We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3325 S Main St, I-81 Exit 243, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Harrisonburg
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Clean, up-to-date, comfortable, safe.. Perfect stay. I would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in Harrisonburg on vacation or just a night as they're passing through!

What else to say for the 200 character minimum? Good breakfast, coffee at all hours, great front desk staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    59
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
59
30
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is conviently located off of I-81, close to the Skyline Drive and across the street from JMU. There are tons of restaurants and shopping in the area. Day trips to Luray Caverns, Natural Bridge or Monticello are easy and enjoyable.

The rooms were clean and neat. The tub had been repainted and could use replacement but was not dirty. The hotel bar was friendly and adequately stocked. Personnel were pleasent and helpful.

This area of the state is always beautiful; however, during the last two weeks of October the colors are breathtaking. This hotel is a good value for your dollar.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor east end, there as no outside noise to interfere with my rest and no notic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We came east for Labor Day Weekend to do some hiking in Shenandoah and visit Luray Caverns. Although nothing about the stay was horrifying, nothing was "great" either, besides the water pressure in the shower and the fridge in the room.

The rooms are pleasantly decorated in shades of green and blue...soothing and not totally generic. There is a fridge and microwave.
In our room, we found a dirty q-tip on the ground by the bed...gross.
There are no bed-side plug-ins for phones.
To my dismay, there was no folding luggage stand, instead, there is a bench. I'm always on alert for bedbugs, as a frequent traveler who has been bitten before...I REALLY need a luggage stand for my peace of mind, not an upholstered bench.
Bathroom is poorly ventilated...after a 5 minute shower my partner almost fell upon getting out. So, be prepared to shower with the door wide-open to prevent build-up of condensation on the floor.
The water gets scalding hot, almost instantly. Be very careful if you have children that they don't get burnt.
The "Priority" check in treat is a bottle of water, a starlight mint, and a bag of animal crackers. We both gagged after eating one animal cracker and had to brush our teeth. The things were so old they were chewy...very stale and had a musty taste.
In our wash cloths, 2 of them had what appeared to be pubic hairs in them...curly and black. Soooooooo disgusting. We obviously didn't use those. The fitted sheet had a huge fist-sized hole in it. All THREE of the bath towels were ragged and torn along the edges.
After the maid service the first day, our travel-size Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner went missing from the shower. The HIEx stuff was still there though. What???
Standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast, but pancake machine was broken. Don't expect anything to be restocked from 9 onwards on a week day. We came down at 9:10 and there was exactly one of each item: 1 cinnamon roll, 1 biscuit, 1 french toast, 1 sausage patty, 1 spoon each of gravy and eggs. After we took our helping (the remnants) others came down after us and had sad faces where the hot items once were.
The exercise room is 2 cheap treadmills and a bike that doesn't pedal well.

Staff was horrible. No one said "Hello, good morning, have a nice day, thanks for staying..." to either of us during the THREE days we were here. It took nearly 15 minutes to check in (at 8pm on a Saturday) because the front desk guy had disappeared. The cookies were gone too...just greasy wax paper in a clear box. We both travel very frequently for work, and were left with the impression that no one at this particular hotel cares, AT ALL. I usually stay in 2-2.5 star hotels (often HIEx) whereas he is in 3-4 star properties, but neither of us was prepared for the apathy of the staff here. Honestly, if they saw you coming they would duck around a corner. No one even SMILED. Over the course of 3 days, wouldn't you think at least one staff member-maid, front desk, breakfast attendant even-would smile and say "Hello!"???

You could do worse than this hotel, and I'm sure this place has "better days" too. I do expect my room to be clean and the linens in good shape, and I also expect some service.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side away from the truck stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Fullyloadedtercel,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvstotravel30
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as our overnight stop from NJ to NC. Hotel looks fairly new or recently updated. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it smelled like a mix of fresh paint and smoke. Once you got into the room, no trace of the smell at all so we were fine. The beds were comfortable and the place looked clean. The breakfast was ok, standard with all other value hotels. Pancake machine was out of order so that was a disappointment.
One warning, outside does smell like farm or manure, we stayed at the Hampton Inn last time and noticed the same. We would stop here again next time we take this route.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarsdale ny
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel and room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was average.... Very few real healthy options. For just under $100 as a pit stop enroute it was ok but in my experience Marriott Fairfield inns offer a better experience for about the same cost.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A good value for the money. Ask about room price discounts. Room was clean. Did not realize that the view out the window was a major truck stop. Breakfast was just Okay. The pancake machine did not work and there was not much of a selection. Went to a McDonald's later. Do not get off at this exit of I-81 stop further north.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Booked thru Priceline,pleasantly surprised,clean,quaint,and quiet with plentiful parking. Front desk very helpful,but you have to pay for your breakfast.In great area tons of restaurants and even a Wal Mart less than half a mile away,altogether a very nice hotel !!

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg

Address: 3325 S Main St, I-81 Exit 243, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#9 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Harrisonburg, is sure to meet your every expectation. Just off I-81 (exit 243) on Route 11, this hotel provides ideal access to many significant venues of the Shenandoah Valley. We are just minutes away from Bridgewater College, Eastern Mennonite University, and James Madison University with easy access to Shenandoah Regional Airport. Local businesses include SYSCO, Truck Enterprises Inc., Coors, Wal-Mart Distribution, Merck, Walker, Tyson Foods, Cargill Foods, and Packaging Corporation of America. If it is recreation and fun you are looking for, this hotel is convenient to the Valley Lanes, Rockingham County Fairground, Shenandoah National Park, Massanutten Resort, Luray Caverns, New Market Battlefield, Endless Caverns, Natural Bridge, Blue Ridge Parkway, and Skyline Drive. A great variety of restaurants in the Harrisonburg area are available for your dining pleasure. All our rooms come with the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, cable TV with HBO and optional pay-per-view services, microwave/refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Come enjoy the Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.