We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but be careful what you wish for!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beyond

Beyond
50 W Water St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
+1 540-432-0105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 199 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Smithfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food but be careful what you wish for!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The atmosphere and food were exceptional at Beyond! I remember this restaurant as Spanky's during my college years and although I miss Spankys, Beyond looked amazing and we love sushi and Asian food! When we walked in the door the hostess was very accommodating (as I had a knee injury) with seating us downstairs. The food was interesting, fresh and tasty! The service was good (we had a waitress in training that evening in addition to a more seasoned one). The one negative was that we ordered a bottle of wine to enjoy with dinner and they brought us a bottle that was TWICE the price. I've never had someone actually bring the wrong bottle to serve so we barely glanced at the bottle when it was presented. We definitely did a double-take when the bill came however as instead of a $29 bottle we were charged for a $58 bottle. When we brought this to the attention of the wait staff we were told that they presented the bottle and we accepted it and there was nothing that they could do. Technically, that is probably correct...and we did really enjoy the bottle of wine (one should at that price! :) so we did not make an issue of it our experience might want to serve as a customer service lesson to management.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Good food. Friendly service. Fun, casual environment.

Salmon was outstanding. Sushi was good (better than expected in a small western VA town) and Drunken Noodles were good.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“All-around great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This place is a sure bet to complete your night out. Has some class, a good vibe for groups or a couple. You won't feel broke trying multiple items off of their bar menu: exquisite sushi of course, calamari (add jalapenos!!!)..to name a few, and beer taps that won't upset. Along with all of these great things about Beyond, my wife and I mostly went there a bunch of times because of their friendly staff :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, VA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice Asian food at good prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Went there for lunch based on a friend's recommendation. I had a lunch special of chicken with green beans and onions in a brown sauce for $5. That's cheaper than McD's! My friend got vegetable stir-fry with tofu and his portion was larger at $8. Both dishes were fresh and cooked just right with a little firmness to the veggies. We also got the soft summer rolls, which were good but a little to large to eat without falling apart. There was also a strong herbal taste (cilantro?) but we enjoyed them.

This place is basically a bar, with black walls and the bar in the center of the small interior. There were less than 10 folks in there for lunch, so I assume most of their business is at night. The server was very attentive and the food was good, though, so I will definitely be back. For both of us together it was less than $20, which cannot be beat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Top 5 in Harrisonburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

During a busy parent weekend at JMU we were able to get a table at one of our faves in Harrisonburg. The drink selections are not only inventive but always delicious! The sushi and rolls were just the ticket to sate our appetites! Even though it was extremely busy the service was friendly and attentive. The owner greeted us like he has known us for years!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyond also viewed

 
Harrisonburg, VA
 

Been to Beyond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.