We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Covenant Drive, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the past month. Both times I was able to get a room on the first floor (103 and 105)-- convenient no steps or elevator. When I go to Harrisonburg, I usually book through Priceline. I have a ceiling price that now selects Country Inn and Suites, but in 2009-2012 the winning motel was almost always Jameson Inn. That local hotel is now a Quality Inn and no longer wins my bid. Country Inn and Suites is a great place to stay-- hot breakfast, indoor swimming pool, exercise room (limited equipment), a USA Today paper and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_HRVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit an excellent review and for staying with us at Country Inn and Suite by Carlson in Harrisonburg, VA. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    59
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
100
45
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We never seem disappointed with this hotel chain, from the moment that you arrive all your needs are catered for, Rooms are spacious and clean, usual amenities are added to with little surprises such as ‘cookies at check in’ or a bottle of water for your room. This particular hotel also has an indoor pool which although small allowed us to have an early morning swim before a long drive. Breakfast is complimentary and offers a wide choice, free internet and a standard late checkout of noon can often be very useful. All in all you are looked after while away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_HRVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Country Inn and Suite by Carlson in Harrisonburg, VA. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our found our hotel to be a home away from home. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Nice place for the price! The staff was courteous. The room was clean and comfortable. The pillows were oddly small but it worked. The room has a mini fridge and microwave. The breakfast was good and had a nice selection.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_HRVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit an excellent review and for staying with us at Country Inn and Suite by Carlson in Harrisonburg, VA. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A storm prevented us from making our trip, and we called to cancel our room reservation, which was made through Hotels.com. We were able to cancel even though it was non-refundable, the hotel allowed us to do so and get a full refund. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Needed a place to stay while attending a family event, and didn't want to spend a fortune on a room where we would barely spend any time. Room was clean, bed and shower were ok; it was convenient to have a mini fridge and microwave in the room. Breakfast buffet was basic, but a nice extra and saved the time it would take to go out for breakfast. Staffing was minimal - staff was busy, but friendly and accommodating. Generous with extra towels (and you'll soon learn why we needed them). The first room we were offered was on the I-81 side with lots of traffic noise. The second had a sopping wet carpet. The third was fine, until a big thunder storm came along and water started pouring in across the top of the ventilation unit. Used all the towels to soak up the rainwater before it hit the rug. The shabby (not chic) comment? Curtains on hallway windows were literally hanging in shreds, carpets showing wear.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the parking lot (back) side to avoid traffic noise from I-81.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bound Brook, New Jersey
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have stayed many times at this hotel. It is especially close to 81 plus close to the campus of JMU. The employees are very pleasant and helpful. We try to stay on the 2nd or 3rd. floor. The breadfast is good. Lots of choice between hot and cold foods.The rooms are clean and plently large enough. Only negative for me are the pillows which are too soft and don't hold your head up.The heat and A/C is in the front wall and is noisey. There is a nice pool for the kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed one night in NOV 2012. What I really liked: extremely convenient to exit 243 off I-81. Nicely appointed lobby. Efficient check-in [paid thru Hotels.com]. Fresh smelling hallways and room. Room included microwave, refrigerator, complementary wireless internet, soft towels. Ice machine worked. Vending machines well-stocked. Laundry available for guests. Superior breakfast included [eggs, bacon, home fries, fresh waffles, pastries, cereals, fresh fruits, milk, juices, coffee, tea]. Very clean indoor pool and whirlpool. What I didn't like: mattress was firmer than I like and, although the pillows were soft, they were smaller than normal [three-across a queen-size bed, rather than two]; powdered coffee creamer in the rooms instead of mini half-and-half cups; I could not completely close the drapes to block out the street lights, my car bottomed out on the entrance into the parking lot, even when moving at a crawl-speed. Overall, this Country Inn and Suites is doing it all right. I will stay here on all future visits to Harrisonburg and will visit other hotels in the chain.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west will be quieter - that is the side opposite the interstate and farther from the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg

Address: 27 Covenant Drive, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Country Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Country Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.