We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, but not what I expect from Springhill Suites.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum to your Saves list
Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1997 Power Plant Highway, Hampton, VA 23666   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, but not what I expect from Springhill Suites.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The front desk staff was always courteous, and the maintenance man I could hear in the room next to me seemed very pleasant also. My planned two-day stay turned into 4 days and everyone was wonderful about accommodating me. Now, the downsides: The breakfast was not hot, the sausage was actually gross. They served the same exact food every day, leading me to believe most of it was leftover from the day before. The opening and closing of room doors are VERY noisy. My first room had mildew on the inside of the shower curtain (which they promptly replaced when I told them about it, but still...) In my second room, the coffee maker spewed coffee all over he counter every time I used it. The pool was closed, which is part of the reason I selected this hotel. Overall, not impressed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Trip Advisor Survey and sharing your experience with the SpringHill Suites Hampton. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    30
    19
    11
See reviews for
46
18
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport news
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

My family was displaced from our home for a few weeks because of a remodeling snafu, and spring hill was there for the rescue. Our family was literally falling apart, and our two week stay has made a real difference in keeping us a unit. I will never forget our stay here, and will chose this hotel anytime we need a place to stay in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Xcalibur812,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us at the Springhill Suites in Hampton, VA. I know that you and your family ran into some snags with construction that was going on in your home, but I am glad that you chose our hotel to be your home away from home. I know that construction work can be stressful and inconvenient. But I am glad to hear how we came to be your new haven during that trying time for you and your family. Please do keep us in mind if you and your family and onyone visiting the you in our area needs a place to stay. It was our pleasure to host all of you and I am glad that you were so pleased with your stay.

Thank you again for your kind words and I hope enjoy being back in your own home!

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed with volleyball team for tournament. Staff was mostly accommodating but wouldn't let us keep luggage in storage. Also 3 rd floor hallway was an ice box with a breeze you could feel. Was told they though a guest had their window open but they couldn't enter the room because of a home made (post it note) saying do not disturb. Ridiculous!!! Thankfully room was warm.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Phil335:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at the hotel. I apologize that another guest incovenienced you during your stay. I trust that everything else was just fine with your stay. I do hope that if you have another sporting event or any other reason to visit Hampton that you do choose to stay with us again.

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

There's a reason the rates were so low at this hotel. The staff had no training. They were incapable of allowing me to pay for the room with a Marriott gift card. When they figured it out, they overcharged me by $29.00. One elevator was broken. The television and Internet was unusable. Channels were on and then off. I've had better dial up Internet. When I reported problems, the staff just said they would see what they could do. Apparently, there was nothing they could (or would) do.

Two days later I called the hotel to get the name of the GM in order to write a letter of complaint. I was given a name and I wrote the letter. Two days after the letter was sent, I got an email from them and the first thing they told me was that the person I was told was the GM wasn't the GM. Instead of refunding my overcharge, they offered points or a free stay. I still don't have my money and never will.

I travel about 40 weeks a year. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Carl:

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay with us. I am currently the new manager at the hotel and have just arrived on scene. Please feel free to reach out to me so that I may try to correct this billing issue to your satisfaction. We value our guests and strive daily to make our guests feel welcome and appreciated. But it seems we fell short. Please give me a call if you like at 757-310-6333.

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here 10/31-11/5 while visiting family in Hampton. Large, open lobby area made us feel welcome. The king suite was just right for our needs. Indoor pool, and exercise room too! Could use better signage on Power Plant Pkwy. Convenient parking. Breakfast options were excellent. Liked the serving area separate from seating. Would have appreciated a newspaper on the weekend. Very convenient to everything we needed. Coliseum, convention center, food, shopping, interstate, military bases, etc. Will be our first choice for future visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My stay was the worst I have ever experienced! My first room had a bug in the sheets that were in the closet for the pull out bed (I was not using the pull out but moving the sheets to place an item on the top rack) and the floor had not been vaccumed at all and had toe nails and hair everywhere...just nasty.They moved me and my second room was a little better. My blanket, towels and wash cloths ALL felt like sandpaper. My pillows were 4 small half pillows that were worn out full sized pillows that they stuffed in a reg. pillowcase and tucked it in half hence makeing a half pillow. I have never seen that done in a hotel. All of the sheets, towels, wash cloths, handtowels and a top sheet had stains on them and were SO DINGY that I ended up going to buy my own towels and wash clothes. The ws were paper thin and the tv remote didnt work. My advise...don't stay there.
But the 3-11 front desk ladies were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_S_Hunt, General Manager at Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking the time to review the SpringHill Suites Hampton. I am sorry I did not get a chance to speak to you during your stay but as I stated to you the associate and I are working hard to succeed all our guest needs during their stay. I hope the next time your in the Hampton Roads area you give the SpringHill Suites Hampton another opportunity to fulfill your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moseley, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed her on a Saturday for an event. Place was larger than I expected with conference room facilities. Nice, clean room. Breakfast even had eggs as well as biscuits and gravy. Can't complain about a thing. Wish it had a lounge but the Hampton Garden Inn across the parking lot did so no big deal.

Room Tip: Higher up floors where extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum

Address: 1997 Power Plant Highway, Hampton, VA 23666
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springhill Suites Hampton, VA is a great choice when visiting Hampton Roads. Complimentary healthy breakfast buffet, wireless internet throughout the hotel and parking. You will be close shopping and Hampton Coliseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum Hotel Hampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.