We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WILL STAY HERE AGAIN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn of Harrisonburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn of Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1881 Evelyn Byrd Avenue., Harrisonburg, VA 22801 (Formerly Jameson Inn of Harrisonburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Holiday, Fl.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“WILL STAY HERE AGAIN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This facility has been well maintained, room was clean and updated tv and bedding. Breakfast was standard fo Quality Inns. All employees were very helpful. Will stay here again in three weeks. This use to be a Jameson Inn.......There is a Bob Evans across the street

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    30
    12
    11
See reviews for
40
36
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This property was previously a Jameson Inn, and I've had the opportunity to stay twice in the past six months for work (both times booked through Hotwire). The property has been renovated, the staff is very accommodating, and the room I stayed in (the same one both visits) was clean, neat, and well appointed. For the price I pay I don't expect resort-thick towels or fancy upscale amenities, but the hotel has everything I need and has a great location for dinner options. My only quibble would be with the sharp-looking desk chair that does not rise high enough to use the desk space properly. They get bonus points for including Twinings tea (high-test and decaf) in the beverage basket -- makes for a lovely change of pace. I STILL have not had the opportunity to partake in breakfast due to my schedule, but that's my fault, not theirs. I definitely would recommend this hotel as an overnight option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have stayed in Choice properties from Maine to Florida, and have stayed in some real dumps under the Quality Inn brand. This property is the nicest Quality Inn I have ever stayed in. It has interior corridors, which many Quality properties do not have. My room was clean and had nice colonial style furniture. the breakfast area was large and the food was above average for the Choice chain. I used points, so I cannot say if the room prices were reasonable. Even the building was not your typical motel building. The building look like a large southern/colonial residence.

Room Tip: if using points, select the king suite for the same points as a regular room. it is a real suite, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I spent two nights here and never again. When I checked in the manager told me that I must be assigned to a smoking room on the third floor, because I had "booked with a third party" Even though I had made my reservations two months in advance. I could not get her to overturn the decision. I am a handicapped Korean War veteran who sleeps with oxygen at night. The pungent cigarette odor almost overcame me. I had prepaid and could not afford to move to another hotel. The person who checked me in was not sympathetic with my plight, and advised me to book directly the next time. She was not customer-friendly to me. I should add that the other staff were very helpful during my stay. For example, the wi-fi was difficult to get access and he helped me with the settings. Yet, the wi-fi timed out often during my stay and I stopped using it. The maid service was positive and good. After checking into my room, I heard dogs barking down the hall, which bothered me. Didn't realize that I would be put on a floor where pets were allowed. Also, the bathroom was very small, with just enough room to take a shower and use the commode. My room was clean. Overall, my experience was negative, and I am generally a very positive rater. When I checked the breakfast buffet, I opted to forego it and drive to the Mall for a Subway breakfast sandwich both mornings.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the third floor unless you want to hear barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at the Quality Inn Harrisonburg while visiting my son at JMU for Easter. We had booked three nights a month or so earlier using Priceline and gotten a great deal using the "Name your own price" booking tool.

The room was small but adequate with two double beds, although there was very little other furnishings because of the room size. The bathroom was the tiniest thing I have ever seen in a hotel - about the size of a standard cruise ship bathroom, with the sink outside in the room. There was no closet, just a hangar pole next to the sink. The beds were comfortable enough for a few nights.

Others have complained about thin walls but we did not hear any noise during our stay, and occupancy was high at the hotel throughout.

Where the high occupancy did cause a major problem was in the breakfast area. Its clearly inadequate for the number of guests when full, and we could not get a seat on 2 of the 3 days. There was only one lady working the breakfast buffet and she struggled to keep up under a torrent of guest requests. On the one day that I was able to sample the buffet, it was okay - powdered eggs, sausage patties, cereal and yogurt were all edible and the coffee was fine.

Overall the staff were fine - not too friendly, but not dour either.

In a nutshell, you get what you pay for, and I would return here for sure if I scored the same great Priceline deal again.

Room Tip: No ice machine on 2nd floor. Book through Priceline (Harrisonburg Two Star) for best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiharrisonburg, General Manager at Quality Inn of Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose to stay with us again whenever you visit the Harrisonburg area.

Sincerely,
Christine Forehand, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is in a nice location with easy access to the Interstate 81, restaurants and even shopping. The parking lot is well lit, and seems secure. The staff is excellent, and the rooms are very nice. We found our room clean and spacious. The breakfast was good with hot and cold choices that would satisfy most anyone. Our room was near the elevator and we experienced some noise in the hall, but the hotel did not have a lot of guests, so it did not seem too bad. Since we were on the third floor we did not have any noise from above, and did not hear any noise from the "neighbors." My sense is that it is no better or worse than other hotels in this chain.

Lots of choices for hotels in this town, but I would not hesitate to come back here again.

Room Tip: If you want a spacious with lots of elbow room pay few dollars extra and get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a clean comfortable hotel located near JMU.

Front desk staff is courteous, friendly and helpful with info about the area.

Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Good basic breakfast to get the day started.

Would stay here again if in area

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#12 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#5 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#3 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn of Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn of Harrisonburg

Address: 1881 Evelyn Byrd Avenue., Harrisonburg, VA 22801 (Formerly Jameson Inn of Harrisonburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn of Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn of Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Of Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Jameson Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Jameson Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn of Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.