We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast and Friendly Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waffle King's Virginia Kitchen

Waffle King's Virginia Kitchen
450 Elden St, Herndon, VA 20170-4513
703-471-0808
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 178 restaurants in Herndon
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Other than having to wait on weekend mornings this is a great place. There are a wide variety of breakfast selections and the usual diner type selections. I'm a local and this is one of my favorite places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    15
    21
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Check out the specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We usually do breakfast here.... Check out the special sheet! They use fresh local fruit and they make their own jam as well. Stuffed french toast is a winner! Steak and eggs is the hubbies favorite and a great deal! Friendly staff who feel like family s a plus.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Southern style breakfast place but friendlier if you are a local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the most popular place for breakfast in Herndon. The food is very good and a great selection. There is always a wait to be seated weekend mornings.What I have found is that they are very friendly to the locals the people from Herndon more so than people from out of state. We go to this area about every 6 weeks and most often come to this restaurant.They have great spcials.The only bad is thier mushy home fries.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent food, though unremarkable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was looking forward to eating here based on the previous reviews, but my experience was a little more lackluster. The service was definitely friendly and the atmosphere is casual and appropriate for a diner. The menu is pretty extensive, with all the breakfast combinations you might expect, and the food is solidly in diner / comfort food territory. The quality of the food was pretty uneven. I split the Country Boy and the combo with the waffle (named after someone -- can't remember the name of the dish). The eggs and hashbrowns were good, the home fries and one of the sausages was just kind of mushy, the biscuits and gravy were solid but unremarkable, the waffle tasted good but was pretty hard, the coffee was disappointingly flavorless. All in all, enjoyed the meal in the way that I enjoy breakfast places generally, but I won't go out of my way to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, awesome service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've only been there once but i'll definitely go there again.
Were caring waitress, quick Service, never ran out of their delicious coffee and the breakfast was excellent and in very big portions.
Hope i'll get to go there again soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waffle King's Virginia Kitchen also viewed

Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Herndon, Fairfax County

Been to Waffle King's Virginia Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waffle King's Virginia Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.