We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3325 S Main St, I-81 Exit 243, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Harrisonburg and can't begin to compliment this hotel enough! We've stayed at MANY hotels, and this one was the BEST!!! The room was beautifully decorated and huge. The staff was outstanding, and the free hot breakfast had everything you could possibly want...and it was all so delicious. Even the elevator was gorgeously decorated. Don't miss this one. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
64
35
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

The room itself was fine. A little on the dark side, but pretty quiet, especially considering that it directly overlooked a truck stop. The poor rating has to do with the extremely poor customer service I received. Shortly after leaving the hotel I realized I had left my toiletry kit. I know for an absolute fact that I left it hanging on the back of the bathroom door. Despite three separate phone calls to the hotel I never even received the courtesy of a reply call. Everyone who answered the phone just kept saying that they'd check with housekeeping and get back to me. I also witnessed several people with questions/complaints at the front desk and there didn't seem to be much urgency or interest in responding to them.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

This hotel is conveniently located right off of the highway. Free parking, nice staff, clean room and a better-than-average complimentary breakfast. The hotel photo accurately represents the room.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in mid March. Then hotel was located directly off of a busy road with nearby restaurants and shopping. It was directly next to a truck stop/gas station, which our room overlooked, yet we did not hear any noise during the night from either the road or the truck stop. While the setting was not ideal, the hotel was gorgeous. The dining area had three-story ceiling and lovely furniture--plus the food was great. The morning we were there, they were serving omelets, cinnamon buns, bagels, cereal, muffins, bananas, biscuits, and a few other things. The room was spacious and had very nice, clean bedding. Our room also had a fridge, microwave, desk with chair, and a lounge chair. The bathroom was very clean and spacious and everything was nicely lit and very modernly decorated. The staff was friendly and helpful--they suggested numerous restaurants for us. I was really very surprised at how attractive the hotel was and if I return to Harrisonburg, I wouldn't think twice about booking the Holiday Inn Express again (unless I were to bring my dogs--the one fault is that they do not allow pets).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

I can't come up with a real negative for this Hotel. My only slight beef was there were only two electrical outlets by the bed and both were taken. I solved this by moving the Radio to the desk and it was fine as i could still see the time from my bed. No other issues at all.

Everything was top rate (bed, breakfast, cleanliness, staff etc). Management here obviously knows what they are doing. Simply put a newer Holiday Inn Express run as it should be.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

This hotel was very nice! The rooms are furnished modernly and are comfortable. The complementary breakfast included things like pastries, eggs, breakfast meat, cinnamon buns, fruit, cereal, etc. My only complaint was that you could hear fairly loudly when someone above your room turned on the shower. But other than that, I had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — mopdern rooms, complimentary breakfast
  • Disliked — noise from neighbor's bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed here for one night while visiting JMU. Our room was nicely appointed, clean and the staff were very helpful. We did have problems with internet access - is was extremely spotty and slow. Also, the complimentary breakfast held much to be desired. The eggs tasted like they had been cooked wtih salt water - yuk. However, we would definitley stay here again if we come back to the area for a short stay.

  • Liked — Clean, nice rooms.
  • Disliked — Slow and spotty internet access.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg

Address: 3325 S Main St, I-81 Exit 243, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#9 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Harrisonburg, is sure to meet your every expectation. Just off I-81 (exit 243) on Route 11, this hotel provides ideal access to many significant venues of the Shenandoah Valley. We are just minutes away from Bridgewater College, Eastern Mennonite University, and James Madison University with easy access to Shenandoah Regional Airport. Local businesses include SYSCO, Truck Enterprises Inc., Coors, Wal-Mart Distribution, Merck, Walker, Tyson Foods, Cargill Foods, and Packaging Corporation of America. If it is recreation and fun you are looking for, this hotel is convenient to the Valley Lanes, Rockingham County Fairground, Shenandoah National Park, Massanutten Resort, Luray Caverns, New Market Battlefield, Endless Caverns, Natural Bridge, Blue Ridge Parkway, and Skyline Drive. A great variety of restaurants in the Harrisonburg area are available for your dining pleasure. All our rooms come with the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, cable TV with HBO and optional pay-per-view services, microwave/refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Come enjoy the Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.