We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay...will come again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stonewall Jackson Inn to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   547 East Market Street, Shenandoah Valley, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wine and Sweets 4U
Ranked #1 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay...will come again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We have stayed at the Stonewall jackson Inn twice now and it has never let us down. Very quiet house that has all the basic amenities you would require. The rooms are beautiful and cosy, and the free breakfasts are deliciousl (eggs benedict!).

The only drawback is that the room we have stayed in is the closest to the main street (which can be loud). I recommend trying rooms towards the back of the house where there is less noise and probably a more quiet night of sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenJackson, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Wayne here. Thanks for this great review. You observation and information about selecting a quiet room is the room accurate. On our website, in the room description for the Chamberlain Room, we caution that it is located off of our lobby next to the front door and at the front of the house that faces the street. As we overlook and are the edge of the Downtown Historic District there is a good flow of traffic between that District and Interstate 81, so there is traffic noise to that particular room even though we have new energy efficient double paned windows throughout.. However, it is the only room with that caveat. However, if you are accustom to some traffic, the really good news is that room has the lowest rate (because of it's location), a gas fireplace, queen bed and a desk with FREE Wi-Fi, and if you smoke, you can easily pop out the door on the front porch and get your nicotine fix :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    36
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
185
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the Stonewall Jackson Inn in the Robert E. Lee room for two nights. Wayne and his staff were friendly and accommodating. I am vegetarian and my fiancee is vegan, and they provided us with an amazing breakfast both days.

The Inn is close to downtown and we could easily walk to good restaurants and pubs in the evening. During the day we spent our time in the Shenandoah National Park, a close 20 minute drive.

We would highly recommend the Stonewall Jackson to anyone looking for a cozy and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We were performing at Court Square Theatre. We were put up in this wonderful welcoming B&B, spacious, clean, convenient, and super friendly. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stonewall Jackson Inn, Harrisonburg VA
18-20 March 2010
It was a pleasure to stay here,close to everything. The I 81 Interstate, downtown, Skyline Drive, the Arboretum, all were close-by and easily accessible. Wayne, the Innkeeper, was very helpful and suggested many places to visit, and the breakfasts were absolutely “four star”, (especially the Eggs Benedict). We very highly recommend the Stonewall Jackson Inn and plan to return ourselves!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Rooms full of character, charm, and comfort. Innkeeper and staff full of warmth and energy. A breakfast as good as about any we've had, and we've stayed at dozens of B and Bs. Friendly fellow guests. Great recommendations. The list goes on and on. This is a place to stay, to savor, and then return -- as we have, many times!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

We had a most enjoyable visit at the Stonewall Jackson Inn. The inn is conviniently located within walking distance of places we visited in Harrisonburg. Our room was excellent, the service superv, and the breakfast was indeed one to remember! We are looking forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

My boyfriend and I are dating long distance and we meet up half way. The Stonewall Jackson Inn is a great halfway destination. When setting up the reservation, i received very warm wishes. They were very kind and willing to work with our different time arrivals. Upon my arrival, they were very friendly; brought me in next to the fire place and explained the history of the place. i felt very comfortable throughtout my visit. The rooms are exceptionally nice. The breakfast is delicious!!! My boyfriend and i plan to stay there again in the near future. We enjoyed the visit very much. I would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Jackson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Inn

Address: 547 East Market Street, Shenandoah Valley, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Night's Delight - A Breakfast to Remember" is our mission and succinctly describes the legendary Award Winning "Stonewall Jackson Experience!" We are a Certified Virginia Green, 3-Diamond Inn. Awarded "Best in the Mid-Atlantic States" and the "Guest Favorite" designations. The Inn is located in the Downtown Historic "Old Town" District of Harrisonburg in the heart of the ever beautiful Shenandoah Valley.There are ten well-appointed guest rooms, each full of character with private bath. Rooms have individual climate control, free hi-speed WiFi, and an LCD television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.