because authorizing debit cards creates a credit hold on your personal funds by your bank for up to 10 business days. Upon departure, if a credit hold issue occurs with your funds due to the use of your debit card, we are more than happy to assist our guests and work diligently with your bank to ensure funds are released as soon as possible. We realize that if such instances occur, it can be frustrating and for that we empathize. Also, we are happy to know that Alex was helpful in addressing debit card balance concerns.

We also have a routine insect-pest elimination service in place to eliminate any mutual concerns. In addition, our Housekeeper’s have consistently been rated in the top tier of guest satisfaction surveys.

Finally, thanks for providing specific feedback about our breakfast. We recently implemented a pilot breakfast program. With your feedback considered, we can better move to a breakfast program standard that fits your needs.

We pride ourselves on having superb customer service from all associates and management. As indicated, current guest satisfaction scores display results above and beyond the norm in this area. Also, we service large groups monthly and they say we provide excellent service essential to the success of their event.

Again, we value your feedback and care about your opinion. We will continue to consider your thoughts and we will continue to make operational improvements. Consequently, we look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Address: 138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Herndon
#17 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston provides easy access to the Reston Town Center, downtown Herndon and is located only 22 miles from the monuments and historical landmarks of Washington D.C. Guest suites are innovatively laid out, stylishly furnished and smartly designed to give travelers the flexibility needed to work efficiently and relax comfortably. Guests enjoy new hot and healthy breakfast options and comfortable suites appointed with mini kitchenettes, separate work spaces and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.