We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1560 Country Club Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Harrisonburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Candlewood while driving home from vacation. Was attracted to it due to the location, price and the fact they took pets. We arrived later in the evening, had a quick check in. When we started to go up to our room, the elevator smelled so strongly of marijuana it actually took our breath away. Someone had just been in there with it, I'm certain. When we got to our room, the beds were rumpled and there was trash in the cans. The front desk immediately apologized and moved us to a new room thy was fine, still not super clean, but ok. Overall, the staff was friendly (although I do think she ha visitors coming in and out to see her, which was strange), and I appreciated the attentiveness to getting us moved quickly. It was an ok stay, but would probably choose elsewhere next time if going through the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg. We are sorry to hear that we had to switch your suite and about the smell in the elevator. Please send an email to Loni@beckcompanyhotels.com with your name so that I can get additional information about your reservation. Thank you again for your review and for your help in making us a better hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
31
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Situated close to Interstate 81 is the Candlewood Suites in Harrisonburg Virginia. This is one of many hotels in Harrisonburg, and one of several that allows pets for a fee. I normally like to have a king-sized bed, but this hotel has no king-sized beds.

The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. You have a little kitchenette as this hotel is designed for an extended stay. I think if I was going skiing and boarding in the area I would use this hotel due to its kitchenette. You get a full sized fridge, a 2-burner stove, a microwave, a sink, and a dishwasher. There are assorted bowls and glasses and cooking items as well. I was just there for a night, so I didn't use any of that stuff. Check-in and check-out were quick, and the staff were kind and welcoming of both me and my dog. This was one of the least expensive hotels in Harrisonburg in the mid-range price category.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite! We are happy to hear that our team was kind and that we were able to take good care of you and your dog. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston md
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Welcoming staff. Rooms and bathroom clean. Facility is well maintained. Pool and hot tub were squared away. Staff was readily available to answer questions. Located right off interstate 81. Has a small selection of food items and personal needs items available for purchase. The workout center has a couple of treadmills, ellipticals, bike and weights. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPhil, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for spending part of your "Xmas vacation" with us. I'm glad to know that the team welcomed you into a clean and well maintained property. I appreciate you taking the time to post this review and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Phil Modisett, CLM
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Candlewood Suites in Harrisonburg is the best! Beautiful suites, great prices, pet friendly. And the management is fantastic! They go out of their way for their guests! I highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPhil, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear pmstoneburner,

Thank you for the fantastic review about our fantastic property. We all look forward to serving you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Phil Modisett, CLM
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Location was perfect for my business trip, just off I-81.
Very convenient to shops and restaurants.
Employees were very friendly and helpful.
Small gym, but got a good workout in.
It was nice to be able to open the window in the room and get fresh air.
Only complaint is the elevator and 3rd floor smelled like stale smoke which was alittle concerning, but the room was fine and perfect for my trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPhil, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Tom M,

Thank you for your review of the Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg. I appreciate you taking the time to let other people know that we are a a "good value."

I'm sorry about the odor of smoke on third floor. That floor has a few smoking rooms. Thanks for saying that your room was fine and perfectly suited to your needs.

The Candlewood Gym defintily has some bang for your buck. Isn't it great to be able to maintain your fitness routine while you're on the road? I know I sure enjoy being able to get a good workout.

Again, thank you for your review and thank you for choosing to stay at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg.

Regards,
Phil Modisett, CLM
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Candlewood Suites in Harrisonburg, VA on our trip south to Naples, Florida. The property is very clean and the employees are very courteous. Chris Myers, manager, even gave us snacks for the road upon our departure. Thought that was very nice. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPhil, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I appreciate your feedback. Chris is the Operations Manager. He takes great care of the guests and really makes my job easier. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg and were able to take some snacks for the road.

Thank you for your review. Safe travels.

Regards,

Phil Modisett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I arrived to find the Candlewood Suites located behind a Loews just off of 81. The room I had was perfect! Clean, spacious, and I could have stayed longer. The staff were all friendly and accommodating. Very convenient to James Madison University, a variety of shopping malls, restaurants, and even a lovely arboretum adjacent to the university. There is no pool, but there is an exercise room and also free washers and dryers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the elevator. Every morning at 10:15am a train comes through, but other tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPhil, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your stellar review. I'll make sure the team knows that you said "The room I had was perfect!" Our hardworking team deserves to know that their efforts are appreciated by you and other guests.

Thank you for staying. Thank you for your review. Safe travels.

Phil Modisett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg

Address: 1560 Country Club Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#5 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg Hotel is the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is easy with voice mail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access, and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library to enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Staying fit? Enjoy our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. Traveling with pets? We re a pet friendly hotel too. Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg is nearby to many of the area's local businesses: Coors, Merck, RR Donnelly, Walker Manufacturing, SYSCO, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Tyson Foods, SI International and Cargill. Colleges and Universities nearby are: James Madison University, Bridgewater College, and Eastern Mennonite University. Local attractions: Shenandoah National Park, Massannutten Ski Resort, Luray Caverns, Natural Bridge, Skyline Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Harrisonburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.