We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Detour off I-95...Charming Cafe'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houndstooth Cafe

Houndstooth Cafe
13271 Hanover Courthouse Rd, Hanover, VA 23069
804-537-5404
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Hanover
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the Detour off I-95...Charming Cafe'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you are traveling between Richmond and Washington, DC, this is worth the detour. Better yet, take Rt.301 and avoid I-95 altogether! This cafe' is at the corner of routes 301 and 54. We stumbled along this place by chance and will be coming back on our next road trip. The place is welcoming and cute. The owner was sweet and charming and cooks everything herself on site. Her wait staff is very attentive as well. And the pork!!! Absolutely divine. She uses rosemary in her smoked pork butt. The crab cake was not as great, but I am willing to overlook and try another item next time. And while you are on the veranda sipping iced tea, pull a spring of mint from the hanging baskets of ferns and mint. Sweet, southern charm and perfect place for a lovely lunch. Desserts are homemade; we recommend the turtle cheesecake. Open for lunch and dinner, W - Sat (we asked for a business card).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hanover, va
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No, no, no”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I wish I could endorse this restaurant, based on it's wonderful past. However, we were here recently, after quite a long time away. Crab cakes - no, no, no: barely cooked, w/ no crust or spark or any interesting flavor at all. Ribs -- no, no, no: cooked to the point of being dried, but not to being tender, and again, very little flavor. Chicken salad -- well, there was that big bone that indicated it is definitely homemade. The hushpuppies are good, but I wish I knew I was getting some complimentary on the table before I ordered them as a side dish. The desserts looked fabulous, but we were so disappointed that we did not stay.

I love the history of this restaurant, and really want it to come back, but the night we went, it was truly a disappointment. I write this w/ the hope that the owners will take a hard look at what needs to be revised. I wish them well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
1 review
“Worth the Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We adore this place...a little off the beaten path and so worth taking the back road....a lovely little place (once a gas station) that serves some of the best food in a quant atmosphere and the best homemade cheesecake I've ever had! The owner makes it herself and it's huge, delicious, and one slice is enough to be shared!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Hushpuppies and cheesecake are so yummy! A nice, friendly place for lunch or dinner. We visited during lunch. Although no kids menu they have several things not on the menu like chicken fingers

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
“Always a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is one of our regular places to dine. We can always count on everything prepared just as we expect, and the menu choices are numerous. Atmosphere is friendly and relaxed; service is excellent. The desserts are over the top delicious, and we usually end up taking something home with us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houndstooth Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Houndstooth Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houndstooth Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.