We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to lay your head” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Convenant Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Harrisonburg
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent place to lay your head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Very very nice place to stay! The staff is very polite and well trained. The rooms are very clean and spaceous.This hotel is a non-smoking hotel and thats what we like. The breakfast is a buffet of freshly cooked items for everyone. Let's not overlook the fresh baked cookies every evening around 5:30pm they make you feel very spoiled here and thats a plus for my family and friends. This hotel is very quiet, has indoor pool and fitness room and free wifi for guests. I recommend that you stay here in your travels it well worth the money. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    108
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
160
102
12
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Hubby and I had decided not to book a Hotel for one overnight stay on the way back to Pa from Fl but, take our chances and just drive in to any Hotel when too tired to drive anymore.
tried for ANY Hotel on route 64 out of Virginia but there was some concert going on and everywhere was fully booked so drove further on to Harrisonburg...exhausted.
Pulled in to this Hotel with hopes of a room and was greeted at the front desk with a huge sign saying "away from the desk, please help yourself to complimentary drinks will return shortly" in over 50 years of travelling I have never come across anything like that, how weird......Gave up after ten minutes and walked back to the car, just as we were pulling away I spotted a young lady returning to the desk.
Very pleasant, gave us a room with no problem. It was clean, smallish and comfy for $91 inc.
The breakfast was pleasant enough, served by a young lady who sat reading a book but, as this was only 6.30am I guess it was acceptable. All in all a thought provoking experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jestep, General Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments. I apologize for any confusion during your stay. Often we only have one desk clerk working at a time and when there is a guest request or they need to use the rest room we use the sign to let a guest know they will be right back. Thankfully it doesn’t happen often, but it does happen.

I’m glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we look forward to having you back at the Hampton Inn South on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Was happy that when we first walked in, room and ready and very fast check in. Breakfast however, left something to be desired. Mushy potatoes, weak coffee and dried out omelette - usually Hampton is better. Also, the bed was far away from the TV - felt like one needed binoculars to see the screen even though it was a flat screen.

We liked the walkin shower.

Again, adequate for the money, for a quick over night, but happy we didn't pay a premium during school functions.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach,Fl
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Everything about this Hampton Inn was just fine except for the front desk clerk, very cold and non informative. To ask her a question was like pulling teeth. Think we'll skip this one next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This new Hampton is south of town (10 minutes at most) and featured all new rooms. the helpful 'concierge' pointed us to a number of restaurants. Would highly recommend...good jumping off point to the Blue Ridge Parkway and quieter than staying near James Madison campus. No pets!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jervis, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Have stayed here several times. The service is wonderful! The staff is always friendly! Mario is AMAZING!!! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthews, nc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

As usual Hampton Inns have high consistancy of very well maintained, very clean & safe surroundings and this one was up to the high standards set. The room was spotless, good continental breakfast. There is another Hampton Inn in this town that states it is closer to the universities. We disagree, this one seemed more of a staight shot down Main Street.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South

Address: 43 Convenant Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South Hotel Harrisonburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.