We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1560 Country Club Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Cozy Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend after a long afternoon skiing at nearby Massanutten Resorts (20 minutes away). We booked the hotel with a deal through an online third-party website, and we were blown away by the quality of the place. The evening manager was very efficient, simultaneously handling phone calls and our check-in without making us feel overlooked in any way. We were impressed to see a collection of DVDs at the front desk available for guests to borrow, observed that the small gym was quite clean and had a variety of machines available, and there was a small "convenience center" with drinks and snacks available to purchase on the honor system.

Our room was wonderful! It had a full-sized refrigerator, a microwave, dishwasher, sink, various dishes, a small table and chair, a recliner, and a queen-sized bed. The whole suite was very clean and fresh-feeling. Our guess is that the hotel is not very old or was updated recently as it was quite modern. I didn't want to leave the bed or the feather pillows (other pillow types were also available) and there were plenty of cable choices on the flat screen LG tv. One could be very comfortable staying here for a week, but we only stayed one night.

There are plenty of restaurants and shops in the area, and it's very close to the JMU campus.

If you're looking for quality without breaking the bank, this is the place to stay! We will definitely come again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 200. The view is of a covered patio area, the rear parking lot, and the railroad t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Candlewood Suites during your trip to the Massanutten Ski Resort! We truly appreciate your wonderful review and are so pleased you enjoyed your experience. Thank you again for recommending Candlewood Suites and hope you will choose us during your adventure.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    45
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
42
11
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was our first visit to a Candlewood Suites, and this particular property was a disappointment, as it didn't measure up to competitive properties that we frequent. Mainly, it was sorely in need of a good cleaning. The lobby and elevator carpets appeared to have not seen a vacuum cleaner in a few days, which gave us a very uncomfortable feeling while heading to our room. The room was very small, but we did find it to be clean. The location of this hotel was also of concern, as it is positioned way back behind a Loew's, and the lighting in the parking lot is minimal.

The staff was very friendly - arriving and departing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Ron R,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. At the Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, we work hard to create a great value for our guests. When we do not, it does cause me concern. Your comments will be reviewed by our team. Comments made by you and others continue to help us Create a Great Hotel Guests Love.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have stayed at this property a couple times and I have got to say, it is so worth it! The staff is so friendly and the Manager's are always visible. We have a pet and it just works for us with the kitchen and space. Get the One Bedroom Suite, when you have a dog and the space is worth the extra $20.00 they charge per night. Truly recommend this property to pet lovers and extended stay travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for returning to the Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg and for the great review! We sincerely appreciate you recommending extended stay guests and pet lovers to come to our property. I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

after coming up from Asheville (and staying an awful place there) we were more than thrilled that Candlewood was clean and the beds were great and the ice maker was filled! Really great place and we got a great rate. Right off the highway and I cannot say enough how happy we were with it for our only one night. Definitely stay at any one of their hotels, based on our experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Kim H,

Thank you so much for choosing the Candlewood Suites during your travels through Harrisonburg from Asheville. I am very pleased to learn you would recommend the Candlewood Suites to future travelers and that you will look for us during your next trip. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Harrisonburg.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Booked this room online without ever having stayed there. My husband I planned to meet both of our children there (they are both in college) to spend the weekend together. Hotel location was very convenient to restaurants and shopping. Rooms were very spacious and had a kitchenette. Very pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg while visiting your children in college. I am very pleased to learn you were pleasantly surprised with the property and that you would recommend our brand to future travelers. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Harrisonburg.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Nyack, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our last stay at the Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg was not as good as previous ones. It's convenient to US 81, but it is looking a little tired. Same problems with housekeeping as before. Not sparkling clean. Perhaps also because of the location of our room on the ground floor, the noise level was greater than during a previous stay. We travel this route often. Next time I think I will explore other opportunities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Grammysondra,

Thank you so much for returning to the Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg during your travels on I-81. I do remember your wonderful comment back in July, 2013 and I sincerely apologize that your stay this time did not compare to your previous experiences. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. I was of course concerned to learn that the property is looking tired from your last stay and our Executive Housekeeper has been notified of your housekeeping feedback. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to see you the next time your traveling I-81.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I went with my friends for JMU Homecoming. There was a full size refrigerator, and stove, kitchen etc. it's not like a 4 star hotel or anything, but everyone was really nice, and they had DVDS and board games you could check out in the lobby.

there was a condom wrapper under the bed though actually...kind of gross.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelSandercock, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Cindy K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg. I ampleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us, however it is with great concern that you experienced a housekeeping issue under your bed. Plaese be assured I have noted your comments and will take your feedback as an opportunity for our improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Harrisonburg area.

Warmest Regards,

Michael D. Sandercock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg

Address: 1560 Country Club Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#5 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#9 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg Hotel is the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is easy with voice mail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access, and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library to enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Staying fit? Enjoy our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. Traveling with pets? We re a pet friendly hotel too. Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg is nearby to many of the area's local businesses: Coors, Merck, RR Donnelly, Walker Manufacturing, SYSCO, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Tyson Foods, SI International and Cargill. Colleges and Universities nearby are: James Madison University, Bridgewater College, and Eastern Mennonite University. Local attractions: Shenandoah National Park, Massannutten Ski Resort, Luray Caverns, Natural Bridge, Skyline Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Harrisonburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.