We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location outside Washington DC, kid friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location outside Washington DC, kid friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great hotel for the money! Convenient location to commute to DC, only 10 miles away from a subway station with $5 parking. Good complimentary hot breakfast, free Internet, indoor pool, and onsite laundry. Clean, spacious and kid friendly. The only negative is the parking. If you arrive after 9:00 PM, there isn't an empty parking space in the lot. Great experience for our family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    73
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
21
10
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Nice bright room, with vibrant colors and unique layout. Clean, comfortable. Welcoming and friendly front desk staff. Clean, modern lobby.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I thought that this hotel may be a bit far out of DC, but it was just fine it you have a car. Clean, family friendly, good breakfast. There are a few places around to get the essentials that you may have forgotten and several places to eat. Overall good choice for 30+ girl scouts and mommies on a tour of the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Run
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this property for 7 days during the first week of July. In our opinion, it is a great property if you're not in a rush to get into DC. The hotel shuttle will only take you to the bus station, NOT the metro (it is about 30 min. on a good day). The metro ride is another 45 to 60 min. depending on where you are going in DC. Be safe and leave yourself a 2 hr. window. The time factor is a trade off for the free parking ($35+/night at downtown hotels), free breakfast, and the numerous reasonably priced restaurants and groceries in the area (rare in DC). Ask the desk staff for a map of the area. Also, kudos to the housekeeping staff. Our room and public areas were spotless. The room was spacious and comfortable. If you need any additional towels or bedding, just ask one of the housekeepers on your floor. The breakfast was varied and substantial, but arrive early (served 6 to 9 weekdays, 6 to 10 weekends). Noise, ice, and laundry facilities were somewhat of an issue; however, during the week of July 4th, a major storm hit the DC area and this hotel (one of the few not affected) was full every night with families who were without power for almost a week. Although it was sometimes inconvenient, we were impressed that the hotel was so accommodating to the local community. We were very pleased with all aspects of this SpringHill Suites and would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Arrive at breakfast between 6:00 and 7:00!!! If staying in the city later than 9:00 pm be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was an extended stay covering the week of July 4.

Great location away from the hassle of DC but within 20 minutes of the Metro rail (a new silver line will be opening in 2013 which will make the location even better). Plenty of restaurants in the area with a wide variety of ethnic food options. The room was comfortable and the pool was OK and even includes a life guard. Now for the rest of the story: thin walls, staff seems to have no care or concern for complaints regarding out of control kids running the hallways, ice machines worked sometimes and not others, breakfast is an absolute zoo if you do not get there right when they open, towels provided for 3 in a room that sleeps 4, narrow parking and so on. For the rate I received I would probably stay here again but I was hoping and expecting better

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were in town for a wedding reception in Tyson's Corner - we stayed here for 2 nights. It's a quick 20 min drive to the Tyson's area and about 45 min drive to Washington DC (obviously during weekends and non peak hours) - Since I have lived in the area for 3+ years, driving around this hotel and town was a non-issue. The Hotel seems to be pretty newly remodeled. Very nice,bright, clean interiors. The rooms are spacious and have a Microwave and a mini-fridge - its a pretty big deal for us since we have a 14 month old. The staff provided a crib and they also give a small squishy bath toy :) - The free breakfast is decent - just your average fare. The only odd thing about our room was the AC - it felt like it turned off in the middle of the night and we actually had to go and turn it off/on again to make it work - it was weird and happened both nights. Overall - for the price it is a great value - especially if know the area well enough to drive and dont mind staying about 30 miles away from DC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed in this hotel last weekend (Friday,Saturday) with my 2 adult children.Not to far from the metro in Falls Church need to be able to drive there from the hotel. If you are planning to go into DC for the day and not want to come back and forth to the hotel this hotel is good to stay in. My family lives in the area so i had simple directions to the metro,Tysons Corner ,Reston Town Center. If not familiar with the area it is relatively simple to get around but you definitely need a car. I didnt ride the bus but that is available also. . This is the second summer I have stayed in the area will do it again. Hotel was clean, nice room felt comfortable. Free parking was a plus also. The room was big enough for us to spend time in,free wi-fi ,refrigerator,microwave and sink was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Address: 138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Herndon
#16 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston provides easy access to the Reston Town Center, downtown Herndon and is located only 22 miles from the monuments and historical landmarks of Washington D.C. Guest suites are innovatively laid out, stylishly furnished and smartly designed to give travelers the flexibility needed to work efficiently and relax comfortably. Guests enjoy new hot and healthy breakfast options and comfortable suites appointed with mini kitchenettes, separate work spaces and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.