We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was great but the other guests weren't” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 University Blvd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
High Point, NC
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“The hotel was great but the other guests weren't”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We checked into this hotel as a break on a long drive to visit family. The hotel was not one of the newer, more spacious Hamptons but was clean, nicely furnished, and the bed was comfortable. It was also located near to several restaurants. However, the visit was really marred by the large group in the rooms around us who were constantly going in and out of their rooms, slamming doors and yelling at each other in the halls. It's hard to understand why a couple seeking a quiet night's rest would be placed in a room that was around these large noisy groups. It would make us think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to place you where you are not in among a large group, maybe the top floor. Beware of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    104
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
119
59
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night with family. Here are some details about the place:
- rooms are small probably due to the time the building was constructed
- because the closets are not built in, furniture crowds the rooms (closet, desk, drawers, chairs)
- everything is clean, tidy, and fresh as advertised
- pool is available but not heated (it is an outdoor pool)
- breakfast: awesome and full of variety (waffles, hot oatmeal, hard boiled and scrambled eggs, cut fruit, pastries, bagels, yogurt, coffee/tea/hot chocolate)
- fitness room: small but enough I suppose (one elliptical, one bike, one treadmill, small weight set)
- parking: plenty and convenient (free)
- wifi: free and pretty good

All in all a fine stay. Was it worth $126 (including taxes)? I would say, almost. I think $90-$105 would be been more reflective of the overall value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn in Harrisonburg, VA numerous times over the past decade and staff at the Reception Desk and throughout this Hampton Inn are among the very best. They've always been courteous and helpful, as they where with a couple of special requests that I had upon arrival. I strongly recommend it for business and pleasure. Thanks and see you again because of staff like the Receptive Receptionists who are always Ready to assist.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Clean but pool was very cold...too cold for our kids to swim which is why we wanted this hotel in the first place!!!!! It also took over 2 hours for the front desk to deliver a blanket. We had young kids and did not appreciate to be woken up at 10 pm for the blanket that we asked for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice room, spacious, very clean and comfortable. I love that Hampton changes everything- including the comforter for each guest. Good breakfast selections and everything was refreshed so they did not run out. Desk staff pleasant and helpful. All in all a great stay after driving 11 hours. 24 hour restaurant is across the parking lot for late night dining. Been seeking out Hampton Inns because I have yet to have a bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here multiple times while visiting my daughter in JMU. The rooms look like any Hampton Inn room and could use updating. Very clean bedding though and bathroom was also clean. Bedding was very comfortable and the pillows were amazing! At night it could be a little noisy but it quiets down. The breakfast is what you would expect and the breakfast area was very nice, spacious, and clean! Overall this is not a bad hotel to stay at if your on a budget, but just know there are three marriott properties around this hotel that are more upscale.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and rooms are great, BUT the noise in the hallways and reception area at night is too loud. Our rooms on the first floor outside the reception area get a lot of noise from people meeting and talking in the receptions area. This area should be kept clear of conmversation at night. I had to get out of bed, dress and ask the night clerk to have the people talking in the reception are to move elsewhere. This was well past 11pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanyaBly, Manager at Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Hampton Inn- University during your trip to the area. We appreciate you taking the time to to let us know that your rooms were nosiy. I will brainstorm with the team and corporate to see what we can do to make the rooms more sound proof in that area of the hotel.

We truly value your return business to our property and we look forward to welcoming you back to Harrisonburg, VA.

Tanya L. Bly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg

Address: 85 University Blvd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#10 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.