We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience depends on the room assigned” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Harrisonburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1440 E. Market St., Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Experience depends on the room assigned”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have mixed opinions on this hotel. We stayed on the way down to our destination and on the way back. First room was REALLY bad - dirty and smelly. Room on the return was perfectly fine. Just depends on what room they assign you. Location was very convenient, right off 81. Breakfast was basic but fine, hotel is extremely dog friendly...dogs everywhere, large and small. My recommendation is to not set your expectations too high and you may be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    53
    31
    4
    5
See reviews for
49
37
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

Clean room, pet friendly walking area in back. Right off the interstate. Breakfast was ok. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Conveniently located just off the Interstate exit and across from a major shopping center and numerous restaurants, it has location going for it. Should you want to SLEEP there, however, be advised to ask for a second floor room. Upon checkout we asked the age of the property and the clerk estimated it was built in 1986 - 25 years of stress on the trusses and subflooring. So as anyone of even average weight walks around in the room above, you come to consider just how many steps we take in a day. And if, as in our case, the room is occupied apparently by an NFL linebacker, as the evening hours pass by with the serenade of thuds, creaks and clunks, the prospect of the next day's drive becomes ever more appealing. For sleepers and sadists, the second floor's the way to go.

Room Tip: Top floor, then only birds are walking above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

you can find a 'nicer' hotel for the same price, but I dont think you can find nicer staff.
Breakfast is OK, location is good, rooms are OK, TV's are old school. Average.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are where you want to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

....but not great. There are other competitors in the area that offer newer rooms at the same price. I chose this location because I was able to use points. That said, the room was clean, comfortable, and did the trick. TV was an old tube style. Breakfast was included and was the standard eggs plus nice continental offerings. The Belgium waffles were a nice bonus. The hotel was at capacity, and the service staffed worked hard to keep everything filled. I enjoyed reading the Wall Street Journal with my coffee and watching the Sunday morning news shows on the tv's in the dining room.

We stayed during a JMU football game - everything was booked EVERYWHERE! Even so, check in was speedy and we got the room we ordered.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Full hot breakfast. Room was comfortable. Front desk said they would bring me an extra pillow but they never did and they were out of newspapers the next day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We've stopped at this hotel pretty much every year on our annual trip north to New England each summer, and sometimes on other drives north or south on I-81. For us the main motivation has been that it is pet-friendly, with a nice little grassy area within the property, complete with baggie dispenser, for your little (or big, in our case) canine to do his/her business. The rooms are decent, seem well-maintained and reasonably clean, and pretty good value for the money. Since we started stopping here several years ago, they significantly upgraded and renovated their breakfast/dining area, and it is now quite nice. The breakfast selections are pretty impressive I would say for this category of hotel. The location is superb, right off I-81, and basically across the street from a shopping mall and area that seems to have just about every chain of eatery you could think of. Other good options in Harrisonburg are nearby. If you're looking for a place to get some exercise or let your youngster play on one of those great "castle playgrounds" make sure to go to Purcell Park, a couple of miles south of the hotel, also just off of I-81. Service has been always quite good at this hotel, and staying here has been a five-year tradition for us, and we certainly intend to continue staying here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Harrisonburg

Address: 1440 E. Market St., Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the Comfort Inn Harrisonburg provides easy access to Interstate 81. This AAA Three Diamond rated hotel features a daily complimentary hot breakfast and free wireless high speed internet. Relax at our seasonal outdoor heated pool or get your blood pumping in our 24 hour fitness room. Each room includes a hair dryer, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, desk and cable television with HBO. Our spacious business suites have a 6’ whirlpool tub, sitting area, table, microwave and refrigerator. We are convenient to Skyline Drive, Massanutten Mountain, Civil War Battlefields, golf, skiing, fishing and many caverns including Luray, Shenandoah and Endless. Located just a mile from James Madison University, and near Eastern Mennonite University and Bridgewater College, the Comfort Inn is a great place to stay when in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.