We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Pub Grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Lion Hotel Restaurant

The Black Lion Hotel Restaurant
Swan Square, Llanfair Talhaiarn, Abergele LL22 8RY, Wales
01745 720205
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: High quality home cooked food is at the heart of what we do at The Black Lion, our aim is to provide our customers with high quality food using the best local produce, and our food can be complemented with our real ales and fine wines from around the world.The Black Lion is situated in an official area of "outstanding natural beauty" & only six miles from the coast, so we are close to the some of the most beautiful countryside in Wales as well as the seaside!Our outside seating area sits on the banks on the river Elwy and we are surrounded by stunning countryside, so even if your only stop is at The Black Lion you can still enjoy some of the most beautiful scenery Wales has to offer. Netti, Tudor & the team would like to welcome all to The Black Lion & they look forward to making your stay with us both enjoyable & memorable. With our high quality food and accommodation, real ales, fine wines from around the world and our speciality coffees, there will be something for all in our beautiful country pub!
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beyond Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We called in to the Black Lion on spec on a recent trip to Wales and was very impressed with the location, decor, atmosphere and the food. We were made very welcome and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us on a very busy night. The menu was varied and the food was delicious. Well worth a visit. Will be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    21
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“nettie is brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

we have a holidayday home near to the "lion", and when we are in residence, we always book a table in advance because it is so popular,you cannot just go in on chance! the quality of the food is first class, as is the cooking and service. sometimes,you do have to wait for your meal,but, that is because everything is cooked freshly to order, and if you have never tried netties cheesy mash or barbqued chicken or salmon you are missing out in life!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Brilliant, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A visit to the Black Lion was recommended by a friend and I must say we were very impressed, the food was fantastic. My husband and I both had the steak and ale pie, which came with vegetables and a choice of chips or mozzarella mash, we had one of each so that we could try both. The food was all beautifully cooked and presented and was piping hot, we were so impressed that we have already planned our return visit. They also had 2 real ales on which as far as we are concerned is the icing on the cake

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

very nice pub/ hotel was our second visit lovely rooms very clean , good food, but too many smothered in sauces which are v rich/ powerfull i had the potatoe and leek soup twice heavenly! meals are a bit pricey but on the whole a v good pleasant relaxing stay .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Went to the Black Lion Sunday 22nd Sept 2013 with my son his girlfriend and my daughter. We booked for 3pm and it wasn't too busy. We each had the Sunday Roast with different meats and all had puddings. the main meal was wonderful, lots of vegetables, and the creamed mash potatoes were heavenly!
My daughter and I had the profiteroles which were fresh and served with plenty of chocolate sauce and fresh cream.
This pub/restaurant is well worth a visit, set in a beautiful small village next to a bubbling brook, all the staff were warm and very friendly. Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Lion Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Abergele, Conwy County
Abergele, Conwy County
 
Abergele, Conwy County
Abergele, Conwy County
 

Been to The Black Lion Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Lion Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.