We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xenia Kebab Grille

Xenia Kebab Grille
219 Burgess Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
540-437-4832
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 207 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Madison, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Oh, Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I just finished having lunch at Xenia, which is an unprepossessing little hole in the wall in Harrisonburg. The food is fantastic.

Although, sandwiched between an in enormous Qdoba and an nTelos wireless in a large strip mall, Xenia provides first rate fare.

Warren ordered the Tripoli, combination of lamb, chicken and Schwarma in a sandwich on pita, with a side of tabbouleh. I tasted the tabbouleh; it was excellent.

I opted for several side dishes… And was not sorry that I did, because it gave me an opportunity to try a variety of their offerings.

I had a portion of Kubai, rice and beef with spices in a fritter like shell served with a little bit yogurt cucumber salad, tomatoes, and some lettuce and onions. It was flavorful, especially after I added a little bit of the spicy seasoned salt that comes on each table. was on the ground. I ordered some Nok, chick peas in a mildly spiced sauce and onions. Also tasty.

Although they referred to it as a side dish, what I considered my entrée was chicken biryani, which was wonderful. But the knock out side dish was their string beans… My, oh my.

To top it off, we had some baklava, which had just come out of the oven. It was simply to die for… It doesn't get better than warm, homemade baklava.

suzieKat

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    36
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The food was so good especially the rice. The restaurant its self is a bit crowded but the service is excellent!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myersville
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Return Required”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Very interesting choices and combinations! Freshly made pitas. Side salad was dinner sized. My chicken pita was full of chunks of meat, green beans, tomatoes, romaine and more with a spicy pineapple horseradish sauce-half of this I took home. My husband had the lamb platter with the hot pepper sauce. Also had the Kurdish soup-curried lentils and a little rice- yum! Julie was our waitress-knowledgable, accommodating and very friendly. Talked with another patron who comes here often. He said he has never had a meal here he did not enjoy. We will be back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zana H, Manager at Xenia Kebab Grille, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We appreciate your feedback. Customer service is important to us and we are glad you had a positive experience with the food and the server!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too Little Food for Price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

In the past, Xenia was one of my favorite restaurants. However, I have noticed that the portion sizes for kabobs has been steadily decreasing. I went there the other day, ordered two kabobs, and received 6 to 8 inch-size pieces of steak. I even asked the server if this could possibly be TWO kabobs. She said yes. So, I don't plan to go to Xenia's anymore because I just can't pay around $10 for a 6" plate of salad and 6-8 very, very small pieces of steak. It's just not worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zana H, Manager at Xenia Kebab Grille, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for writing a review! We are sorry that you did not enjoy the experience. We hope that you will come in again so we can give you a better experience. Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to talk to you more about your visit to Xenia. Your opinion is valued and we want to keep customers happy and coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“After church dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Love Xenia's food! We often go after church on Sundays and always enjoy this small restaurant. If you like Middle-eastern/Mediterranean food, try Xenia!


Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zana H, Manager at Xenia Kebab Grille, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for writing us a review! We value our loyal customers. Your feedback is important to us. It helps us keep customers happy and improve customer service. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xenia Kebab Grille also viewed

 

Been to Xenia Kebab Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xenia Kebab Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.