We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Plus: Clean, bright, well-furnished and well-equipped (free Wifi, refrig., micro, workstation desk, and sofa bed). Best breakfasts too! Very reasonable rates (we paid $64). They handled the Thanksgiving holiday crowd very well.
Negative: Easy access from Fairfax County Parkway (just off rt. 7100), but difficult to return to the parkway (no left turn out of hotel parking lot).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    80
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
60
25
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Terrible stay! Nov 11-13. First night, people were running up and down the halls screaming and banging on doors, arguing. Staff had to hear them since it was first floor around the corner from the desk. They did nothing. Toilet ran all night. Complained the next morning. No manager on duty for whole weekend. Came back to room after a day of sightseeing and toilet not fixed. Complained and they sent someone down. Fixed toilet and 1 hour later, bathroom ceiling starts leaking. Above us the toilet overflowed. Called desk and demanded new room. Moved to 3rd floor. Next night, van full of kids check in and the noise begins again. Desk does nothing so we open window and scream at them to be quiet (1:00 am) Check out day we are told manager will contact us by e-mail. He does offer us 1 night free room next stay. Emailed him back and said no, we had 4 people sharing this room. He e-mails back and says nothing else he can do. We ask for a credit of 1 night that we paid for and he agreed. Very bad stay. The staff cannot make a decision on their own. The manager only converses by e-mail. I only stay at Marriotts however this one will be marked off our list. Never again!

Room Tip: Staff does not speak to people that are loud. We did not get any sleep while there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
321 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

No kidding...they pick you up at Dulles.
They take you into Town Center which is packed with restaurants, shops, bars.
They take you to the closest bus which is a 20 minute ride to DC Metro (subway).
SpringHill Suites just can't be beat because of the shuttle and the upfront, go get em customer service.
The breakfast is included and good. Coffee is in room and 24/7 at entry door of hotel.
Room is modernized with very stylish decor and beautiful black and white shots of the DC sights.
Rate during work week is very good BUT the rate on weekend is a total steal of a deal.
If you want to hit DC but need to go reasonable to under a 100 a night - this is the place.

Room Tip: Nothing thrilling to see out windows so just avoid the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in October of 2011. In general, the property is very nice. The rooms seem to be updated and clean. Even though it is not a full suite (only a half wall between the beds and the living area), the extra room was extremely valuable. We had our two kids with us and letting them sleep while we could be in a separate area was nice. The room also had a small refrigerator and microwave so, if we wanted to, we could save leftovers to eat the following day. The breakfast was ok. Eggs, sausage, make-your-own waffles, yogurt, cereal, etc. Not the best, but more than a basic continental breakfast. The pool was a disappointment. For some reason, the heater was not working for the water but they still let people swim. So the pool was way too cold for swimming. The hot tub was about the right temperature that the pool should have been. That was a pretty big disappointment for the kids. The beds were also very soft and not comfortable for four straight nights. We got a room with a connecting door to the next room. This turned out to be a disaster. Because it was a doorway and not a full wall, we could hear literally everything going on next door. This was a particular problem because on one night, there was music and talking going on past midnight. If you do stay here, I would request a room WITHOUT the adjoining room door. The staff was nice and the lobby was comfortable.

Room Tip: Select a room WITHOUT adjoining rooms (unless you are with a group) to reduce noise at night from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The best part: a terrific AAA rate. For that price, it was an awesome place. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfy. The breakfast was free and pretty good. Free parking, free Internet. Water pressure was fine. There was a little food shop for late-night snacking. THe down side was 3-4 busloads of soccer players and a good supply of partying dudes staying there on the Sat night I was there, but you can find that anywhere... I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed here as an alternative to the pricey Hyatt at the Reston Town Center. The Sprinhill Suites Herndon met my expectations for a decent, clean, large room that is somewhat on the lower end of amenities.

The good:
- Nice large room
- Very clean
- Comfortable bed
- Nice big flatscreen TV with plentiful HD channels
- Decent free internet
- Decent free breakfast
- Plentiful free parking

The less good:
- Under-the-window ac unit was a bit noisy coming on and off throughout the night
- Towels were pretty cheap
- Odd bathroom layout, one room for sink and another for toilet/shower

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed at this location for 3 days. I love the fact that it literally sits outside of the city police station, so safety is a no-brainer. This isn't the first Springhill Suites I've stayed in, but it is my least favorite. I've never stayed in a hotel where the bath towel and face towels not only don't match, but were really thin and cheap feeling. There was something that looked similar to a phone jack about 5 feet up on the wall that was hanging off as if somebody attempted to fix it and forgot about it. Out of the 3 days there, we returned one evening and our room hadn't been cleaned at all. I put the '"do not disturb" sign on the door at night only to be awaken by housekeeping trying to enter the room at 8am. The breakfast was ok. The usual waffles, powdered eggs, and some grey looking meat patties that there were passing off as sausage. I didn't utilize the pool or weight room, but I thought it was odd that they had an Enterprise Rent A Car in the hotel just off the lobby. I did use the "business area" by the front door and was surprised by how old the computer was. I got this hotel at a wonderful rate of $64 a night and that was the only thing that made it worthwhile. It sits in a beautiful suburb with a Target just down the street that we used to purchase soft drinks for the fridge. This place gives you the feel of a Motel 6 with a Springhill Suites sign outside. I won't stay at this location on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herndon
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#9 of 20 in Herndon
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Hyatt Regency Reston
#1 of 4 in Reston
4.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Herndon Reston
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston

Address: 138 Spring Street, Herndon, VA 20170
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston provides easy access to the Reston Town Center, downtown Herndon and is located only 22 miles from the monuments and historical landmarks of Washington D.C. Guest suites are innovatively laid out, stylishly furnished and smartly designed to give travelers the flexibility needed to work efficiently and relax comfortably. Guests enjoy new hot and healthy breakfast options and comfortable suites appointed with mini kitchenettes, separate work spaces and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Herndon Reston Hotel Herndon
Herndon Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.