We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony and Milena's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tony and Milena's
2364 George Washington Memorial Hwy, Hayes, VA 23072
(804) 684-0708
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 restaurants in Hayes
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Awesome Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wow! We were steered here by my folks who live nearby. The food is awesome, we had everything from pizza to pasta dishes, all well done and generous portion sizes. Don't let the non descript location throw you off, the food and service are excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    23
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bena,VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“A destination restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

An unexpected gem of a small, family run restaurant located in the small strip mall across from York Crossing Shopping Center, about 2 miles north of the York River bridge, on route 17. Travelers heading for Washington DC and points north can enjoy a double treat-avoiding the noxious drive from Tidewater north on the interstate 64/95-by taking route 17 and 301 all the way to DC, on a pleasant, uncrowded road. An easy stop for a meal with the Fiorello family makes the trip a memorable one.

As a local resident, my wife (an authentic Italian girl) and I are regular customers and big fans of the cooking and personality of this restaurant. The dishes are prepared with care and expertise in choosing really good ingredients (some are shipped from Italy-and are worth it). I do miss the pizza Margherita made with buffalo mozzarella (mozzarella di bufala)-they now use very good fresh normal mozzerella instead.

They make exceptional mussels in white wine-appetizers and very imaginative specialtiy entrees-especially veal and seafood. They also offer very good American food-their Philly cheese steak is my favorite. A selection of both Italian and American style pizza is comprehensive and well-prepared. Their lasagna is first class and is my favorite dish .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I love Tony and Milena's! Excellent food! Wonderful, friendly service!

We have been coming here since they opened. Just AWESOME!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

A little known secret in Hayes, authentic Italian in a strip mall. It is a wonderful experience and great food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Truly authentic Italian food, super nice people! Small but worth the wait if there is one.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony and Milena's also viewed

 

Been to Tony and Milena's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony and Milena's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.