We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff, warm fire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
121 Pleasant Valley Road, I-81 & U.S. 11, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-9726
540 574 3099
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 192 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, warm fire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I visited this Cracker Barrel as soon as it opened on a very cold morning. I was greeted warmly by the hostess and by my waitress, and the roaring fire made the restaurant feel quite comfortable. The waitress, Christina, was as friendly as can be and made the dining experience quite enjoyable. If you're fortunate enough to have her as a waitress, you will not be disappointed. Adding her cheerfulness to the great food and roaring fire, I could not have asked for a better breakfast. Thanks Christina!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very close to hotels and interstate. Restaurant was clean, food was great and the service was excellent !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbilt, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sportsman Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Restaurant was located near our hotel. Good portions of food, and good selection. Nice gift shop and there were snacks to buy for our hotel room for later.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Staying at nearby Microtel. Walked over and had a great meal, very cheap. Was able to take away drinks and bread. Lovely waitress

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Restaurant was not busy so i was seated immediately. Wait staff seemed in a rush for me to eat and be gone - I wasn't given 5 seconds before waitress asked if I knew what I wanted. Maybe that is normal for this chain, I haven't eaten there often.
I thought I would like the corn muffins but they were totally greasy (I picked one up and fingers were instant grease balls!) - didn't taste good.
The pork chop sauce was not to my liking. The fresh veg's were your basic carrots, broccoli and cauliflower.
I was given my bill with my food "for your convenience".

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

Harrisonburg, VA
 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.