We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Day Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet + Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“5 Day Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston for 5 days around our Thanksgiving holiday with our family in Reston. We love the place! We had a large, clean, well-equipped room and a fantastic, delicious hot breakfast each morning. The room has a microwave, a refrigerator, a coffeemaker, and a small kitchen sink. There is a sofa bed too (but we didn't use it). We were on the fourth floor, and it was very quiet, though the hotel appeared to be full. Convenient to walk along the W& OD trail into Reston and Herndon, and great access to restaurants and shops, This hotel is a real price-performer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    78
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
23
11
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel pictures are nice on the Internet but experiencing in person is totally different. I did a prepayment in October but got charged again once I checked in. Also they charged me an extra $40 for the weekend. Alex fixed it that Saturday morning after speaking with my bank but I was still charged after I left. I called & spoke with Jeff but he was not pleasant at all. & to think he was the manager. He hung up on me & when I called back a lady answered & said I wanted someone higher than Jeff & she said she couldn't help but put me on hold. Seemed like forever but once she came back she transferred me to the GM. I'm still waiting to hear back from him. My room had several spider webs. While getting dressed early Saturday morning my daughter seen a big spider & was terrified!! I killed it but housekeeping shouldn't just be to make beds & empty trash cans. Our sink for the bathroom didn't have any hot water. So to clean the germs of our hands after using to bathroom we had to use the kitchenette sink. The breakfast was terrible. The juice machine didn't have any juice. Well I'm sorry it did but they needed to refill it because it was only giving watered down juice. The eggs were horrible. They looked FAKE & microwaveable. The sausage wasn't fresh. The experience was the worst I've ever experienced with any hotel. My daughter dance team picked here to stay for there dance convention. But I already spoke to the owner of the team to make sure we will never give our money to this hotel again. Customer service is everything to me because I'm in management & Jeff really upset me by hanging up.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are certainly thankful and we value feedback from each of our guests regarding their experience during their visits. We always take concerns seriously and strive to make improvements.

It is pleasing to know many guests highlight our online pictures as being indicative of our newly renovated property. We are also delighted to know that our location is preferred. The close proximity to the Reston Town Center, Dulles International Airport, and other businesses tend to position us as a favorite by many guests.

We encourage our guests to provide credit cards to establish credit at check-in because authorizing debit cards creates a credit hold on your personal funds by your bank for up to 10 business days. Upon departure, if a credit hold issue occurs with your funds due to the use of your debit card, we are more than happy to assist our guests and work diligently with your bank to ensure funds are released as soon as possible. We realize that if such instances occur, it can be frustrating and for that we empathize. Also, we are happy to know that Alex was helpful in addressing debit card balance concerns.

We also have a routine insect-pest elimination service in place to eliminate any mutual concerns. In addition, our Housekeeper’s have consistently been rated in the top tier of guest satisfaction surveys.

Finally, thanks for providing specific feedback about our breakfast. We recently implemented a pilot breakfast program. With your feedback considered, we can better move to a breakfast program standard that fits your needs.

We pride ourselves on having superb customer service from all associates and management. As indicated, current guest satisfaction scores display results above and beyond the norm in this area. Also, we service large groups monthly and they say we provide excellent service essential to the success of their event.

Again, we value your feedback and care about your opinion. We will continue to consider your thoughts and we will continue to make operational improvements. Consequently, we look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

These hotels try, but at the end, you pay for the inconveniences of no restaurant and having to drive to get a decent meal. Rooms were what you would expect. A lot of hallway noise as well as you can literally hear the person in the next room move about, and as for the shower etc it is obtrusive. "Breakfast" was all plastic, which I believe extended to the food. Why places like this put out reconstituted eggs made several hours earlier I'll never understand, and the "meat product" was totally unidentifiable. Tables are small and too many for the space, so it is very crowded. And why Marriott properties (all of them, not just this brand) have the WORST coffee imaginable I just don't understand. I'm no coffee snob but the stuff is undrinkable. All in all, not a good place and not worthy of the price that is for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We greatly appreciate feedback from our guests that allow us an opportunity to better understand needs and to work continually to improve the services that are offered daily. We take the concerns of our guests very seriously and we work diligently to revise and renew efforts to address challenges quickly as they may arise.

It is good to know that the room was up to your expectations. Our commitment is to keep this area acceptable for our guests.

We are delighted to announce that our breakfast features variety of new items, such as refreshing citrus water, rich, broccoli cheddar strata, fresh fruit, and other selections. This is a welcomed change at the property.

We have certainly heard your concerns and are addressing them. We make certain to label each of our dishes and to keep them refreshed throughout the serving of breakfast each morning. We are continuing to make improvements to our food options on a regular basis.

Furthermore, thank you for your comments regarding the lobby as we are considering and planning changes that would offer more space and greater comfort. This observation helps us further establish that there is a need to make a positive change.

At Marriott, we pride ourselves on providing the best guest service and offering satisfactory products. We value your thoughts and strive to continue making adjustments to meet our guests’ needs.

We trust that you believe we care about the opinions of all our guests. We look forward to providing hotel accommodations at the Herndon SpringHill Suites in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Was attending a class nearby so location to resaurants, Whole Foods etc is great. Hotel staff, services, were excellent--attentive. They are a pilot location for a new "healthy" breakfast, which included fresh fruit, greek yogurt and a good selection of teas, hope this stays! Limited hours on the indoor pool and the workout equipment was disappointing(no stationary bike) , they said they may be closing pool and adding more equipment---my suggestion is they add pool 7-10am to the 4-10pm and just get a bike or two!.

Room Tip: Rooms adjoining the "other " hotel maybe quieter, but the highway is far enough away not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Second time here due to work...and service is like clockwork. Five star hotels run like this and it is such a surprise when the staff at this hotel duplicate top service.

Great bargain for a hotel outside of DC. We stay here for work but stay afterwards... we enjoy the Reston Town Center for late dinners and spend the entire morning and day in DC. For your money, this is the ONLY way to go. Hotel shuttle picks you up at Dulles, will take you to Reston bus($1.80 cash only) which is a short trip to the Metro. Within an hour you are walking around the museums or monuments.

Metro is well marked and very easy to get about - BUT buying a fare card here borders on crazy. It is one maze after another and it does not make sense to a "tourist". On the positive side, Metro employees, for the most part, will come over to walk you through the steps and or assist.

Back to hotel...room is very comfortable; breakfast included is average to good and fresh coffee is always on hand in the lobby.

Again - this is once of the best buys if you want to see a little of VA and a lot of DC; great buy and amazing service. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice SpringHill Suites close to Dulles International Airport. Nice size room. Very comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet is better than average with a very good selection. It is included in the price. If you are traveling on a budget, book a weekend stay. The price is considerably less than on weekdays and the hotel is close enough to Washington D.C. for sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here because it was close to Dulles Airport and had a shuttle bus. Walking distance to Reston Square on a people pathway. Hotel was comfy and had a small kitchen that we didn't use. Free internet in the lobby with a so so breakfast. Without a car you are limited in what you can do. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Address: 138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Herndon
#17 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston provides easy access to the Reston Town Center, downtown Herndon and is located only 22 miles from the monuments and historical landmarks of Washington D.C. Guest suites are innovatively laid out, stylishly furnished and smartly designed to give travelers the flexibility needed to work efficiently and relax comfortably. Guests enjoy new hot and healthy breakfast options and comfortable suites appointed with mini kitchenettes, separate work spaces and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.