We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth floor is a smoke house.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 University Blvd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbia,SC
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fourth floor is a smoke house.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

This is a nice hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms and a decent breakfast. We have stayed here several times while traveling I-81.

Over the Thanksgiving holiday we were put in the non smoking area of the fourth floor. Don't be fooled folks...once the elevator doors open on to the 4th floor its asthma attack city. The room itself was not a smoking room but the smell of smoke was overwhelming. When I approached the nice girl at the desk all she had to say was "ok" - not typical of Hamptons elsewhere.

I won't trash the hotel because of one bad stay but if you are not a smoker AVOID THE 4th FLOOR!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    115
    42
    16
    6
See reviews for
132
66
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, MD
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My family stopped here on the return trip from our vacation in Tennessee. I had a free night from my HHonors Points. I am a big fan of Hampton Inn and I thought that this hotel stay was one of the best ever!
The staff was extremely friendly--several even got to talk with my daughter several times. The room was clean and no problems checking in or out.
My daughter took a swam in the outdoor pool that evening and enjoyed herself--it was not crowded at it.
The continental breakfast the next day was eggs, sausage, and the usual cereal, muffins, bagels, etc.
Overall, it was a great experience.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

This motel is 'just about' average for the Hampton chain. After having stayed at the Hampton Inn in Fisherville the night before the lobby here pales in comparison. Unfortunately, the staff do as well. The room was fine and for the most part up to Hampton standards. The 'business centre' is a desk with a comptuer right next to the front door. The breadfast was ok - The Hampton Inn rarely disappoints in this area. I've got to say that the staff were quite unfriendly. From the front desk all the way to the maids all I got was mean looks and cold stares.

  • Liked — Nice TV
  • Disliked — Overpriced with indifferent staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

This hotel was comfortable. The pictures on the hotel website have not been updated, the hotel has the new white duvet covers and updated furnishings. We only had two complaints during our stay: 1) the smell of cigarette smoke in the hallways was very strong, and unfortunately seeped into the room. When we notified the front desk they did come up and spray air freshener in the hallway and offered us a change in rooms. We had already settled in and did not want to drag our things to another room, so we elected to stay put. Our only other complaint was that the front doors were malfunctioning and would not close. It just so happened to be one of the coldest weekends in Harrisonburg this year, with an average day time high of 12 degrees! The breakfast area and "business center" (one computer at a desk in the lobby, no privacy) were located right next to the front doors so it was freezing. We stayed for two nights and the doors were broken the entire time. On the plus side, the room was clean and comfortable. We would stay at this hotel again. It was a good value for the money.

  • Liked — clean room
  • Disliked — broken front doors, only one computer that was out in the open with no privacy
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Good hotel after staying 6 nights in suburban/ghetto DC...
Real good breakfast, awesome bed and towels..
Everything good.. alot of restaurants and stores nearby.. I think there is a small mall across the street.. just off the interstate

  • Liked — Breakfast..
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

Harrisonburg isn't exactly awash with upscale places and when choosing between Marriott Courtyards, Motel 6 and other equivalent brands it was pretty easy to let my Hilton HHonors Gold status sway me and pick the Hampton Inn for $115+tax for a Saturday night.

The hotel is situated a short drive from Interstate 81 and the middle of the town itself. Your usual chain restaurant suspects were nearby; Outback, IHOP etc, not my cup of tea but there if you need it. My wife went to James Madison University and knew better places in the city itself.

I had checked in online the day before and had been offered an upgraded room (With 'Larger Living Area'), and judging by the map on the door of the room there was only one room of this size on each floor (148, 248, 348, 448).

The welcome was warm and friendly unlike other Hamptons I've stayed at where you get the impression those on the front desk were 'just doing their job'. We were reminded the clocks go back tonight and to enjoy our extra hour of sleep! I got a chance to see the reception area which included a PC with free internet access. This was good for someone like me who doesn't travel with a laptop and if you do then Hamptons offer free wireless internet...

The room itself was spacious enough, certainly the biggest non-Suite room I've had at a Hampton Inn. Imagine taking the bathroom out of the standard room layout and that was the living area. (For posterity's sake the bathroom turned the room into an 'L' shape, it wasn't completely missing!) Hopefully the pictures I'll add later will make sense! Either way if you get offered the upgrade to the X48 rooms then take it!

The room had a largish couch, fridge, microwave even a fax machine. The bed as usual with Hilton Family hotels was pretty comfortable. Plenty of channels to keep you occupied too...

Breakfast the following morning (6am-10am on Sunday) was quite comprehensive. Not the biggest spread I've seen at a Hampton but a range of pastries, yoghurts, cereals, bagels, coffee and a small hot food selection (just sausage and eggs). I found the sausage with hot sauce was actually quite tasty! The lobby/breakfast area seemed recently refurbished and was quite pleasant.

Overall I'd say the Hampton wasn't bad at all, in fact as Hamptons go it was pretty good especially with the nice upgrade to the bigger room. I'd certainly return.

  • Liked — Nice rooms, recently refubished lobby, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Not much to be honest
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

Stayed at this property Mid August 07, after working all day, arrived at the room to find that the bed had not been changed it appeared that it was simply made up by housekeeping. Sheets under the bed spread were rumpled and there were stray hairs on the sheets.

There is no refrigerator or microwave in the room - something I've grown accustomed to in other Hampton Inns.

Did not receive credit for my Hilton Honors frequent stayer program

I think I would look for an alternative hotel

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed linen had not been changed
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg

Address: 85 University Blvd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#10 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel welcomed with a choice of thoughtful extras at Hampton Inn Harrisonburg - University. Set just moments from James Madison University, this hotel is near some great areas for skiing, golf, and hiking. Explore the charming shopping and dining of the Blue Ridge Mountains and discover a range of impressive historical sites including the nearby Natural Chimneys. Once you've arrived at our hotel in Harrisonburg, you'll find a warm guest room with a choice great amenities waiting for you. Get down to business with our free internet access and prop your laptop on our handy lap desk while you watch TV. Feel refreshed with a great night's sleep in a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and wake up with Hampton's free hot breakfast. Even if you're in a rush, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. We also offer a fully equipped fitness center. Plunge into the pool or simply unwind with free tea and coffee throughout the day in the cozy lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.