We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Convenant Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while traveling from KY to MD. The rooms were nice and clean. The complimentary breakfast was good. The staff was friendly and helpful. One of the travelers in our party needed medical attention and the front desk staff called an ambulance for us. We are very thankful to them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    148
    45
    9
    6
See reviews for
216
148
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was an excellent hotel for a larger family. We booked the larger room and it gave us space to spread out without having to book two rooms. It was clean and the nicely furnished. The hot complimentary breakfast had many great choices. We will stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, NY, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I know I will always have a pleasant stay at Hampton Inns but this one offered just a bit more in terms of the breakfast and room amenities. From the moment e were quickly and efficiently checked in to the moment we checked out our stay was extremely enjoyable. Very quiet and in an area convenient to interstate access.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston & New York City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

For the most part, we experienced Hampton Inn quality throughout our stay, which is to say, most everything was very nice for a roadside motel. I've stayed in dozens of Hampton Inns throughout the US and Canada, and it's the brand I choose most often.

And as we expected from reading the many other reviews here, everyone on staff was friendly and helpful — from the people manning the front desk to the service personnel working the breakfast area.

Cleanliness of the bathroom, on the other hand, was the only sub-par element of our stay. The wall of the bathtub-shower had a wide selection of hairs on it: black, brown, red (and perhaps some blonde well-camouflaged by the white color of the shower wall). Some of the towels on the shelf below the sink were partially unfolded, as if they had been used (or at least pulled out and then haphazardly replaced). And the toilet paper was partially unrolled, with the paper hanging from the roll all the way down to the floor. Plus, there was dark mold on the silicone caulk edging the vanity and bathtub.

We arrived past dinner time, but we were glad to learn that in walking distance is a 24-hour diner with good BBQ sandwiches. We had a great late-night meal at Southside Diner inside the Harrisonburg Travel Center truck stop. The diner is "slightly" upscale — much nicer than the typical 24-hour diner.

Although the building is in sight of the exit from the highway, it's set back far enough that the highway noise wasn't at all bothersome, despite all of the long-haul trucks going by at all hours of the night. Inter-room noise was non-existent. The AC worked great, keeping me cool despite post-storm heat and humidity outside.

We decided to stay at this Harrisonburg South location — as opposed to the central Harrisonburg location in town — so we wouldn't have to hassle with town traffic on our motorcycles. We were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on our travels on rt. 81. It was easily found getting on and off the highway. I was very pleased with the quality of the hotel. The indoor pool was nice, with great quality poolside furniture. The restaurant suggested by the front desk was a wonderful place for a relaxing meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We are traveling to NY and needed a stopover. I had requested a roll away bed. I was very pleased when it was already in the room when we checked in at 10:30. The room was extra large and everything we needed for a good night's rest. The breakfast was adequate. My family all found something they could eat. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We are making frequent runs up 1-81 this year, and after staying at this Hampton Inn, we made a mental note to use this as our regular stop. Everything was in great shape. Easy access, not too expensive for a Hampton, well-stocked rooms, everything we like. We stay in a lot of Hampton Inns, and while they are all good, they are some that stand out as "a good one" -- this is one of those.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
4.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
1.7 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#3 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South

Address: 43 Convenant Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South Hotel Harrisonburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.