We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is dining - not just eating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station

Union Station
128 W Market Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
(540) 437-0042
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 199 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Weston, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is dining - not just eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Good selection of food, but an even more impressive selection of wine and spirits. I ordered the portabella stuffed with crab, which was good, but a tad runny. My wife ordered the grilled swordfish which was superb. Though the portions are not huge, remembering this is dining, not eating.
The decor was pretty unique, utilizing the old train station structure wonderfully. The acoustics are painful with only a few diners and having a private conversation can be difficult.
The service was very good and prompt, though there was almost no interaction.
Overall the meal was enjoyable, but a bit on the expensive side. Still, we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    49
    28
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Simple, good and Fresh! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We enjoyed it! Nice quiet dinner and the menu had a lot to choice from, including vegetarian options. It wasn't anything over the top but very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great service and great food made for a great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We just spent the past week in Va Beach and the stop in Harrisonburg was a lay over night in route to our second week of vacation at Massenutten. I like to try new places when on vacations, or places new to me. I read some of the reviews which were not great, and boy were those wrong. Our waitress was Sky, and she was simply awesome, my special needs daughter loved her. Now to the food. I ordered the small Calamari for my appetizer, I looked at my wife and said it may be better than Watermans in Va Beach. I ordered the Po Boy, my wife ordered the Turkey Burger, and my daughter had the Chicken Tenders and fries from the kids menu. All the food was great and delivered on time. My daughter said the fries were the best she has had.
Great job and God Bless.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This place had the BEST Burgers we ate the bar and the beer was cold, great place! The restaurant had a great atmosphere and the service was fast.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Enjoyed a really good lunch with excellent service. Very tasty and reasonably priced. Enjoyed the historic atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Station also viewed

 

Been to Union Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.