We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Convenant Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Harrisonburg
Richmond, United States
1 review
“Good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very close to interstate and food service, staff very helpful, clean rooms lots of plugs to recharge electronic tools. There wasn't a microwave or refrigerator in the room but otherwise the room was nice and confortable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    108
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
160
102
12
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Checking in was a delight. The three staff members at the desk were extremely welcoming and friendly. We had a nice, big room, but the tv was way to small for the distance from the bed. Our room was at the very end of a hall. It's probably safe to assume that it's larger than most, so the tv size probably works in other rooms. (The lamp behind the tv was a nice touch. Gave the room a warm glow.) The breakfast buffet the next morning was great. The staff kept it very clean and well stocked. Why the 4-star review instead of 5? The staff at the desk when we left for dinner (and came back from dinner) was scowling when we helped ourselves to 2 cookies (total). No pleasantries were exchanged, and honestly, they scowled! Maybe it had nothing to do with the cookies, but it was weird and it made me feel very awkward. The other issue I had was with the fitness center. No remote for the tv. When I called the front desk to ask where it might be, I was placed on hold and then told that I could just use the buttons on the tv. Great, but it's not like they were easy to find. (Thanks helpful front desk staff. <sarcasm.) Then when I finally figured it out, the dang thing only got one station - ESPN. Seriously? Because the only people interested in working out must also be interested in sports? Puhleeze. In this technology age, there's no reason the tv channel selection in the fitness center should be any different than in the rooms. I was inconvenienced (because I couldn't watch Big Bang Theory while I was working out!), and that made me grumpy. Also, the pillows were awful for a Hampton Inn. Two skinny pillows. And, the toilet in our room made a noise that I could only describe as "moaning" every once in a while throughout the night. I would have said something upon checkout, but that clerk was also light on the pleasantries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Noisy party in room next door went on until all hours and staff didn't seem able to solve problem. Not a happy experience. We generally stay at Hampton or Hilton Hotels when traveling, but will probably consider other options in the future. There is a 2nd Hampton in Harrisonburg that seems better. We picked the wrong one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn during Oct. 2013. The usual accommodations were as always, first class and at a fair price. We used the fitness center but not the indoor pool. We would highly recommend this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

While the staff is very friendly and very helpful, this hotel is a below average Hampton Inn. Beds are very soft; pillows were very flat; TV are analog only and cut off HD programming like sports; air conditioner is very loud; breakfast buffet is not well stocked or maintained (eggs and oatmeal gone at 8:30 a.m.) and everything was cold. Hotel is OK for a night but I wouldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Always love Hampton Inn. Although this one didn't have the suites available, it was excellent! Rooms very clean, pool clean, lobby spacious and of course free breakfast is always appreciated. The staff was more than willing to help with anything you could think of. TV was good (as far as I know--had lots of channels) but I didn't bother to watch too much TV. I requested a wake up call which came 15 min earlier than I set it for but better early than late!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST WALPOLE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel did a great job during the family weekend @ JMU. Festive decorations, great breakfast, and a very clean hotel. The shuttle bus came on time, and was very convenient. I will definitely be staying at this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South

Address: 43 Convenant Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South Hotel Harrisonburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.