We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1703 East Market Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Harrisonburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were driving through Virginia at 3 in the morning and the kids were screaming. I looked up cheap hotels to grab a few hours sleep and this seemed to be the cheapest. We were a little uneasy based on the mixed reviews. When we got into the room it was really nice. I checked the blankets and pillows because I'm a clean freak and won't sleep anywhere there's a trace of hair or dirt. After my thorough check everything turned out clean. We had an amazing nights sleep! The only thing that I was disappointed in was the breakfast hours. I didn't know the time it was served so I looked online and couldn't find it. We went there at 10 and breakfast was long over. Come to find out it is from 6-9. Other than that everything was great including the receptionist. I highly recommend it!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL182, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. The feedback we receive from our guests help us to improve upon and make their future stay even more enjoyable.

Pankaj Patel, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Demarest, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The lobby was spacious and clean and gave a great impression. We had a room in the rear and it was very large. The bed was just right, however the linens were pretty scratchy. The rest of the room was fine, the desk and lamp were well situated and the TV was a nice flat screen. The next morning we had a simple breakfast and were on our way, well rested!

Room Tip: stay on the side away from the highway. It is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL182, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We appreciate the compliments. Your feedback is very important to us. We use comments from our guests to make necessary changes and improve upon our current practices so that all of our guests can have an enjoyable stay.

Thank You

Pankaj Patel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our non-smoking room smelled smokey (especially the pillows) and moldy/musty. Flat pillows, thin towels. Very small room. For some reason in room 201, they put the hanging clothes holder right beside one side of the bed so you had to duck to get in and out of bed. Not pleasant with the 3 AM bathroom run! Stains on the bedside were unsightly. Coffee was good. Need more continental breakfast options. Had a sign that said "do not put hard boiled eggs in microwave", however they weren't any eggs there. Can't believe I paid $79 for these accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL182, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Please accept my apology for not failing to reach your level of satisfaction. The feedback we receive from our guests are important to us and are always appreciated.

Thank You

Pankaj Patel. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this Econolodge for two nights. The lobby and breakfast area were very nice and looked like they had recently been remodeled. The staff were very friendly and ready to help. We could tell that our room was old by the ceilings and walls, but the bathroom had been remodeled and the furniture all looked new. I am assuming the carpet was also new-ish. This hotel accepts pets, so I was wary - but there was no odor and the room was very clean.
They do have the signs in the bathroom that says they are going green and if you leave you towels hung up they won't be changed. They changed ours anyway. So that is not entirely a bad thing - it just made me wonder if the going green signs were corporate policy or just there for show.
The breakfast was no extravagant by any means. But the coffee was decent. There were bagels, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, and toast available. So there was no fruit or hot choices, but I thought is was decent for the price of the hotel.
Overall, I would not get really excited about staying here again, but if I was passing through Harrisonburg on a budget again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL182, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments. I'm glad that you see the values we present to our guests. As you are aware of it, we did an extensive renovations but still lot to do. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1703 East Market Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near James Madison and Easter Mennonite Universities, Off Interstate 81 exit 247A. Property has Interior as well as Exterior Corridor Buildings, and is close to numerous shopping and eating places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.