We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - Except for Beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Harrisonburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1945 Deyerle Avenue, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great - Except for Beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn over the Christmas holiday. The hotel was lovely, the facilities were great, and the staff was very friendly. The suite itself was comfortable - it was great to have the combination of communal and private spaces, and the convenience of a kitchen. Our only complaint (from all four adults in the suite) was that we all found the beds extremely uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for our hotel. I was glad to read your enjoyed your stay. We will make note of your comments regarding our bedding and when we are replacing we will inform our supplier. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review and when you return to our area we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    50
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
118
66
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

On our recent trip to Harrisonburg for the graduation of our Granddaughter from JMU, we
stayed for 2 nights at the Residence Inn. We found the staff, especially Caroline and CC,
very friendly and accommodating. We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite because of a
slight medical problem which was very much appreciated. The room was very comfortable
and the breakfast was good and more than plentiful. Just one more reason why we prefer
to stay at Marriott's on our travels. Great Location, Great Value.

Room Tip: We in general prefer a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for our hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time. I will pass on you comments to Caroline and CC. We do try very hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay and we are happy that your stay was great. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

we drive from atlanta to new england 4 times a year - and this is our preferred stop and preferred hotel. Most people are here for days - a lot of young tech workers or monday to friday'ers working at nearby firms, factories and technology companies. Whether for a multi day or overnight stay (and ours are usually about 10 hours long max), residence inn here in harrisonburg is the best. Rooms are nice, spacious, good tv's. They are clean, with linens, bedspreads and pillows that are not worn or scary. hotel carpets in good shape, nice if small indoor pool, kitchen and refrigerators are nicely appointed - and living areas are nice. Bathroom sink separate from shower/toilet which is nice. Few kids which is a plus. Serve nice breakfast buffet. Well lit, lots of outlets for charging various devices. They get busy and twice last year we couldn't get in even 10 days in advance. Who knew harrisonburg was such a destination? Dog friendly, walking area with clean up bags provided. Only negatives are dishwashers are noisy as a jet engine (run them when out of room as you can't talk on the phone, watch tv or think while they are going). Also no bacon at breakfast, just sausage, and the bathtubs, as with all marriott's, are no higher than a sand box. Not sure why they just don't do nicer showers given the bathtub water doesn't come up past your navel.if you tried to take one. Still, overall residence inns are pretty good and this is one of best in USA. Nice staff too!

Room Tip: 3 floors, with elevators - i'd ask to be away from the pool, but none are bad or too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for the great review for our property. We do try very hard to make all of our guests feel at home. Thanks for making us the best Residence Inn in the USA. We appreciate you taking the time to give us this review and hope that we will continue to be your hotel of choice when in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I highly recommend this hotel. The good experience started at check-in, with friendly, efficient staff in a warm, welcoming lobby, with plenty of space and comfortable chairs, couches, and tables available for guests. The rooms were very clean and appeared new. We especially liked the gas fireplace in our room!

We had a one bedroom suite -- the bedroom had a king size bed, with a bathroom between the bedroom and the living room with a pull-out couch. The bedding was very soft and clean, with a duvet with removable (washable!) cover for the top layer -- not the old-style bedspread that never gets washed. We had requested extra pillows, which were waiting for us in the room. The set-up was very family-friendly, with a door between the living room and the large sink/vanity area of the bathroom, then another door between that and the bedroom, and the toilet and tub/shower in a separate room off the sink area -- it was easy to get privacy when needed. There were plenty of towels and they were in good condition.

The full kitchen included a generous variety of good-quality dishes, flatware, and cooking pots and pans. A nice touch was a complimentary bag of microwave popcorn. The maid service loaded and ran the dishwasher. A small store next to the reception desk offers snacks such as ice cream, frozen pizza, and instant mac & cheese.

The hotel offers a breakfast buffet, including "make your own" waffles. One of the two waffle makers was broken during our visit, leading to a line for the one working waffle maker. The buffet included hot dishes such as pancakes, sausage, and scrambled eggs, as well as cold dishes such as yogurt, cereal, and pastries. There was plenty of seating.

We did not use the small fitness room, but enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The pool is fairly small, but perfect for kids playing. There are plenty of towels provided in the pool area. Just outside the pool room is an outdoor grill available to guests.

All parking is outdoor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for your recent stay with us. It is very kind of you to take the time to let everyone that visits this site how much you enjoyed our hotel. We do try very hard to make sure all of our guests stays are great, thanks again and we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simsbury ct
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We will absolutely go out of our way to stay at this hotel, we stayed overnight en route to SC. It is THE BEST Residence Inn we've stayed in and we've been in quite a few. The facility is clean, beautiful with top of the line decor inside and out. Loved the big Viking grill outside along with the fire pit and seating area. Didn't see the indoor pool/ fitness area but I'm sure it was top notch like the rest of the facility. The front desk people were so welcoming and helpful....I believe Heather checked us in, she was very personable and professional. We payed the same to stay here as some other RI's, and there's no comparison!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for posting a response for your recent stay with us. I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to Heather as well as the rest of our staff. Thanks again and we hope when you are traveling this way again you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have been visiting Harrisonburg for 4 years, since our daughter started at JMU, and didn't know this hotel existed until this visit, when by chance we discovered a cancellation during a sold out football weekend. We LOVED this hotel. Extremely nice staff, impeccably clean and BEAUTIFUL room, hotel conveniently located yet still seemed peaceful. Worth every penny. Didn't book the room expecting a studio apartment feel more than a typical hotel room, but LOVED the convenience of the full refrig, the cooktop, the sink, the desk area, and the decor of the whole thing. The firepit in the courtyard just added to the great ambiance. Good breakfast, too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a response for your stay at our hotel. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We also wish that you had found us earlier. Thanks again and if we can be of any further assistance please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Over the last three years, we have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions (even had reservations while it was under construction) and most recently stayed in May. Not sure if they have new management or new ownership but the service has gone downhill.

We are select guests with Marriott and have "Extra Towels" on our guest profile. When we arrived, we were given the towels. On the second day, the maid left us with one bath towel, one hand towel and one face cloth. When asked why the maid did not replenish our towels, the front desk personnel stated the maid probably ran out of towels.

At breakfast, we noticed that the kitchen personnel were handling the garbage cans with their bare hands and then restocking items in the food lines, without washing their hands (ugh) or wearing gloves. Not exactly what you would expect from a premium Marriott hotel.

On our last day, Sunday, we called the front desk personnel to ask for late check out and were asked how late we needed the room. We responded that we needed the room until 1:00pm and he said that could not be done because the maids did not work a shift that late. (Why did he ask if he knew it could not be done?) The reason we were late is because the clocks in the room were an hour off and we almost missed church.

My suggestion, if you are in the area and are looking for a great stay, try the local B&B. We have stayed at two and they were excellent, cost less, and you avoid the hassles of staying at this location

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for posting a response for your recent stay at our property. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We try very hard to meet all of our guests needs and in your case we did not. We will discuss the concerns that you noted with our staff and will make the needed adjustments. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and if I can be of any further assistance please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Harrisonburg

Address: 1945 Deyerle Avenue, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Green Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Harrisonburg 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrisonburg's newest upscale extended stay hotel! Located in the gorgeous Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, the Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisonburg is the ideal choice for a quick trip or a long stay. We are conveniently located just minutes from James Madison University, Massanutten recreation area, Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisonburg is the Shenandoah Valley's best choice for the marathon business traveler or the relocating family. We feature fully equipped kitchens including full-size Energy Star appliances, a luxurious fitness center, a full size pool and whirlpool, complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary high-speed internet, 37" LCD flat panel televisions with HD programming and evening socials for guests. Bring your dog because our hotel is pet friendly! When business travel or a recent move brings you to Harrisonburg, the Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisonburg makes you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.