We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice surprise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Convenant Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very nice surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here late at night. We were very happy with our choice. The room was spacious, clean, and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was a step above the standard continental, with a few hot choices. The staff we encountered were delightful, especially the nice lady who kept the breakfast bar stocked (I did not catch her name). She walked around and checked on everyone and even offered complimentary bottled water for the road. Overall this was a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit an excellent review and for staying with us at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. We will pass along your kind words to our breakfast team. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    124
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
182
121
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hammond
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excellent shower, perfect bed and linens, and lots of free food including freshly baked cookies served in the lobby, fine breakfast bar, and complimentary snack bags we used for a picnic on Skyline Drive (thanks for the suggestion, Tanya). Will book again on our return trip!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. We will pass along your review to Tanya. She will be happy to hear that you enjoyed her suggestion. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to a clean spacious room and the beds were very comfortable. Tonya was great at the front desk and was very helpful. Edna was really great to talk with and she kept plenty of good breakfast items stocked for us! Overall the staff was wonderful and we will definitely return if we come back to town!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will pass along your review to Tanya and our breakfast team. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a basic, very clean Hampton Inn just off the interstate. Rooms were fine. Nothing fancy, but good size and comfortable enough. Extremely friendly staff, especially Tanya and Ms Erma, who were both very polite and made breakfast very enjoyable. Tanya also gave us great directions to the Skyline Drive, which we really enjoyed. They also gave us snack bags (bottle of water, apple, granola bar, and blueberry muffin) free of charge for our drive, which was awesome. Definitely would recommend for the price and pleasant service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will pass along your review to Tanya and Ms Erma. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had to make a last minute trip for a military event. Received a great military discount (about 40%) and still got a king sized bed. Room was clean, breakfast was good, front desk was very pleasant. They even let me stay an extra hour past checkout (after asking) so I could grab a shower after my morning drill before I headed home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit an excellent review and for staying with us at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Great service...very confortable rooms. The price was wonderful. It was nice to walk in from the cold and have a hot cup of tea before heading to my room for the night. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit an excellent review and for staying with us at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed one night while visiting JMU, with the hotel conveniently located one exit away from the university.

Checks in staff were friendly and efficient, and the room was clean and quiet. The hotel has a nice indoor pool, and decent exercise facility.

Breakfast foods were restocked regularly during the morning rush, and consisted of the typical Hampton fare (i.e., make your own waffles, hardboiled eggs, hot oatmeal, cereal, pastries, yogurt, fruit, and coffee).

Overall a good choice if staying in the Harrisonburg area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay when you visited JMU. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South

Address: 43 Convenant Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South Hotel Harrisonburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.