We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 University Blvd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here before and the property is clean and the breakfast is good and will continue to visit. Don't forget this is a college town and can get crazy( read noisy) certain times during the school year , so ask for a high floor. The front desk folks were the most attentive I've seen in a while.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    104
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
119
58
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I chose the Hampton Inn University because of its location and its #4 ranking in Tripadvisor, but I definitely think it is overrated. Our first floor room had a tired decor, beds that looked lumpy, and absolutely NO soundproofing. We heard every word the boisterous teenage girls spoke next door and were kept up as they laughed and screamed late into the night. Two more minor complaints: No light curtains on the window that opened to the parking lot, which meant we either had no privacy or had to be in the room with artificial light. The front desk informed me that shower caps are only available on request, but, of course, I had had to get cleaned and dressed to find that out and it was too late.
It was not the hotel's fault that a fire across the street set off the smoke alarms in the hallways (why not the rooms?) at about 4 am, but the information about what was going on was totally inadequate (were we in danger? should we evacuate? when could we return? was the acrid smell in the hallway dangerous?); I had to rely on fellow guests. About an hour later the alarms went off again, totally unnecessarily, as it turned out. The management's response was a lame apology, accompanied by a shrug--not good!
At about $170/night this place offers poor value and poor service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanyaBly, Manager at Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Thanks,
Tanya L. Bly
General Manager
Hampton Inn University_Harrisonburg, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed one night to get our daughter settled in at James Madison University. The staff was very friendly and the room and lobby was clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast has plenty to eat for the whole family since everyone likes something a little bit different. I would definitely recommend this hotel for the value and convenience of it's location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here many times , quality is very good. Hotel is well maintained , breakfast has a good variety. Rooms are a good size , roomy bathrooms , very good quality bed linens as with all Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very comfortable room and helpful staff. Free breakfast is varied and plentiful as is the 24-hour coffee in the lobby. Only problem - very noisy guests in the next room after 11pm made it difficult for our young daughter to sleep. But it was quickly handled by staff when I called the desk. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, NC
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We checked into this hotel as a break on a long drive to visit family. The hotel was not one of the newer, more spacious Hamptons but was clean, nicely furnished, and the bed was comfortable. It was also located near to several restaurants. However, the visit was really marred by the large group in the rooms around us who were constantly going in and out of their rooms, slamming doors and yelling at each other in the halls. It's hard to understand why a couple seeking a quiet night's rest would be placed in a room that was around these large noisy groups. It would make us think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to place you where you are not in among a large group, maybe the top floor. Beware of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night with family. Here are some details about the place:
- rooms are small probably due to the time the building was constructed
- because the closets are not built in, furniture crowds the rooms (closet, desk, drawers, chairs)
- everything is clean, tidy, and fresh as advertised
- pool is available but not heated (it is an outdoor pool)
- breakfast: awesome and full of variety (waffles, hot oatmeal, hard boiled and scrambled eggs, cut fruit, pastries, bagels, yogurt, coffee/tea/hot chocolate)
- fitness room: small but enough I suppose (one elliptical, one bike, one treadmill, small weight set)
- parking: plenty and convenient (free)
- wifi: free and pretty good

All in all a fine stay. Was it worth $126 (including taxes)? I would say, almost. I think $90-$105 would be been more reflective of the overall value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg

Address: 85 University Blvd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#10 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.