We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1560 Country Club Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
New Carrollton, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight for his birthday and I was pleasantly surprised!! The room was amazing. Queen sized bed, kitchenette with everything you could possibly need, make sure you check the microwave because there is a hidden bag of popcorn inside. When we checked in they asked floor preference and advised us that they were on the honor system, there was free coffee and tea and a small convience store area in which after making your selections, you paid at the front desk. There was also a lending area where you could sign out games, larger appliances like crock pots, vacuum cleaner etc, they also had a selection of dvd movies in which you could check out. They had a nice display of restaurant menus in the area which was quite helpful in making our meal selection, and they were mostly located right down the street, so the convenience is amazing. The only problem we had was around 8:30 am housekeeping attempted to come into our room even though we had our magnet stating we were sleeping on the door, luckily we had the security lock in place. We loved that they had a late check out 12 noon and we will definitely be coming back for another stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Ronnette,

Thank you so much for choosing the Candlewood Suites to spend your husband's specail birthday evening with us. We sincerely appreciate the wonderful review and hope you will continue to stay with us and other Candlewood Suites when you travel. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    38
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
36
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed one night on my way through town on vacation. My wife and I were both happy with this hotel. There is a seperate bedroom, nice size kitchen area, large living room and pretty large bathroom. There is a TV in both the bedroom and the living room. If I were staying in Harrisonburg a few days, this would definately be the place I would stay. The kitchen had pots, pans, glasses, silver ware and more in the pantry for our use. We ate at a mexican restaurant right on the corner - nothing great - but not bad either. For the money we spent, we received good value - I have recieved a lot less during my travels. Only negative - smoking and non smoking were on the same floor. They were separated by a glass door, but you could smell the smoke in the hallway at times. that is my only complaint. The rooms were clean, the area was safe, and it was right off of the 81 freeway. Good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit to Harrisonburg and for recommending Candlewood Suites to future travelers. Your comments and business is truly appreciated and we do hope to see you soon!

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Va
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for nearly 3 months while working a new job. Though housekeeping was an issue at first. Tanya was on employee that you could count on. When my wife and kids visit she treated them just as wonderful. She was great and tended to my every need. She is without a doubt the reason I would rate this hotel an excellent place to stay. A consummate professional. Should I have an opening with my company she would be one I would want on my team. Thank you Tanya and Candlewood Suites

Room Tip: Ask for Tanya. Rooms on three floor non-smoking are NICE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Jen,

Thank you so much for making Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg your home for the past 3 months and for the great review! Tanya is a fabulous part of our property and I will make sure she knows about your kind comments about her. We truly value your business and look forward to making your home away from home very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, Usa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff were wonderful. Tanya was at the front desk when we arrived and verified our room request. She was so warm and welcoming. Tanya went on to explain all the amenities that the hotel offered. There was no charge for use of the washers and dryers (you only had to have detergent, was available for a nominal price). Small electrics for the kitchen could be borrowed, they also had dvds available to lend. The room was equipped with a dvd/vcr combination. The room was spotless, and had a refrigerator, 2 ring stove, microwave (they even provided a bag of popcorn) dishwasher (provided detergent), sink, kitchen essentials i.e. plates, cups, glasses, paper towels, etc. A dishrag and dishcloth was also provided. There was a toaster in the room. It was just a great place for a great price. Room was close to everything, but tucked slightly out of the way of the busy area. I would certainly stay here again and plan to look for their Suites on our next adventure. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review from your recent trip to Harrisonburg. We sincerely appreciate the kind words about Tanya and that you would recommend our property to future visitors. I do hope to see you soon!

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Clean, well accommodated and great staff!
Tanya was a great help with our stay. I made a mistake in our reservations and she was able to fix it for us.
Did not have spoons in the room but was provided them at the front desk.
Having a full kitchen/fridge made the stay much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Candlewood Suites during your travels to the Shenandoah Valley and for the great review! I will definitely pass along the wonderful comments about Tanya to her. We truly appreciate your business and your recommendation to future travelers to Harrisonburg.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Most impressive was the front desk staff especially Tanya! And that is not saying how clean the hotel was. Room was spacious even with a full kitchen there. One of the best places I have ever stayed and would definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Stayed right next to the front desk, lobby and it was still very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Candlewood Suites during your travels to the Shenandoah Valley and for the great review! I will definitely pass along the wonderful comments about Tanya to her. We truly appreciate your business and your recommendation to future travelers to Harrisonburg.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I found this Candlewood Suites on line when I was preparing for an extended stay in the area for a project that I was working on. When I arrived I was very impressed with the appearance of the hotel and even more so with my one bedroom suite. It really felt like home to me and having a full kitchen was a real plus. When I am in the area again, I will surely stay at this location. I would also like to give honorable mention to Chris and Tanya who took excellent care of my needs at the front desk and made my stay there even more pleasurable. I would also like to thank Ken, the operations manager for helping me after I left to locate some items that I had left behind.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Hirsh,

Thank you so much for choosing Candlewood Suites Harrisonburgyour second home for the last three months. I will make sure Chris, Tanya and Ken know about the wonderful words you posted about them. We do hope to see you the next time your in town.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg

Address: 1560 Country Club Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#5 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#8 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg Hotel is the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is easy with voice mail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access, and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library to enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Staying fit? Enjoy our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. Traveling with pets? We re a pet friendly hotel too. Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg is nearby to many of the area's local businesses: Coors, Merck, RR Donnelly, Walker Manufacturing, SYSCO, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Tyson Foods, SI International and Cargill. Colleges and Universities nearby are: James Madison University, Bridgewater College, and Eastern Mennonite University. Local attractions: Shenandoah National Park, Massannutten Ski Resort, Luray Caverns, Natural Bridge, Skyline Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Harrisonburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.