We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 University Blvd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Just staying here for one night and varrived late in the day. Extremely courteous and professional front desk staff. Handed us an informational flyer with local restaurants, etc, which helped as we were starving! Located very central.....within walking distance to an immaculate IHOP, (just on the other side of the parking lot) as well as a couple other places. This property must have undergone a recent facelift as it is lovely, fresh and visually equivalent to much nicer hotel chains, ie: Doubletree, etc. Hallways and rooms are new, lovely bed linens, 24 hour coffee center, business center, fresh fruit, all free of charge. If we were coming this way again, we would NO DOUBT be selecting this hotel again. Additionally, there is a light, help-yourself breakfast in the morning until 10am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit an excellent review and for staying with us at Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our on the house breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    104
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
119
58
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Bugs in bed, faucet fell off. Other than that the room was quiet, the pillows soft and mushy (no support) and the Internet worked. Breakfast was good, as usual and the staff very attentive. We will stay in Roanoke next time we travel up/down I-81, good Hampton Inn at that location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg. I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and have addressed the situation. However, I would also like to apologize for the other inconveniences as well. If you would contact me at Loni@beckcompanyhotels.com at your earliest convenience I will be more than happy to further discuss your stay. Thank you again for your review and your help in making us a better hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for a school event with a group. Group reservation was easy, and the staff were pleasant and flexible.

When we arrived, our rooms were in great shape. We had a great stay. The hotel is close to JMU.

There is an IHOP next door that is new and clean -- so that can be a great stop for breakfast before hitting the university.

The front desk was very helpful (Dana) on Saturday morning. I needed a lot of printer assistance -- the business center computers wouldn't download/print a WORD file attached to email. So that was the only discouraging event.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of Ihop right next door. We are happy that Dana was able to help you with the printer. We will pass this review along to her. We hope that you stay with us again next time you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The check-in process was great. i wish i would have written down the name of the woman that checked me in. she smiled the entire time and made us feel very welcome. she also provided a list of nearby resturaunts. the list included detailed instructions on how to get to both local places and chains. i wished more hotels would do this. room was a typical hampton inn which means that it was above average. clean and smelled clean. easy to get to and far enough off of 81 that you cannot hear the road traffic. will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your check-in went smoothly. We are happy that our front desk team was able to provide you with excellent service. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staff was pleasant, rooms were adequate Although being on the first floor you could hear a lot of the hall way traffic. Convenient to 81, shopping and restaurants. Breakfast was ok with varied assortment of fruit yogurt boxed cereals waffle eggs and oatmeal.

Room Tip: Possibly go to the second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was pleasant. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Thank you again for taking the time to submit your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn University in Harrisonburg, VA. It is located very conveniently for any James Madison University visits. The campus is right next door.

We found the hotel to be perfectly adequate for the night for our family. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. As the fall weather was rather chilly, we did not make use of the swimming pool. The rest of the amenities seemed nice, though.

Breakfast was what you expect at Hampton Inn. The eating area was roomy enough and decorated very comfortably. The staff seemed to be very helpful, and the available coffee and tea was a pleasant welcome on our arrival.

If you are accustomed to Hampton Inn, you will know just what to expect at this location. It will make a nice stay for your visit to anything near Harrisonburg, VA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to hear that you had an easy stay with us when you were visiting JMU. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed a weekend night in this hotel in Harrisonburg. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation. I had asked for a quiet room and this is one of the first times in my extensive travel schedules that the staff had gone out of their way to provide me (not a regular guest) with a really quiet room. The rooms was very comfortably with an outstanding price/quality. We really enjoyed a good night sleep!
The manager dealt swiftly with one item on the bill and adjusted the amount with an appropriate discount. Real class!
My only remark is about the complimentary breakfast. I would prefer 'real' plates and cutlery.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are excellent if you want a real quiet night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our level of service. I will pass along your comments about real plates and cutlery to management, however, I do think that Hampton as a chain requires us to use the kind of plates and silverware on our breakfast buffet. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg

Address: 85 University Blvd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#10 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.