We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1890 Evelyn Byrd Avenue, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The staff was very friendly -check in and check out was quick and efficient. Rooms were clean. Halls and area around rooms were quiet. I would stay again. There was a special for only a few dollars more you could order from the breakfast menu. Not a big selection, but it was good and worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Michelle,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. I appreciate the comments regarding our pleasant staff. We strive to provide the best possible service and a comfortable stay to all our guests. It was also great to hear your positive comments regarding the Bistro. The food is fresh and we offer many healthy options to our guests. Thank you again and we hope you continue to choose the Courtyard, Harrisonburg when visiting the area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    52
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
49
32
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pa.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Coming home from North Carolina, stopped in to see if room available and was. Room was wonderfully laid out and king size bed. Nice and clean.
Will stop in again next time. Great view of town.
Didn't stay for breakfast but hotel breakfast is a little iffy.

Room Tip: Front has great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello,

I am thrilled you had a great first visit with us. Thank you for the great review. The mountain side/town side view from our hotel is lovely. I hope you enjoyed your visit to the area and welcome you back in the furture. Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here one night on a road trip; near the interstate. Clean, comfortable and quiet, even with a little league team and their families in the hotel. I especially like Marriott's beds. I can always depend on a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Helen,

Thank you for the great review. It is always great to hear that our guests had a quiet, comfortable stay. I appreciate your positive comments regarding the beds. I agree that Marriott does a great job at assuring we provide great quality bedding for our guests. I recently stayed at a Marriott property on my vacation and was thrilled with the comfort of the beds. Again, thank you for your great review and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We chose Harrisonburg as a good area to stay and explore the Shenandoah Valley. The Courtyard is just off route 81 on a hill overlooking James Madison University and the town. With all the chain restaurants and stores right there.

We had a King suite on the 4th floor with a balconey that faced the rear, so no view, but was quiet. It had two nice size rooms. The living room had a couch, flat screen tv, two chairs, coffee table, desk, and a wet bar with fridge and microwave.

There was a bathroom sink area with a long counter and a separate shower and toilet.

The bedroom also had a flat screen tv.

Everything in the room seemed clean and well taken care of. Housekeeping always left extra towels and soaps.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. We asked for a room on an upper floor at check in and they had no problem finding a suite for us.

This hotel does not include breakfast, but they have a little cafe area to purchase your own food. And free coffee until 10:30 am.

There is a small indoor pool and whirlpool tub. We didn't use it, but a traveling little league team looked like they were having fun!

I would definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Kathy,

Thank you for the great review. I am happy we were able to find you a quiet room and that you were happy with the spacious suite on the fourth floor. I hope you enjoyed exploring the area. The Shenandoah Valley is beautiful and there are many great things to do in the area. We hope you will continue to make our hotel the number one choice when visiting the Harrisonburg area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have always stayed with marriot brand hotels both in an out of the country, I'm never disappointed. The Courtyard here in Harrisonburg is up to par. Comfy beds, hot showers with great water pressure, the shower head is also up pretty high so even tall people can have a pleasant shower :) rooms and lobby are both up to date & the free wifi works well in the guest rooms. We also had a lightbulb that was out and someone was up in less than 5 mins to fix it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Ginny,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and your visit to the Harrisonburg area. The staff and I hope you continue to choose the Coutyard Harrisonburg when visiting the area.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here during the holiday. Room was very clean and spacious with a balcony. Our view was in the back of the property but it was still pretty. Staff were very friendly and greeted us frequently as we went in and out. The pool was way too small and shallow for a swim which was mildly disappointing, but oh well. This is out second time to stay. As long as I don't plan to rely on a cool place to swim will stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for the great review and the wonderful comments regarding our staff. We hope the small pool does not discourage you from staying at our hotel. During your next visit, ask about our complimentary access to a local gym that features a lap pool. As our guest, you have access to that facility during your stay. Again, I appreciate the great comments about our staff and we welcome you back during your next visit to Harrisonburg.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I agree with Comments posted by Terry B and I always appreciate hearing the views on an experienced traveler.

He is absolutely right about travelers appreciating the availability of free coffee in the lobby, and I am impressed that Courtyard is now offering a free breakfast for Gold Reward and above members. Little things like this really do play a part in choosing a place to stay.

We found this to be an excellent Courtyard - clean and comfortable with a friendly staff. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHerbst, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello in Virginia Beach,

Thank you for the great comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel and the friendliness of our staff members. We hope you make the Courtyard your first choice when visiting the area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg

Address: 1890 Evelyn Byrd Avenue, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Marriott
Harrisonburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.