We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fleas and broken tv” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Harrisonburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Harrisonburg to your Saves list
Super 8 Harrisonburg
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   3330 South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2674   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fleas and broken tv”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel had visible fleas, the good reviews are for super 8 James Madison not super 8 Harrisonburg. However the desk clerk was nice and accomadating and he let us change to another dirty room

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer3778, Manager at Super 8 Harrisonburg, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for posting your review! We do allow pets in certain rooms and sometimes guest do not tell us and bring pets into other rooms and cause the problems with fleas. We have a contract in place with the pest control company and try to control the which rooms are pet rooms. We are sorry and hope you try us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    50
    31
    34
See reviews for
64
40
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The motel room was dirty - hair in the bathroom - not sure the towels had actually been laundered - as well as the sheets - bedspreads had a weird dirty feeling to them - tub stained with dirt - the furniture is beat up - the room we had, 212, was directly across from a busy truck stop - very loud - The front desk person was not very welcoming - his family was hanging out in the very small lobby. The motel all in all had a creepy feeling - cannot put my finger on it. I would NOT recommend this to anyone. Definintely OVER priced for what it was. The only positive thing I can say is that at least the room did not smell.

Room Tip: IF you have to stay here make sure to get a room on the backside of the motel - away from the traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer3778, Manager at Super 8 Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I am sorry your stay wasn't good. The hotel has tried to contact you but you didn't want to talk to us. When you checked out you did not complain about any of the problems during your stay. I assure you that the towels and sheets get washed everyday!! Your room was cleaned and inspected before we rented it. Again I am sorry you didn't have a good stay and I hope if you come back again we can make the next stay better for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel is very basic, but clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Of the two beds in our room, one was quite soft, the other was better. Carpet looked new, and there was a very nice small refrigerator.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, sc
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The room was mostly clean but there were definitely no extras. We had 1 washcloth and 2 towels for the two of us. When we asked for a replacement box of tissue, the clerk said "why do you need them? No, we dont have extras.". The next morning there were ozens of boxes on the cleaning lady's cart. Lol. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel after 16 hours driving. My mother, daughter and I were given room 303. The room was infested with fleas (figured that out while trying to sleep) , people were slamming doors so couldn't sleep. We were there from 5pm til 1030pm. We decided since we couldn't sleep there we would shower and leave. Oh, new toilet paper we unwrapped was full of brown and green stuff. So I go to counter to complain and all they can offer is $10 back and move my room. I told them we just wanted to go I was so disgusted. He said he couldn't help that I should have told him sooner and he would have moved us. I told him it would have been pointless I would call the manager he told me she's never there . I also mentioned staying at another super 8 so he called them and couldn't even discuss the situation in English on the phone in front of me. I am very very disappointed in this hotel!! 2nd Wyndam hotel I have been disgusted with.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA,USA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Friendly staff. Our quiet room was renovated with new equipment, including a refrigerator with a good size freezer compartment, flat screen TV, comfortable new beds, new phone, remote control A/C and an attractive new carpet. The breakfast was mostly starch, so I didn't eat there. Hard boiled eggs would have been much appreciated, but it was economical at $54. My rating is based upon its class, which made it better than average. The not too far away Sheetz gas station carried reg. gas at slightly over $3 per gal., which was a real find these days. There is also an Ollie's Bargain Outlet even closer for practical bargain hunters.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer3778, Manager at Super 8 Harrisonburg, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review! We are launching a new breakfast program starting September 1st offering more healthy choices, fruit, yogurt, waffles. Hope you can stop again on your next trip to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

last year i stayed here in way to Florida and it was nice, so i decide to at this motel going to home. and they completely change from office to the rooms. nice and clean rooms, affordable price, micro-fridge, WiFi, and breakfast. i recommend this super 8 motel to anyone who's traveling and get good room and affordable price in this economy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer3778, Manager at Super 8 Harrisonburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to complete your review! We are working to improve the customer experience. Hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Harrisonburg

Address: 3330 South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2674
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Super 8 Harrisonburg 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Super 8
Harrisonburg Super Eight
Super Eight Harrisonburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Harrisonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.