We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No really, there IS fine dining in Harrisonburg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joshua Wilton House

Joshua Wilton House
412 S Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3611
540 434 4464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joshua Wilton House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 198 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Campbell Street
Description: Located in an elegantly restored Victorian mansion, Joshua Wilton House is within walking distance of historic downtown Harrisonburg and the campus of James Madison University, offering guests quiet charm and gracious living in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. The Restaurant offers a unique and exquisite a la carte menu that changes with the seasons, along with an extensive selection of beers and an award-winning wine list. Featured are the food products of many small local farms and producers who supply our kitchen with high quality ingredients that simply cannot be found elsewhere. Executive Chef Mark Newsome's philosophy of cooking is to present these wonderful products in a fashion that allows their natural goodness to shine through. During the warmer months, seating is available on the outdoor brick patio. Arrive early and enjoy a cocktail in our lounge before dinner.
Gainesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“No really, there IS fine dining in Harrisonburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My coworkers and I were down here on business, and looked forward to a nice dinner after working all day. We were not disappointed. White tablecloths, starched white dinner napkins, intimate dining rooms. I had the duck breast, which was perfectly cooked. I also had a starter of beet salad, again, fabulous. This restaurant would also be excellent for couples looking for a special night out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    13
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Always Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

When companies come and take my husband and me out to "the fanciest restaurant in town," they often pick this place. I don't know how it got that reputation. The food is good. The portions are small. Miniscule. We have had horrible seats, sometimes we feel like we are sitting in a hallway or closet. After dinner, we always have some snacks to make it through the evening. My appetite isn't that big, and for what you pay, you should go home with leftovers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant - always a solid choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I have have been to the JWH on quite a few occasions. We usually dine here on special occasions with good friends or on our Anniversary. We have never had a bad experience here. It has been our consistent choice for the go-to place for that special dinner. You cannot go wrong here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing gem in Harrisonburg. (Hotel and Food Review)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This quaint, very comfortable five room inn in Harrisonburg features a stellar restaurant and great service. The rooms have very high quality linens and pillows and unlike many other B&B's, have hair dryers, irons/ironing boards, television, gratis wireless internet and thick, fluffy towels. Each room has its own thermostat, which was a godsend in December. Right on Main Street in the historic area of town with great small shops and restaurants nearby. Don't miss the restaurant at dinner! Really good food, very upscale and artfully presented. The sommelier/head waiter has a good grasp of the bottles on hand, some from nearby wineries, others from the western US, Europe and South America. Great for a romantic dinner or a business meeting. Friends who suggested the inn and who live nearby noted that this is the best/only quality restaurant in the area. My husband always has the scallops when he travels here alone for business. The breakfast is notable - the homemade granola is nutty and toasted to perfection and the egg and bacon dishes didn't fail to please us on both days. Freshly squeezed orange juice (large!) also accompanies the meal. Good coffee. The staff can help you with directions to local sites and wineries and suggest things to do in the area. Very welcoming and pleasant staff seem genuinely eager to please. Free parking on the street. Just perfect.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth Every Penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The food was excellent, as was the service. The restaurant is beautiful, and the servers & hostess were wonderful. Best meal I've had in years.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joshua Wilton House also viewed

 

Been to Joshua Wilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joshua Wilton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.